We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mouthgasmic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Damson Restaurant

Damson Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 304 Restaurants in Salford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mouthgasmic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We live in Manchester city centre, but wanted to try somewhere different. Someone suggested Damson in Media City. The tram stops right by the restaurant, so handy to get to! There were 12 of us who went for my husbands birthday and it didn't disappoint! The food was absolutely delicious!!

The portions are just the right size, plus "proper" food that's so so tasty! Braised beef, pork belly, lamb etc. also the staff are all so down to earth and nothing's too much trouble. High class restaurant but without the pretentiousness that normally comes along with establishments such as that! Can't recommend it enough!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    129
    60
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
83 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Really nice food and venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Yes Salford Quays finally has a nice up market place to eat. Damson is full of dishes and I could have eaten anything from the menu it all sounded lovely. My companion ate some wonderful beef and I had cod lion with salt and pepper squid. All great stuff and attentive service throughout. Will visit again soon!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Philperrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
“Fantabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was a small celebration with friends. It was a beautiful evening which enhanced the views from the first floor restaurant which was spacious and appealing. The portions are not huge in size but are huge in taste which suited us as we could have a little of everything. The whole evening's experience was nothing short of fantastic. Well done to the owners for giving Manchester a place to be proud of. Lymm. Cheshire

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GRAEME H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“amazing anniversary meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

firstly i have to point out that I am a friend of the fiance of chef stanley, however this review is completely unbias! I am a normal girl from east manchester who has a slight allergy to posh! I thought that as we work bloody hard and it was our anniversary why the hell not?? The food was amazing, risotto to absolutely die for, asparagus and soft boiled egg that actually stunned my boy to silence! fillet steak done to perfection and the most amazing lamb! A complete treat and not something you can do everyday but well done and thank you xxxx

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mummyjo37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Attitude need addressing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I went with a group of college after an industry conference. The food was lovely but the staff were very rude. One of our colleagues is much older and they kept speaking to him like he was in charge even when one of us was asking questions. There was 18 of us and when we ordered coffees at the end of the meal and a brandy for one person the barman stated "you'll be lucky you can have this one but no more" even through most of us were not drinking anyway. Then later came over to say we could now have what we wanted. When we enquired he stated that we were being noisy. we probably were quite loud compared to the rest of the restaurant that was very empty because we were such a big group but no one had been over to speak to us and we all found the comment to be very rude.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank chez_boi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilster, Owner at Damson Restaurant, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hi there

We are really glad you enjoyed the food and the atmosphere.

We are really sorry we had to ask you to tone it down, but 18 well oiled guys doing Karaoke was a bit over the top in the restaurant with other diners trying to enjoy their evening.

We have responcibilities to all .

Let me know if you plan to come again and you can have the private dining room.

Regards

Steve P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Damson Restaurant also viewed

Salford, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Salford, Greater Manchester
Salford, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Damson Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing