We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Michael buble concert”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Manchester-West
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Good falue for money breakfast was very good and fresh , rooms were average and very cold , 10 mins from centre si good for shopping , on a industrial estate so not much to look at .just of the motarway

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anniejPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

We hope that you enjoyed the concert!

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you experienced a problem with the room temperature. Our team are on hand 24hrs a day to assist with any problems you may have, please do not hesitate to speak with them in future.

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 470 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

Myself and my husband stayed at this hotel for Valentines weekend, for the price we paid we did expect a lot more unfortunately. I don't take joy from writing negative things, however I do tell the truth.

Arrival...

On arrival at the Holiday Inn we were greeted by a quiet/shy member of staff, he was efficient however being front of house would have expected more of a warm welcome. Could have just been having an off day though! As it was valentines day we were given some Love Heart sweets which was nice :) Also noticed that they had a sign up stating for new arrivals on valentines day 6 of their rooms had been chosen at random for a valentines day makeover... Unfortunately was not ours but thought that was a lovely idea.

Walking to your room..

Just a little reminder if you are coming home late from a good night out and normally would be expected to be quiet and "respect" other guests..Theres no chance when your walking around the creeky-est hotel ever! It's so funny trying to creep up the stairs and along the corridor and not make a noise its awful.
I did like the Ice machine at the end of the corridor, thought this was a nice touch.

The Room...

Was quite disappointed with the size of the room, for what we paid we did expect a lot more. We also had a "King Room" which just looked like a standard double room. Very pokey, but was very clean and neat so that's all you need really. Walls/Ceiling were VERY thin...You will find this out for yourself if you stay there, you can hear people talking, walking, having a shower, using the loo, and also taking part in sexual relations!!! Very awkward if your having a nice family weekend away with the kids i'd imagine! Did wake us up a couple times in the night!
The room has a safe, we didn't use this but it's good for valuables! There's not much storage in the room but was ok for us as only there for two nights but staying any longer would need extra space. If you need a taxi the hotel will call one for you :) Just call them from your room.

Breakfast

Breakfast was breakfast, can't say much more than that really. Was nice but a bit cold, good variety though. Did feel sorry for the only girl working in the dining room having to rush around to everyone, cleaning, putting out more food on her own could have done with another staff member so people aren't waiting.
One morning coming down for breakfast we were greeted by a lovely man screaming / shouting at the hotel manager... Apparently one of the members of staff had rang his room and called him an idiot. Thought this was quite funny.. Really wanted to say "Thats probably because you are!" Poor manager looked like he had wet himself.

Location

Location of the hotel was in the middle of nowhere really, nothing near it really apart from a Texaco or Sainsburys (if your looking for getting cash out go to sainsburys as is free!) It's about a 5-10 minute drive to the city centre.


Summary

Unfortunately we wouldn't stay at this particular hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JadeK241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and give us detailed feedback. All feedback is very valuable to us and I will ensure that the points you have raised are looked into ASAP!

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago on a saturday night as hotels closer to town were full or had hiked their prices. Was a bit apprehensive as to what to expect due to mixed reviews. However hotel is of a very good standard and much better than some reviews here signify. Admittedly the are is poor and hotel seems oddly located. Yet the staff were friendly and courteous, hotel was well administered and in decent condition.

Breakfast was exemplary.

Would recommend this hotel as a viable alternative to travel lodges etc, as it is a very cheap cab ride from town centre.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damandatcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

So pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and found the team helpful. We hope to see you on your next trip to Manchester!

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I used this hotel for one night after struggling to get a hotel in the heart of the city. Upon check in the receptionist was very friendly and extremely efficient. The bar areas were clean and tidy, the hotel corridors are very light and airy but look very dirty due to having very light carpets. The room was a little disappointing it looked very tired and the light furniture was grubby. The hotel is very quiet so great for a good nights rest. In a run down area of the city, you would need a car to get about. The Trafford centre can be reached by car (approx 4 miles away) as well as Old Trafford and Salford Quays. Ample free parking.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chilly25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we very much appreciate your feedback. I am so happy to hear that you found the team friendly and helpful and I will ensure these lovely comments are passed on.

Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel with our family. We had a wonderful stay and the staff were great. Close to city centre, ideal location for us. Would defiantly return!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank som45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Had a fantastic weekend down at Manchester this week when we went to see Manchester UTD play at home. We used this hotel (2 miles walk from the ground) as a base and it was perfect. Clean rooms of the highest quality and very friendly staff. They could not have been more helpful advising us on local restaurants (taxi to City Centre approx £6) and even giving us a phone charger when we forgot our own. A special mention to the amazing F&B Manager, Saurabh Shrivastava who really made our stay with his friendliness, helpfulness and going just that little bit further to ensure we left very happy customers. We look forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxclass1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay. I am so pleased to hear that you had a great time at the football, and found the staff accommodating. I will ensure that your lovely comments are passed on to the team.

We look forward to seeing you on the next visit.

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights in January. I nearly left after the first night but the £50 early exit fee put me off. (It is there for a reason). As has reported elsewhere this is in an old, run down industrial area (my room had a view of a scrap yard) and not near enough to central Manchester to walk and no direct public transport. The floors are creaky, the walls thin, so whatever your neighbour is up to you have to share the sounds and my bathroom looked partially updated but there was damage and mould around the bath.
But the staff are great and in particular the over-worked but consistently cheerful bar and restaurant staff.
I say bar and restaurant staff but until 7pm on my visit this was one and the same person.
The same person was serving the bar, the restaurant and room service!!
Under those circumstances and with their friendly attitude it was difficult to become impatient so gradually my thoughts on this hotel softened; hence a 3...just.
But I will not go there again unless everywhere else is fully booked

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrimbutSmileyinside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please let me know where you saw the information on the early departure fee - this is not the case for all reservations and depends upon what rate you booked. I am glad that you found the team helpful, and will pass your comments on to them.

Thank you once again for your feedback

Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salford hotels
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
0.9 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.3 mi away
Campanile Manchester
Campanile Manchester
#18 of 20 in Salford
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Media City
5 mi away
Novotel Manchester West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Manchester-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manchester-West

Address: Liverpool Street | Manchester, Salford M5 4LT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Price Range: $70 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Manchester-West 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Manchester West is located close to many popular attractions in Manchester including; Old Trafford - the home of Manchester United football club, The Imperial War Museum, The Lowry Theatre and bustling Salford Quays and Media City. The hotel is only a 5 minute drive from Manchester City Centre where you can enjoy extensive shopping or take in a concert at the MEN Arena. We are also only a 20minute drive from The Trafford Centre. The Holiday Inn Manchester West offers a relaxing yet stylish bar area and our dining menu is available all day. Wifi and Car Parking is available to all guests on a complimentary basis. The hotel is located close to the M602 and M62 motorways, and is 8 miles from Manchester International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Manchester-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester-West Hotel Salford
Holiday Inn Salford
Salford Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manchester-West Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing