We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn? Really what a disgrace to the brand!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Manchester-West
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Okay where to start, I booked the hotel for two nights; checking in on the 11th February 2013. I will state now that I checked out on the 12th! you will find out why...

On arrival approximately 22:20 I stood at reception for what seemed like an age and still no one attended the reception; there is no way of calling staff to the reception but why shoud you have to. Eventually I went to the bar and asked the bar staff if someone would check me in; the bar staff were very polite and attentive; they asked the receptionist to attend to my check in needs.
(Please note the bar staff were the only attentive staff at the hotel)

Being a frequent traveller and I have attained Platinum status in the Holiday inn loyalty programme Priority Club and usually get upgraded however on this occasion I didn't (not a problem) I did however get a recently refurbished room. In fact refurbished in the last couple of weeks, as the hotel is currently undergoing renovations (no disruption experienced or evident) but see my photos!!!!!!!!! Refurbished???? ITS MOULDY!!!! YOU PAINTED OVER TILES!!!! Poly FILLER OVER TILES!! I do not normally upload photos but on this occasion have a look for yourselves - I ain't fussy but it's not clean and in a room that had been painted and new carpet laid.

Okay lets get food it 22:45 - so it has to be room service? well no they do not offer this but do have some £5.00 snack boxes - if they have any? disgusting (I didnt have one) - Okay a sandwich NO - Health and Safety reasons (food Hygene) I'll go hungry.

Well lets have a beer!! NO - sorry we had a busy weekend and have run out of all draught beer..... You got to be kidding! No they could only offer two types of overpriced bottled lager.

So a tiny (forgot to say about that) MOULDY room NO FOOD, NO BEER.

Next morning I'm checking out!

On check out the receptionist stated "you are not meant to check out until tomorrow!" to which I replied I a not happy with standard of the hotel; THIS WAS IGNORED as I was asked to insert my card into the machine to charge me the £85.00!!!! plus £7.00 for the bottled lager..

A disgrace - have you not heard of CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!!! I stay 60+ nights a year with IHG and this is by far my worst experience... Having written this I have downgraded the rating from Poor to Terrible - Travellers you decided there are hundreds of hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Try the Holiday Inn Express at Salfords Quay (5 - 10 minutes away) it's a good, clean, honest ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GJWTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating the matter. We are currently refurbishing the bedrooms and as yet have not finished, so I can assure you that the issues you have raised will be rectified. Apologies that we were unable to upgrade you on this visit, as the hotel currently only has 6 Executive Rooms and they are in very high demand.

I am sorry that we were unable to offer you a draught beer, due to high demand for this product the previous evening, only bottled beers were in stock. I have looked at your bill and can see that 2 bottled beers were charged for at £7, if this was not the case please do not hesitate to contact me.

Please rest assured that the issues you have raised will be dealt with immediately and I do hope you choose to stay with Holiday Inn again in the future.

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 464 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

Modern, clean building, rooms comfortable and staff friendly and generally helpful. Breakfast is pretty good with a range of hot and cold food, but best to get rate inclusive of breakfast as it is 10GBP if bought.

Hotel has a bar and restaurant, whch is just as well becasue there is nothing else in the area and it is not the best area to go out wandering.

Food menu is limited and expensive for what you get.

Interent is now supposed to be free but during the last trip of 2 nights was not working - not acceptable for any hotel that offers internet.

TV choice is very basic, but this is in the process of being upgraded, so we shall see.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the road, can be noisy in the morning as work traffic starts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, as you pointed out the hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment works, which will include up-dating the TV and channels. I do hope you get the chance to come back and see the improvements we will have made.

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Smallish Holiday Inn 15 mins walk from centre of Manchester. It's probably misnamed in that I don't think it's a Holiday destination, but it fine for a work stay. It was good to see some areas are currently getting a well-needed lick of paint, but I've not convinced the current "refurbishment" is going to run to replacing the rather worn (but clean) bathrooms, the noisy a/c/ unit, or the ancient TV system - surely puting in Freeview can't be that expensive?
Bed and pillows though was very comfortable and room decor fine. Lights took some working out.
Staff and very professional and efficient. Breakfast was fine, but expensive if not pre-booked. Can't comment on dinner as I went exploring for that.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robwks7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Holiday Inn Manchester West. I can assure you that the hotel is currently undergoing renovations which will be ongoing over the next few months. The renovations will include updating all the TV's in the hotel and ensuring there is a more substantial choice of channels.

I do hope you get the chance to come back and see the improvements we will have made.

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The hotel itself is nice, nice decor, bed was very comfortable with a range of different pillows to suit different preferences which was nice, and the ice machine on our floor was particuarly handy. Not too far from the city centre (about 15 minute walk), and the staff were friendly and organised a taxi for us (it is a shame our taxi was 10 minutes late, not the hotels fault though obviously).

The restaurant was closed when we arrived at 6.05 p.m. but a friendly gentleman put the lights on for us and took our order... there isn't a great selection of foods and it took about 30 minutes for the starter to come out, despite asking the gentleman if we could have our meals asap as we were heading off to the MEN Arena, the nacho's that my partner had looked very dry and apparently did not taste very nice, and my chicken tikka masala tasted like a cheap frozen meal, when I asked my partner how his carbonara was he told me it was "edible"... which was a shame.

It is a nice place to stay and the staff were friendly, I would recommend avoiding eating in the restaurant and go somewhere in town instead.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loobiloo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you so much for giving feedback of your recent stay. I was very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal. Our team are on hand 24hrs a day and are more than happy to assist with any aspect of your stay that you are unhappy with. Our Chef would have loved to rectify the issue or prepared an alternative dish for you.

We hope to see you again soon in Manchester,

Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Chose this hotel as it looked great value for money. Only a 5 minutes drive to the city center with a big free car park, which is great. Reception not very Stilish but clean and spacious. Staff were nice and efficient. Room was lovely decorated and nicely warm. Toilet a bit old, but big and clean. Not had breakfast or diner but restaurant looked quite nice.
Will defo go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabiuccio80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for the lovely comments you have posted about your recent visit. I have passed your feedback on to our team.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Having stayed at many holiday inns , I must say the staff here are excellent , everyone has a smile , and help you with any question you need to ask. Breakfast is very good , rooms are very clean . Maybe a bit out of town but only £6 for a taxi and your there. Would recommend a stay here . Well done to the staff ;)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonyyuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Holiday Inn Manchester West. I do hope you get a chance to visit us again soon!

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Easy to get to hotel well located close to restaurants, bars and MOSI. Unfortunately the heater in our room was faulty. The hotel was full so we were offered a portable heater and extra duvets. Buffet breakfast had the usual spread but is served until 1030 weekdays-ideal.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drunkenengineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

I am so sorry to hear that you had a problem with your heating, I can assure you that this has now been rectified. Thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salford hotels
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
0.9 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Campanile Manchester
Campanile Manchester
#18 of 20 in Salford
669 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
5.0 mi away
Novotel Manchester West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Manchester-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manchester-West

Address: Liverpool Street | Manchester, Salford M5 4LT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Price Range: $67 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Manchester-West 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Manchester West is located close to many popular attractions in Manchester including; Old Trafford - the home of Manchester United football club, The Imperial War Museum, The Lowry Theatre and bustling Salford Quays and Media City. The hotel is only a 5 minute drive from Manchester City Centre where you can enjoy extensive shopping or take in a concert at the MEN Arena. We are also only a 20minute drive from The Trafford Centre. The Holiday Inn Manchester West offers a relaxing yet stylish bar area and our dining menu is available all day. Wifi and Car Parking is available to all guests on a complimentary basis. The hotel is located close to the M602 and M62 motorways, and is 8 miles from Manchester International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Manchester-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester-West Hotel Salford
Holiday Inn Salford
Salford Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manchester-West Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing