We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal - Great Night!”
Review of Damson Restaurant - CLOSED

Damson Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Salford, Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Meal - Great Night!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We arrived at Damson and was pleasantly surprised it looked fantastic, the staff were very friendly and helpful in helping us chose the wine, seats were great right next to the window over looking salford quays. Food was excellent can not fault any of the food. Overall we had a great night

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mariecad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    129
    60
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Deafening!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Arrived on a Sunday lunchtime and went into the foyer lift. Deafeningly loud music.
Restaurant completely empty. Music even louder, echoing in the empty space. Only two other names in the reservation book, so cannot understand why our request to turn the music down was refused.
My husband went to look for the toilets - none of the waiters pointed out their location. Music in the toilets - deafening.
Finished the bottle of champagne that we'd ordered and left. Went to a different, celebrated restaurant in Manchester, which was busy, buzzy and absolutely wonderful.
Unless you can't live without Michael Jackson's "Got To Be There"(!) at full volume, at lunchtime, avoid this place, or bring ear defenders.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Piquedame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilster, Owner at Damson Restaurant, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Goodness..!

Thats not how we remember it.

You arrived early and did indeed ask for the music to be turned down, which we did.

You then asked for it to be turned OFF ! which we did not do.

We are sorry if this was not to your taste, the rest of your party seemed happy and we have had many compliments on our music.

We did give you a lovely table overlooking the Piazza and the Media City gardens and you ate all the food presented to you off our Sunday menu where 2 courses ar £16.95.

To give a one star rating for music that did not suit you is particularly unfair i feel, however if you would like to give me a call should you like to visit again I would be delighted to play any music of your own request.

Regards
Steve Pilling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great pre-theatre dinner”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Fantastic food and really good value 2 course set menu for £16.95. Couldn't find fault with anything - will definitely return when not rushing to the theatre.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful meals, excellent service and chic setting”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Fabulous dinner here at the Media City location - wonderful food (fresh fish was excellent), huge variety of drinks and impeccable service. The manager and all wait staff were extremely friendly and knowledgeable. If only we lived near Salford to visit more often!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aelliott21921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Pre theatre dinner.....”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We Ate here with family before a trip to the theatre, set menu is great value. A good view so you can be nosey and watch the world go by! Great level of service and a lovely restaurant. We were only passing through, So we didn't really manage to sample very much of the lovely wine list....so we shall be back!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Damson Restaurant also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing