We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lowry Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Manchester West(Worsley)(Great Value!)
$77
$65
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$87
$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$76
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays(Salford)(Great Value!)
$52
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$76
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,855)
Filter reviews
2,855 results
Traveler rating
1,822
640
238
97
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,822
640
238
97
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalk in wardrobeafternoon teaturn down serviceriver viewfive star hotelcar parkrooms are largebirthday treathuge bedfloor to ceiling windowsfantastic hotelsuperior roommini barcity centrefantastic staybar and restaurantbars and restaurants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,737 - 2,742 of 2,855 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2006

I decided to stay at the Lowry to surprise my partner for our anniversary. I chose to stay in the deluxe riverside suite which cost £695 for the night.
From the moment we arrived, and started unloading our bags a porter was quick to take them off our hands.
After we checked in, the receptionist personally showed us upto our room and offered to explain how everything worked.
The room was huge, it had small kitchen area, a guest bathroom, a 42in flat screen tv, dining table, internet access, ipod station, cd player, 2 sofa's, walk in wardrobe, big bathroom and a super kingsize bed.
Before we had time to settle in our room, we recieved six strawberrys that had been dipped in three layers of chocolate and left to set (which were delicious), compliments of the hotel.
The hotel helped to arrange a babysitter to look after our twelve month old son for the evening whilst we dinned in the restaurant.
The riverside restaurant was exceptional, the food was out of this world and the service excellent.
My partner went to the hotel spa and had a massage, which she thoroughly enjoyed and was made to feel very special.
The only downside to hotel were that the car park was £12 and their directions were slightly wrong.
But overall I would highly recommend anyone to stay at the Lowry!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Graham&Salome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2006

Having spent a lovely weekend away at The Malmaison recently, He decided our next rendezvous would be The Lowry. Our overall impression was one of disappointment. We cannot comprehend how this hotel is 5 Star.

The directions was wrong and the car park costs £12 per day.

We arrived 30 mins early than expected. The room was not ready and when it was they had forgot to check the mini-bar contents.

Given our room cost £270 ( check out room rates for top London hotels such as The Capital and The Milestone for comparison ) we found it extremely basic. It didn't even boast tea making facilities as standard!

The bed consisted of two separate mattresses which I found irritating and the bathroom was basic. I expected quality bathing products and all you got were little samples, which certainly would not be enough for fun and folics in the evening and then the next morning shower before departure!

After eating out we arrived back for a drink at the bar. House wine was £18 per bottle and He decided we would try a couple of little cheesecakes. These cost £7 each. Including a couple of cocktails the bill came to about £50.

We missed breakfast ( finished at 10.30am on Sunday ), so I treated Him to breakfast in Kendals.

To summarise our overall impression was one of disappointment and the hotel was very overpriced compared to the service, surroundings and facilities available at The Malmaison.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Bal-a-Versailles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2006

Stayed here overnight to go see a concert at the Lowry Theatre. The atmosphere here is relaxing, but also 'happening'.
The bar and lobby areas are spacious, and the rooms are adequate in size.
Not the most luxurious hotel room I have stayed in, but very pleasant.
Paid £100 for the night; quite expensive, but it is in the centre, and handy for shopping too.
Quite fancied a cooked breakfast in the morning, but when we saw the price of £18.95 each, decided to walk to Starbucks nearby!!

2  Thank Cheesecake2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2006

Stayed at The Lowry again in October and had another great stay. We weren't upgraded this time but room was still great had a great view of the car park (lots of star spotting!). We had room service this time and that was nice, quick service and although pricy worth it if you can't be bothered to go out after a long day shoppoig and walking. One good touch is that i filled out the comments form in the room and got a personal letter from the hotle manager answering the points i raised. Excellent will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GreeceGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2006

Booked hotel on Rocco Forte website at £300 basic rate with no breakfast or parking thrown in. Had a river view room which was large and minimalistic.

It's a 5 star hotel but I cannot say it was worth the rate at all and clearly it lacks competition. I couldn't actually complain about anything (although we had no turndown or clean towels for the morning) but it just didn't feel anything special. Like an upmarket business hotel really.

The bar was packed at 1am on a Saturday with residents clearly bringing guests in which meant we couldn't get a seat. Not great.

Also, there was no bellman to greet us or help with luggage. Distinctly average I have to say.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Jamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews