We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views and food to match” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Damson Restaurant

Damson Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 304 Restaurants in Salford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
253 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great views and food to match”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We visited on a Friday evening for a birthday celebration.

The restaurant has a fantastic second floor position overlooking Media City. Sat by the window we had good views of the water, trams, piazza, Blue Peter garden and Lowry Theatre. All enhanced by a nice sunset.

Prices a little on the high side but the quality of what was delivered couldn't be faulted.

Service was attentive and all courses we had were excellent. For desserts we opted for the full cheese platter of 14 cheeses to share. These were delivered with tasting notes. Whilst the cheese servings were small, it was more than sufficient to share although a few more biscuits would not have gone amiss.

A large bar / seating area finds itself situated at the rear of the restaurant. Whilst we did not use it, it did look a comfortable environment for a pre or post dinner drink.

Good venue for a special celebration meal. Whilst we may not be planning to visit in the evening again in the near future, we do plan to try out the cheaper Sunday liunch menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A380ManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    129
    60
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Um...... just a few tiny things would make all the difference”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Let's start with the really outstanding things and then move on shall we?

The food - exquisite presentation, interesting range and fusion of tastes which mostly worked together.

The menu - is bursting with dishes I really wanted to try.

The location - in the heart of Media City, which contrary to the 'office block' comments, we find incredibly exciting, a really vibrant location with something interesting happening around you almost all of the time. We go to media city frequently and never tire of the place.

The venue - well laid out, beautifully decorated and very attractive.

The staff - 100% polite, friendly and accommodating.

So onto the 'constructive criticism'

The food - I hate leaving a restaurant hungry after a three course meal!

My starter was 'scallops' - although if I had one less fishy morsel on my plate the dish would have been called 'scallop'. £9 for two scallops, a 1 inch diameter croquette and a small piece of pig fat with a sliver of belly pork underneath it was a bit of a let down. Having said that, it did look splendid - if sparse.

The main course was lamb - delicious, small portion, left me wanting more.......

Dessert - the menu has so many temptations and I chose the one which included a pistachio creme brulee. Unfortunately this was more almond (which I dislike) than pistachio so I passed it on to my partner - who loves almond but found the brulee inedible.

The others enjoyed their meals, but again felt a little short changed in the portion size department.

Not to put too fine a point on it, the food is rather over-priced for what you actually get on the plate. We would be more than happy to pay this amount for a meal which included side dishes, but to charge extra puts future visits out of our comfort zone.

Having booked in advance and requested a 'good table' as this was a birthday celebration for three people, we were a bit disconcerted to find the table was laid in an 'interview' format in the middle of the room (ie missing out on the gorgeous views). However we asked to be moved and were transferred to a more appropriate round table where we could sit more comfortably. We appreciated the swift response by the staff, but felt this could have been thought through before we arrived.

We had to top up our own wine and water, the staff, although charming, seemed not to notice our empty glasses.

The ambiance - just something we couldn't put our finger on slightly missing. There were a number of other diners there, plenty of staff, but no real 'buzz' of conversation - it was a little like a library with James Blunt muttering miserably if one listened closely.

Finally, and I know this is a personal thing - we do love our restaurants and our celebrations, so if it's a special occasion and we let the venue know it's a birthday, anniversary etc. then we normally find the restaurant staff go the extra distance to make our visit special. We don't expect violins, candles, sparklers etc., but just a little recognition of the event would have been preferable to us just being 'any old diners'.

Would we go again? Tough one. Loved loved loved the food, but if it's the choice between paying top whack for a meal which leaves me hungry and in need of emergency chocolate rations at the theatre afterwards then probably not.

If however you have lots of money to spend and want an utterly delicious and beautiful meal then please please go there - you won't regret it, especially if you have a small tummy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TwinkleyAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Could be much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

A small independent restaurant amongst a sea of identikit chains, what's not to like?

A nice eating space, with attentive staff, who gave us a very pleasant table by the windows. The Sunday lunch menu was fairly basic, a choice of 4 each of starter, mains, and puddings.
We decided to share a starter and dessert, and each have a main course. Starter was minimal as is the current fashion for intense flavours in small portions. It was okay.

Rather than have roast beef, I decided to have the roast lamb, which attracted a £3 surcharge - why? It's a roast, the same as beef. The chef didn't have to run around the moors chasing the poor wee thing, and then butcher it himself....!
What subsequently arrived looked just like the inauspicious pub lunch I'd had the previous weekend. 3 slices of not-pink lamb, a small Yorkshire pud filled with roast parsnips, 5 roast potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, peas, and gravy. With this dish, it seemed like there were two different kitchens operating - one doing the intense fancy stuff, and another doing 'pub standard grub'.

Dessert was again only okay, small, flavoursome, but it didn't make us sit up and go wow!

At the prices being charged, it can only be regarded as a disappointment, therefore a bit like the archetypal school report - must try harder.

I will go back because I live very locally, but I hope the restaurant takes notice of this and other reviews, and ups its game (but not its prices) accordingly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WD60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood and Wilmslow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful scrummy and delish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

It was a belated birthday for my partner. Four of us dined last night, Saturday 20 April. What a wonderful experience thoroughly enjoyed by all and cant wait to go back.
Starfers: chicken liver parfait (looked too good to eat). Risotto mouth melting and asparagus with poached egg and lemon foam was exquisite.
Mains: Duck breast lovely and tender. Cod with and without shellfish both devoured with relish and halibut to die for.
Desserts: ahhh utter bliss. They all looked too good to eat. Pistashio Creme Brulee so light. Chocolate Pannacotta, heaven and Iced Lemon cross between mousse and sorbet oh so refreshing.
The settling is delightful. You could be in any city in the world, definately didnt feel like Manchester.
What a find, may it go from strength to strength.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Level Contributor
111 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“An excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife and I took our grown up daughter to Damson for a pre-theatre treat and we were not disappointed. The restaurant is ideally situated for the Lowry theatre but it is not necessarily a suitable place for a quiet evening out, being surrounded by the various tower blocks of the BBC.

That said the food was exceptional. It was offered from a compact menu that gave one the confidence that this food was cooked and prepared to order and not from some pre-packaged supplier. The service was very good and the price was considerably higher than many of the other restaurants in the area. BUT that is not saying much as most of the other eating places are national chains offering ordinary food at ordinary prices.
For a special occasion this is a restaurant worthy of consideration and we certainly be going back there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Humphrey_Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Damson Restaurant also viewed

Salford, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Salford, Greater Manchester
Salford, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Damson Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing