We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Manchester-West
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Lynton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Staff friendly and helpful, bedroom clean and comfortable. Value for money and lots of free parking. Thank you for a pleasant stay. Would stay again when visiting the area. (Didn't hear any noise in the evenings)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willytheimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for posting a review, and I do hope we see you again soon on your next visit to Manchester.

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    173
    111
    43
    27
See reviews for
61
116
38
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Basic but clean room with everything you need for a weekend. Helpful, friendly staff. Good breakfast. Location is 20 min walk from town, about 6 pounds in a taxi. Only fault we had was the Internet.... They were having 'problems' with a new system... No wifi in the room and had to stand right at the bar for it to connect when it did work which wasn't often, this was problematic for us as we needed to be online for work.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine_1_1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent visit. I am so sorry that you experienced issues with the Wifi connectivity. We are currently awaiting a system upgrade in the next few weeks, which should ensure consistent signal and availability throughout the hotel.

I hope you can see the improvement n your next visit,

Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed in this hotel as part of package for Man U match. The hotel is good, although I did not spent too much time in it. Breakfast was very good and the room was clean, better than expected for a 3* hotel. The hotel is very handy for sports fans visiting with a taxi taking a few minutes and costing to the city centre was only £6.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thanks for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us at Holiday Inn Manchester West, and I hope to see you on your next trip.

Kind regards,

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

After reading some reviews I was slightly worried. However, I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the staff were extremely helpful. The room was lovely. It was warm and very comfortable. The food was good. My daughter and I stayed there to go and see a concert and they went out of there way to make her happy. No complaints and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bulgariafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn Manchester West, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morlandmonk
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Actually that is not really fair, the hotel is good (and being refurbed as I write), the area is very rundown but not really dangerous feeling. If you have a car it is only 5 minutes to Salford Quays, and much cheaper than either the HIE or HI Media City (Media City now have hidden fees so watch the headline rate, they charge extra for a SECOND person in your room apparently but don't tell you this up front!!). We were upgraded to an Executive room which was really nice, and very spacious for a UK hotel, and breakfast was good too. All staff were friendly and the only reason it dropped a point is that the Wi-Fi didn't work, picky I know but I booked it as it advertised free wi-fi and it was not even available in the public areas!

Room Tip: Upgrade to Executive
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morlandmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I am so sorry that you experienced issues with the internet during your visit. We are currently having the whole wifi system replaced which will ensure a stronger signal and better coverage.

I hope you see an improvement on your next visit,

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here for two nights for a concert at the MEN Arena and shopping weekend. Good value, nice clean quiet smallish room, basic modern hotel. On site parking (at no charge when we stayed). We didn't eat here in the evenings (limited menu and a bit expensive) but had continental breakfast, and we ate all we wanted. Breakfast was supposedly all one price but we agreed a reduced price for continental with the restaurant manager as even the rate inclusive price was £10. We had a couple of drinks in the open plan bar / lounge / reception area, which was OK but not much atmosphere. Bar and restaurant service very good, staff friendly and attentive but reception a bit slow and not so attentive. We went out into town at night 10 - 15 minutes by taxi. Location in a semi industrial area, so no nice walks around - a cafe across the road doing cheap breakfasts - but that's all. Location OK for the city centre though even allowing for the cost of a taxi ride. Reception will book you a taxi but I found it cheaper to phone a taxi firm myself and agreeing a price up front (one driver asked us for more than the agreed price when he dropped us off!). We walked into the city one morning for the exercise but it is quite a long walk!

All in all a pleasant stay in a convenient location for our purposes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay - I hope you enjoyed the concert!. We appreciate all your feedback, and are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Visited Feb 2013 as attending a game at OT. The staff were excellent - there had been a mix up by Superbreak on the booiking of rooms and the reception staff sorted it without any problem. The bar & breakfast staff could not do enough to help - including supplying mugs for tea when we said cups and saucers were too fiddly when all we wanted was a mug with our breakfast. Breakfasts were excellent. The hotel runs a shuttle bus to OT for a nominal sum of £4 per head - this was brilliant and very sociable. The rooms were perfect and whilst not enormous (I've been in much smaller) , very clean and warm. No flat screen TV - just the old fashioned one but we can live with that. Ironing table built in with the trouser press. The bed was very comfortable. Bathrooms were spotless too and whilst not as contemporary / new as others perfectly clean and roomy with a good shower and bath.

We taxied from Piccadilly train station for just under £8. We thought that was a bargain. On the Saturday night we took a taxi to the Deansgate area for about £4.50. So although the area did not look brilliant it was easy to access where we wanted to go to. It was also just a couple of minutes from the motorway and some of our party were coming from Scotland by car it was easy to find and there was ample parking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onlovewithparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of your stay - I hope you enjoyed the game!!! Our TV's are being updated this month to flatscreens, so hopefully on your next visit all will be perfect.

We hope to see you again soon,

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salford hotels
0.9 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Campanile Manchester
Campanile Manchester
#18 of 20 in Salford
648 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
0.5 mi away
The Ainscow Hotel
The Ainscow Hotel
#4 of 20 in Salford
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Manchester-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manchester-West

Property: Holiday Inn Manchester-West
Address: Liverpool Street | Manchester, Salford M5 4LT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Manchester-West 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Manchester West is located close to many popular attractions in Manchester including; Old Trafford - the home of Manchester United football club, The Imperial War Museum, The Lowry Theatre and bustling Salford Quays and Media City. The hotel is only a 5 minute drive from Manchester City Centre where you can enjoy extensive shopping or take in a concert at the MEN Arena. We are also only a 20minute drive from The Trafford Centre. The Holiday Inn Manchester West offers a relaxing yet stylish bar area and our dining menu is available all day. Wifi and Car Parking is available to all guests on a complimentary basis. The hotel is located close to the M602 and M62 motorways, and is 8 miles from Manchester International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Manchester-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester-West Hotel Salford
Holiday Inn Salford
Salford Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manchester-West Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing