We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissappointing”
Review of The Quays

The Quays
Ranked #5 of 38 things to do in Salford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Visit the Quays, Greater Manchester's stunning waterfront destination, and discover culture, history, heritage, shopping and sport within just one square mile. With an award-winning theatre, gallery and museum, discount shopping, stunning architecture, historical tours, cruises and sport, the Quays has everything you need for a great day out. When when the sun goes down, the quayside is beautifully lit, making it the ideal backdrop for an evening stroll, followed by dinner and drinks in one of the many bars and restaurants - plus the excellent accommodation on offer provides the perfect reason to turn your day visit into a short break. There is also a year-round programme of events, including food markets and public outdoor art installations.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Penmachno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Dissappointing”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Such a waste. So many empy buildings and the debris in the water was very unpleasant. Very few waterfront bars - we only found the beefeater. Poor choice of eateries - just the standard chains. Go at night and see the colour-changing bridge. Shopping centre deserted on Saturday morning, TV studios deserted also. Lovely to walk around though and glad we've seen it. So much wasted potential.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lainepmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    95
    16
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

As part of our National Holiday package, we went to Salford Quays for a four hour visit. Was not looking forward to it but was very surprised at how much there was to see there. The Imperial War Museum was superb and we spent quite lot of time in there. The Lowry shopping centre was also good as there were not so many of the "designer" shops that you get in other places. Had a very nice lunch in one of the many restuarants there. It was just a pity that the weather was not very good as I can imagine it being really good to walk round if the sun was shining as there were plenty of places to sit beside the water. All in all, very impressed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level Contributor
349 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Don't take the tram to Salford Quays!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Take the tram to Media City, it saves a 10 minute walk through a bit of an industrial estate. The Lowry and Quays area is very nice, if a little small, some good sights and with the view of the media buildings and Corrie in the distance. The Lowry outlet centre seems to have been built to give the area some credence, but fails miserably, its small, empty and pointless!!! The Arndale and Trafford Centres are far better. A few nice restaurants adorn the area, it is worth a visit for the views for an hour, but not much more.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PrimalSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“we didn't regret spending the time there at all!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

we stayed in Manchester for a long weekend and the first two days were rain rain rain. The sun came out on the last day and we decided to try our luck to take the tram to Salford Quays (got off at MediaCityUK) and never regretted a bit. We like the space, the water, and the dynamics of the place. We had our sandwich by the dock in the sun, couldn't ask for more.

There are shopping centres like The Lowry, and cinemas like Vue. We visited the Imperial War museum North which is a must if you are into histories (admission is free). We then walked to the Manchester United stadium (about 15 mins away) and took few pictures.

A very lovely half day out in the sun!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GraceChung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Super weekend venue”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Forget Blackpool and think Salford Quays. It may not have the clean beaches, then again it doesn't have very clean water either, but it has evertyhing else one could want for a weekend designer outlet, Lowry Centre with theatres and art gallery, big selection of eating places, MediaCityUK with Coronation Street, trams to Manchester and rail links and the Imperial War Museum. No chance of being bored here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ossie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Quays also viewed

Salford, Greater Manchester
Salford, Greater Manchester
 
Salford, Greater Manchester
Salford, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing