We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Manchester-West
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Salford
LEEDS
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Service!”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful service at this hotel,every member of staff completed their role with a smile on face and nothing was too much trouble.
Excellent steaks in the restaurant,far better than normal expectation from hotels.
If you are planning a trip to Manchester use this hotel you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsDerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you again soon at Holiday Inn Manchester West.

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    173
    110
    42
    27
See reviews for
61
116
38
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Booked this hotel to end a week's holiday in other cities, and to visit Old Trafford- the stay was a birthday present for my partner. The staff were friendly but didn't seen too fussed about doing their job. The communal bar area was constantly full of dirty dishes and glasses. No tables were cleared during the hour or so we spent in the bar despite the table we were sitting at being full of other peoples left overs. The room was a good size, but only moderately clean- there were stains on the wall and the small sofa. The bed was quite something else, at what must have been around a 5-10 degree downward/angled slope, and the mattress was horrendously lumpy. I paid £125 for one night- earlier that week I paid the same for 2 nights in the most gorgeous and perfect hotel in Berlin. The breakfast was nice, and the staff lent me a phone charger. They are the only positives!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyndsayM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We appreciate all guest feedback and this will be passed on to our Department Managers for immediate investigation. I am also sorry to hear that you did not feel that the hotel was good value for money. Our rates do fluctuate due to events and football matches being held in the City. For best rates and availability deals please do not hesitate to contact our in house reservations team who can advise on the best options available.

Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I was there in connection with a special function that takes place every third Saturday of March. This year, we were frozen out of our usual venue and wound up at this Holiday inn. It turned out to be a nice place and it is possible we will return again next year. The rooms, lobby area, bar, and dining room were nicer than those at our previous venue. And, I thought the breakfast choices were superior. We had a special informal get together dinner the Friday before and the food was excellent. The execution was a bit awkward, as they had the buffet service in one room (with only 1 entrance and exit) and the dining in another large room (which was most adequate for our needs).

Also, we found that the room rates were a bit strange. I paid 60 GBP for Friday but 130 GBP for Saturday, which I thought was a bit over the top for the 2nd night. Unfortunately, it is a big football weekend in Manchester and they charged every bit as much as they could to take advantage of the shortage of hotel rooms as a result. We were not interested in the football game. We were happy with the free WIFI, however, the access to it was a bit cumbersome, with every device requiring a special code, access cumbersome, and new codes required for every day.

It is located in a commercial/industrial area, which is not a great neighborhood, but we didn't care.
As far as we were concerned, it met our comfort and convenience requirements very nicely. By and large, the experience was a good one and we will consider returning again next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Jim H,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is nice to know that our hotel met your expectations. I'd like to apologize however for any inconvenience you may have had with the Wifi connection.

Despite this, it is good to know that you are considering to stay with us again. We hope to see you soon!

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Good falue for money breakfast was very good and fresh , rooms were average and very cold , 10 mins from centre si good for shopping , on a industrial estate so not much to look at .just of the motarway

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniejPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We hope that you enjoyed the concert!

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you experienced a problem with the room temperature. Our team are on hand 24hrs a day to assist with any problems you may have, please do not hesitate to speak with them in future.

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Myself and my husband stayed at this hotel for Valentines weekend, for the price we paid we did expect a lot more unfortunately. I don't take joy from writing negative things, however I do tell the truth.

Arrival...

On arrival at the Holiday Inn we were greeted by a quiet/shy member of staff, he was efficient however being front of house would have expected more of a warm welcome. Could have just been having an off day though! As it was valentines day we were given some Love Heart sweets which was nice :) Also noticed that they had a sign up stating for new arrivals on valentines day 6 of their rooms had been chosen at random for a valentines day makeover... Unfortunately was not ours but thought that was a lovely idea.

Walking to your room..

Just a little reminder if you are coming home late from a good night out and normally would be expected to be quiet and "respect" other guests..Theres no chance when your walking around the creeky-est hotel ever! It's so funny trying to creep up the stairs and along the corridor and not make a noise its awful.
I did like the Ice machine at the end of the corridor, thought this was a nice touch.

The Room...

Was quite disappointed with the size of the room, for what we paid we did expect a lot more. We also had a "King Room" which just looked like a standard double room. Very pokey, but was very clean and neat so that's all you need really. Walls/Ceiling were VERY thin...You will find this out for yourself if you stay there, you can hear people talking, walking, having a shower, using the loo, and also taking part in sexual relations!!! Very awkward if your having a nice family weekend away with the kids i'd imagine! Did wake us up a couple times in the night!
The room has a safe, we didn't use this but it's good for valuables! There's not much storage in the room but was ok for us as only there for two nights but staying any longer would need extra space. If you need a taxi the hotel will call one for you :) Just call them from your room.

Breakfast

Breakfast was breakfast, can't say much more than that really. Was nice but a bit cold, good variety though. Did feel sorry for the only girl working in the dining room having to rush around to everyone, cleaning, putting out more food on her own could have done with another staff member so people aren't waiting.
One morning coming down for breakfast we were greeted by a lovely man screaming / shouting at the hotel manager... Apparently one of the members of staff had rang his room and called him an idiot. Thought this was quite funny.. Really wanted to say "Thats probably because you are!" Poor manager looked like he had wet himself.

Location

Location of the hotel was in the middle of nowhere really, nothing near it really apart from a Texaco or Sainsburys (if your looking for getting cash out go to sainsburys as is free!) It's about a 5-10 minute drive to the city centre.


Summary

Unfortunately we wouldn't stay at this particular hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JadeK241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and give us detailed feedback. All feedback is very valuable to us and I will ensure that the points you have raised are looked into ASAP!

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago on a saturday night as hotels closer to town were full or had hiked their prices. Was a bit apprehensive as to what to expect due to mixed reviews. However hotel is of a very good standard and much better than some reviews here signify. Admittedly the are is poor and hotel seems oddly located. Yet the staff were friendly and courteous, hotel was well administered and in decent condition.

Breakfast was exemplary.

Would recommend this hotel as a viable alternative to travel lodges etc, as it is a very cheap cab ride from town centre.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damandatcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
So pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and found the team helpful. We hope to see you on your next trip to Manchester!

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I used this hotel for one night after struggling to get a hotel in the heart of the city. Upon check in the receptionist was very friendly and extremely efficient. The bar areas were clean and tidy, the hotel corridors are very light and airy but look very dirty due to having very light carpets. The room was a little disappointing it looked very tired and the light furniture was grubby. The hotel is very quiet so great for a good nights rest. In a run down area of the city, you would need a car to get about. The Trafford centre can be reached by car (approx 4 miles away) as well as Old Trafford and Salford Quays. Ample free parking.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilly25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we very much appreciate your feedback. I am so happy to hear that you found the team friendly and helpful and I will ensure these lovely comments are passed on.

Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salford hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
0.9 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.3 mi away
Campanile Manchester
Campanile Manchester
#18 of 20 in Salford
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Quays Hotel
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Manchester-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manchester-West

Property: Holiday Inn Manchester-West
Address: Liverpool Street | Manchester, Salford M5 4LT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Manchester-West 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Manchester West is located close to many popular attractions in Manchester including; Old Trafford - the home of Manchester United football club, The Imperial War Museum, The Lowry Theatre and bustling Salford Quays and Media City. The hotel is only a 5 minute drive from Manchester City Centre where you can enjoy extensive shopping or take in a concert at the MEN Arena. We are also only a 20minute drive from The Trafford Centre. The Holiday Inn Manchester West offers a relaxing yet stylish bar area and our dining menu is available all day. Wifi and Car Parking is available to all guests on a complimentary basis. The hotel is located close to the M602 and M62 motorways, and is 8 miles from Manchester International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Manchester-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester-West Hotel Salford
Holiday Inn Salford
Salford Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manchester-West Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing