We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was ok, expected better from Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Manchester-West
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Only comment was about the breakfast the morning after.. Not included in lodging fee.. We were seated and then nobody came to attend to us and or even ask us if we needed anything.. We got up and left after about 10 minutes of just sitting there.. I stayed about 7 mins longer than I should have.. The better half made me wait...

Room Tip: Walls are paper thin. Take that however you wish..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armed_Businessman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 464 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2011

Stayed a Saturday night for family matters. Not in greatest of areas, part of run down Salford, but not far from Manchester city centre, though need car or taxi as metro is a fair distance away, though could walk if fit and weather ok.
Room typical Holiday Inn. Bed very comfortable, bathroom clean but painted walls a bit scuffed from luggage.
Food, had evening meal, was quite good, though I was alone in the restaurant and only 2 people in bar.
Paid £57 for B&B which wasn't bad, but think rack rate is about £170- ouch.
As ever, its the stupid little things that put you off - had to pay £5 to park overnight in the hotel. This is obviously a hotel where they assume you aren't travelling.
I would still have stayed if the initial bill was £5 more. I now probably won't stay again because I feel they are getting the £5 in a backhanded manner.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank berkshirebod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Ideal hotel and close to where my daughter lives in Salford. Upgraded to executive room with no problem. Very nice room, only problem was noise from air conditioning outside the window.
Clean and tidy with helpful reception staff.
All a bit casual in the breakfast area with low supplies out. Worth asking for a pot of tea. Would stay here again and quite easy to get to main road and main bus routes.





avoid

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

I got booked into this hotel as a mystery hotel, when the actual hotel was revealed i was a bit concerned but resigned myself to the fact that i had got a holiday inn as my previous experiences with them have not been great. The location is a bit out of the city centre but dont be put off, its easy enough to get to Deansgate etc. The check in was great with a very friendly lady checking us in, she was very helpful with local information.The room was great, we had been put in an executive room which was very nice and spacious. We had the breakfast in the morning which I usually avoid, it was adequate and again, very friendly staff. Check out was great and speedy. I couldnt fault anything about my stay and would certainly book at this location again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachc0mber_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

This hotel is clearly waiting for the surrounding area to be developed (redevelopment is creeping its way), as it is not in the prettiest environment. However it is reasonably well-located; car access is excellent and it's a gentle and essy-to-follow 15 minute walk into Manchester(but be aware this only gets you to Deansgate).
The hotel itself is very clean and tbe staff friendly. We were kindly upgraded to an executive room so had plenty of space - and bath robes! As ever in Holiday Inns, the bed and pillows were very comfortable.
Breakfast was of excellent quality with a good range of products. Our only gripe was that (in the north!) they don't have teapots! Tea was served at our table as a cup of nearly hit water with a tea bag. Please change this HI !

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeEaglescliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Stayed at this hotel on the 24th June 2011 for 1 night to go to a concert with a friend. Have read quite a few bad reviews, but have to say I had no complaints. Staff at the check in desk were really pleasant and helpful.
We had an executive room which we only paid £68 and it was worth every penny, really large room with everything you could need in it. Yep the grouting round the bath could do with being re-done, but really most people seem to stay at this hotel for 1 - 2 nights max and feel people are being very picky.
It is in a good location for cricket/football ground only about a 30 minute walk away, and staff will give you a map to follow if you ask at the check in desk.
Didn't try the breakfast so can not comment on that.
The car park costs £5.00, but they do have electric gates on this and cameras placed around the car park so it is secure.
Would most definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cakey38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We booked this for an overnight stay when we went to see Take That at Manchester city ground. It was a lovely hotel, immaculate and the the staff on reception were very helpful and friendly.
Would reccomend and use again. It was not near the ground and cost us £12 to get to the ground. We had a very nice nights sleep and I would use it again. It cost £5 per day to park. Towels, shower gel, shower caps, toothpaste and toothbrushes were provided frr of charge plus a hairdryer very good.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daicile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salford hotels
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
0.9 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Campanile Manchester
Campanile Manchester
#18 of 20 in Salford
669 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
5.0 mi away
Novotel Manchester West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Manchester-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manchester-West

Address: Liverpool Street | Manchester, Salford M5 4LT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Price Range: $67 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Manchester-West 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Manchester West is located close to many popular attractions in Manchester including; Old Trafford - the home of Manchester United football club, The Imperial War Museum, The Lowry Theatre and bustling Salford Quays and Media City. The hotel is only a 5 minute drive from Manchester City Centre where you can enjoy extensive shopping or take in a concert at the MEN Arena. We are also only a 20minute drive from The Trafford Centre. The Holiday Inn Manchester West offers a relaxing yet stylish bar area and our dining menu is available all day. Wifi and Car Parking is available to all guests on a complimentary basis. The hotel is located close to the M602 and M62 motorways, and is 8 miles from Manchester International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Manchester-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester-West Hotel Salford
Holiday Inn Salford
Salford Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manchester-West Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing