We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely misleading advertising”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Heart Apartments - MediaCityUK
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Myself and 2 other friends checked into this apartment on the 24th august 2013, for a 2 day weekend (bank holiday). Where do i start, we had travelled all the way from Leeds.
When booking the Apartment, we checked everything; space in the apartment, location of the apartment, views from the apartment, everything to the check in time…

We was advised the location was a few minutes away from the city centre, which infact it was 12 minutes away from the city centre costing £13.00 for the journey from the train station to the location.
We was informed that check is was at 15:00, we arrived at 15:10, the apartment was still not available, infact we was told to wait outside of the room, where we was stood until 16:05, the cleaners were giving dirty looks and speaking in a different language then laughing and joking amongst each other which made all 3 of us very uncomfortable. (Although the receptionist apologised for this delay, and explained we would be given 1 hour extra to check out on the departure date, I do not find this acceptable). - IF A HOTEL CAN BE AVAILABLE FROM 12PM, WHY IS AN APARTMENT NOT AVAILABLE UNTIL 3PM. WELL 16:05 TO BE PRECISE????

When we finally entered our apartment, we was welcomed by wet floors and a dirty frying pan left on the kitchen side. Before we could pour ourselves a drink we had to wait for the dishwasher to finish as all the pot were in the dishwasher (a further 25minutes). 2 of the kitchen lights did not work, the dingy location did not allow any light in from sunlight!!!!

The size of the room was so misleading, the room looked nothing like the rooms advertised on the web site. Both rooms were extremely small, the double room, you could not swing a teddy around in it! If we wanted to hang our clothes we had to use the only wardrobe provided which was located in the tiny single room. The single room, was extremely small so to have the wardrobe in here made matters even worse! No lamp was available in the single room!!! What made it even more claustrophobic, was the heavy dark purple curtains, I would call it a heaven for anyone with depression. I was here to enjoy a weekend not have it spoilt.

On to the privacy of the rooms, where do I start. The "heavy dark purple curtains" had to be constantly closed as both bedroom windows looked into offices located less that 10 metres away, leading to a extremely appalling view. No sunlight shone in to the windows as we was located around the back and all we saw was office workers and shade!!!! Although it was 24degrees outside!

Although there were 3 guests, only 2 large towels and 2 hand towels were provided, although we raised this up on arrival, we was told towels will be sent asap. The next day we had to remind them we had still not been provided with the 3rd set of towels. And the toilet rolls…. Both which were provided in the toilets had less than 1/4 of the roll remaining. Again we did not receive any until the following EVENING!- WHILST WE WERE OUT!!!!

As for noise reduction - pfft this was pathetic, although the doors looked heavy they blocked no noise what so ever. I was constantly awoken during the night, from other tenants doors banging, people waiting for the lift (the room was next door to the lift) and you could hear everything!!!!! Then in the morning you was awoken to lorries driving around banging! Double glazing my [--]!

We had other friends staying in the travel lodge who has less issues than use, and they paid 1/4 of the price we paid.

************************************************************************************************************************************************
FALSE ADVERTISING - DON’T WASTE YOUR MONEY, BOOK IN THE TRAVEL LODGE, AROUND THE CORNER
************************************************************************************************************************************************

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H0nestyIsKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, Operations Director at The Heart Apartments - MediaCityUK, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Reference: TheHeart Apartments

I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the inconvenience that you encountered at TheHeart Apartments.

It is our intention at all times to ensure that our guests are made to feel welcome whilst staying with us; therefore I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay.

Thank You for your honest feedback.

With Kind Regards

Teresa Hatton
Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 221 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

We used these apartments for my sisters graduation, very pleasant! Extremely clean and modern inside, feels secure with the reception/entry. Good view/mini balcony overlooking the river.
Walking distance from the Lowry theatre.
No complaints!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlb252525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baiba Z, Manager at The Heart Apartments - MediaCityUK, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Sir/ Madam,


Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your recent stay and found our location ideal for your needs.

We are very proud of our apartments and trying hard to maintain them to a high standard.

Thank you again for taking time to comment on your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon to TheHeart Apartments.


With Kind Regards


Baiba Zarina
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed 4 1 night with family as it was the nearest apartments to the lowry theatre. The apartment was clean, beds comfortable, spacious excellent view had everything u'd need home from home. Service was top class will definitely be booking there again but 4 longer when corrie moves into there new set in progress of which i could see over the canal from the apartment.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nisbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baiba Z, Manager at The Heart Apartments - MediaCityUK, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for your fantastic review, we are delighted to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to TheHeart Apartments again.


Many thanks once again.


With Kind Regards


Baiba Zarina
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend, for ease we hopped in a taxi from Picadilly but it is so close to the media city metro stop. Staff friendly on arrival, apartment modern and clean although the sofa had seen much better days. Layout of the apartment is a little strange and not the best use of space but as an alternative to a hotel it's great. Would avoid the take away option from Prezzo if you do have a night in but the local costa coffee is great. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debsywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baiba Z, Manager at The Heart Apartments - MediaCityUK, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Ms Walker,


Thank you for your very kind feedback regarding your recent stay at TheHeart Apartments.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to seeing you again in the near future.

Thank you once again.


With Kind Regards


Baiba Zarina
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at the Heart Apartments on the 17th August and, whilst on route there from London, we received a call to say that there was an issue with our room booking and some of our rooms would have to be downgraded to single rooms.

The (unbelievably unhelpful) staff wouldn't admit to there being a double booking, instead claiming that the previous occupants had smoked in the room and they therefore couldn't release it. When we said we didn't mind this they quickly changed track and said they couldn't release it to us anyway. After much persistence we did however receive a discount for the inconvenience. However, the day after we checked out we received an email to say that, due to damages to our room they would be taking £200 payment from the card.

As we were well aware there was no problem whatsoever with our room (and that it reeked of a scam to claw their money back) we asked for proof of the damages. What we were sent were some pictures of ketchup stains, to a room not even on our floor. I pointed all this out (along with the fact that I used my card to pay for the room but at no point signed for or agreed for it to be used as a deposit) via a number of emails to the hotel, which have all since been ignored.

I've now had to spend the best part of the day chasing around getting details to my bank to let them deal with it all. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, Operations Director at The Heart Apartments - MediaCityUK, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank You for your recent feedback regarding your stay at TheHeart Apartments.

All communications regarding your stay and incident have been addressed to you seperately.

Yours Sincerely

Teresa Hatton
Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Ideal location for Old Trafford football or cricket ground. Easy public transport links to the city.

Very modern, clean and well equipped apartment. At £130.00 a night for a 2 bed flat (1 en-suite and 1 bathroom as well) it was cheaper than 2 rooms at the Premier inn and far better standard. Big TV in the lounge, fully equipped kitchen, free WiFi and great views over the newly refurbished Salford Quays. This was a bargain and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baiba Z, Manager at The Heart Apartments - MediaCityUK, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Andy,


I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your very kind words regarding our apartments during your recent stay.

We hope to accommodate you again as soon as possible.


With Kind Regards


Baiba Zarina
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just stayed over night whist visiting Old Trafford and the city centre. Took us a while to find as the taxi driver wasn't sure where it was so we got out and walked from the Lowry Centre (£12 taxi Fare from city centre) although there is a nearby metro link which would have made the trip cheaper. This is an Ideal place to stay for visiting the Lowry Centre or the shopping area or the Imperial War Museum there is always lots to do in the local area. Apartment was clean and tidy and had all the facilities you'd need for a longer stay although there wasn't much of view from our 5th floor 2 bedroomed apartment, but we def go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IslanderCumbria_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baiba Z, Manager at The Heart Apartments - MediaCityUK, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,


Thank you for your very kind comments on a Tripadvisor. It fills me with great pleasure knowing that you've enjoyed your stay with us.

We are look forward to seeing you again.


With Kind Regards

Baiba Zarina
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salford hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
0.8 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Media City
0.7 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heart Apartments - MediaCityUK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heart Apartments - MediaCityUK

Address: The Heart Media Blue | Salford Quays, Salford M50 2TJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Salford
Price Range: $92 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heart Apartments - MediaCityUK 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
\Styled to appeal to both the business and leisure traveller, The Heart Serviced Apartments consist of 50 fully equipped and beautifully furnished self-contained apartments in Manchester's newest landmark location - MediaCityUK. Just 2 miles from the M60 and M62 motorways The Heart Serviced Apartments are in an ideal location for access to Manchester and the wider North West. Old Trafford for Manchester United matches, the Lowry Centre, Imperial War Museum North and Lowry Outlet Mall are all just minutes away, and Manchester City Centre is just a 10 minute tram ride away from MediaCityUK tram stop. If you’re an avid shopper the award winning Trafford Centre retail and leisure complex is only 10 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Heart Apartments - MediaCityUK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heart Apartments - MediaCityUK Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing