We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hungry Horse - The Matchstick Man

Hungry Horse - The Matchstick Man
Ranked #28 of 304 Restaurants in Salford
Cuisines: American, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Surrey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good value food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Convenient for Ramada hotel, good prices and had a tasty steak! Lots of choice on the menu to suit all tastes.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnnaCassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    184
    118
    46
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stoke-on-trent uk
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wont bother again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Nipped in for a late dinner as we were staying at the Ramada across the road. Pub its self is nice and the staff I spoke to were good. Found a table and ordered my food, I had the chicken with cheese and bbq sauce with chips it came with peas but I did ask if I could have a bit of salad instead of peas and was told NO. Hubby went for the large fish and chips. The chicken was vile like rubber (The cheap chicken thats pumped full of water) The dish it came on had just been pulled from under the grill and as I went to pick it up to take the chicken out and put it on the plate I burnt my finger ( was not told by the lad that served me that it was hot). Onion rings were soggy. The fish was full of large bones and was hard work to eat

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank teenba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Even worse than the pub it replaced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

The menu looks good value for money but don't be fooled. It's only good value if you like really really crap food. The steak was likened to the rubber sole of a shoe, the chicken pasta microwave burned (with no attempt to cover the burnt bits with sauce). Drinks are extortionate and the music was dreadful (unless you like Abba, Britney and Kylie while you are trying to watch the football).
The only plus was the bucket of chicken wings which were surprisingly good.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chowso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Slow & Average.........”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Had high hopes for this place, visited for lunch with work colleagues.....very clean looking place, with friendly service on arrival, that's pretty much where it ended. Food average, had to wait for an age to get food even though it wasn't busy. We fancied a booth as they have TV sets, great idea but sets not working....they had SKY on the signal was bust, just switch it off then!! Staff were very half hearted, asked if everything okay but to be honest I don't think they would have cared if I had caught on fire........great looking place, but needs to improve before I would consider going back......lazy attitude

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Menu looked good - It wasn't!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

After looking at the menu choices on the internet I decided to visit this pub for an evening meal.
Arrived at 7.30 and the pub was chocca, but I managed to find a table in the corner. Football was on the TV so I guess that was the reason it was so busy.
Ordered my food from the bar and when it turned up it was very disappointing. The chicken looked like it had been thrown into a microwave & the chips and onion rings were very pale.
The bar area was full of empty glasses and the overall service was slow - probably because there were insufficiant staff on duty to cope.
Most of the tables around me were full of empty plates & glasses and it wasn't a nice place to eat.
I've eaten at Hungry Horse restaurants before so I'm fully aware that they are generally cheap & cheerful, however this one was only cheap!
I'd think twice before I revisited.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank whukev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungry Horse - The Matchstick Man also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Sale, Greater Manchester
 
Stockport, Greater Manchester
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Hungry Horse - The Matchstick Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing