We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impossible to find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Manchester-West
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Reviewed January 26, 2009

I stay in hotels most week and I am generally a big fan of the intercontinental hotel groups. I decided to spend some of my hard earnt loyalty points on this hotel whilst visiting Manchester for a 30th party.
All i need to really comment on is the location, please do not be fooled to think this hotel is anywhere near manchester city centre - it is basically in the middle of an industrial estate which is 100% impossible to find using the instructions OR map provided on the holiday inn website. When we arrived in Manchester it took us 1.5 hours to find the hotel, we had rushed all day to get there and then lost all this time driving around every part of Manchester, we regualrly got to within the hotel vicinity as shown on the map only to miss the hotel. The reason being it is in the middle of an unsigned industrial park with not 1 single sign. After 1.5 hours I can tell you I was so stressed and upset and we turned up very late to the party! 4 cocktails later and I had just about calmed down!
When you do arrive the hotel is clean and newish inside (v small rooms and tiny bath) but you then have to pay £5 to park there!
The staff are friendly and there is no outside noise. We were not there long enough to comment any further. I would recommend the Hilton - you can't miss that whilst driving round this city!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loves_to_holiday81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Manchester-West
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 442 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2008

This hotel is a typical average Holiday Inn in a less desirable part of Manchester. Upon arrival in the car we needed to buzz to open the prison style gates. This kind of secure parking is obviously needed as the surrounding area looked scary. Not a place to walk at night!

Inside the hotel everything was fine all clean tidy and comfortable, although the bed was rock hard!

The staff were very friendly and pleasant and gave us some detailed directions to where we needed to be the next day.

My only gripe really is the parking. They charge £5 per night for this. I have said this before why charge for parking? This to me should be included in the cost of a room. If you advertise the price then that should be the price!

Other than that an OK hotel, although I personally would look for a better area if I was to stay in Manchester again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graemeboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2008

This is a perfectly acceptable Holiday Inn. It is set in a fairly bleak trading estate type area of Manchester, and there are no decent restaurants that I could find within easy walking distance, so I ate in the hotel.

There is a rather daunting looking security gate that you need to negotiate to enter and exit the hotel, which is reassuring in some ways (good for protecting your car!) but also creates the feeling that you are entering a low security penal instutution! A plus point is ample free car parking. Reception was above average, with a friendly and helpful receptionist.

My room was nicely decorated, air conditioned (useful - it was a hot summer day - but quite noisy) and well maintained. The bathroom was clean, with an average shower over the bath, although a slightly smelly shower curtain.

This H.I deserves credit for moving away from the standard corporate menu. It offers a range of English, Thai and Indian dishes. I had smoked salmon as a starter - good quality salmon but the salad garnish was tired looking and a little brown. The Lamb Rogan Josh with rice was delicious and generous in quantity.

Breakfast was varied, but the cooking was not the best I have come across - rather greasy bacon and eggs.

All in all, a fair example of H.I. and I would stay again if on business.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank adrianintheuk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2008

Just spend one evening at this hotel as we went to see Bruce Springsteen at Old Trafford fooball stadium. Well within walking distance from there - quicker to walk than get a taxi as getting near the stadium there were obviosly long gridlocked queues of traffic.
Check in was quick by very pleasant reception staff (had pre booked and paid in January)
Very good bedroom which was spotlessly clean and smelt so fresh, as did the corridors, think it may have been re furbished quite recently as everthing seemed in very good condition.
Had an excellent breakfast with great choice and hot food (which dosn't always happen with full English when served from hot plates)
a very friendly waiter, again very pleasant decor in the Trafford restaurant and a brilliant touch was Bruce Springsteen music playing quietly in the background - a very unusual touch I thought.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ValAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights recently. For what you save on the price of the hotel, you end up paying for taxi journies. Getting a taxi to & from the hotel was around 10 GBP each time so with that it would have been better to stay in town for us. The hotel seemed fairly new. We were put off by the huge security gates before you can enter the grounds but at least you know you are safe. The rooms are small, it was a bit of a squash even for two people getting around. Saying that, the rooms were clean & there was no major problems with them. We asked to stay in a quiet room as the first one we were in was on the main road outside & a little noisy from the traffic. The staff were friendly. I recommend this hotel if you don't mind paying taxi fares going back & forth from the city. Rates are generally very good.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slimshaneylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

Holiday Inn Manchester West is a reasonable hotel - once you get there!
The only problem I had was the location. Websites et.c describe it as a short walk from Deansgate. Its not actually that far (about 20mins) but its not the best area and you wont feel safe doing it! The hotel itself is secured by a locked automatic gate, so the car parking is secure.
Room was a good size, clean and comfortable.
Staff were helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macca07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2008

Had a night here on a stop over from a meeting, the room was good and clean, just perfect after a busy day

will stay again for sure when the need arises.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank scotsman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salford hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
0.9 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
0.3 mi away
Campanile Manchester
Campanile Manchester
#18 of 20 in Salford
657 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ainscow Hotel
The Ainscow Hotel
#5 of 20 in Salford
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Manchester-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manchester-West

Address: Liverpool Street | Manchester, Salford M5 4LT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Price Range: $76 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Manchester-West 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Manchester West is located close to many popular attractions in Manchester including; Old Trafford - the home of Manchester United football club, The Imperial War Museum, The Lowry Theatre and bustling Salford Quays and Media City. The hotel is only a 5 minute drive from Manchester City Centre where you can enjoy extensive shopping or take in a concert at the MEN Arena. We are also only a 20minute drive from The Trafford Centre. The Holiday Inn Manchester West offers a relaxing yet stylish bar area and our dining menu is available all day. Wifi and Car Parking is available to all guests on a complimentary basis. The hotel is located close to the M602 and M62 motorways, and is 8 miles from Manchester International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Manchester-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester-West Hotel Salford
Holiday Inn Salford
Salford Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manchester-West Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing