We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lowry Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$242
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$369
$332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$234
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Novotel Manchester West(Worsley)(Great Value!)
$155
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quay Apartments(Salford)
$321
$267
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$213
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$217
$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$154
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$111
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,889)
Filter reviews
2,889 results
Traveler rating
1,845
645
239
99
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,845
645
239
99
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalk in wardrobeafternoon teaturn down serviceriver viewfive star hotelcar parkrooms are largebirthday treathuge bedfloor to ceiling windowsfantastic hotelsuperior roommini barcity centrefantastic staybar and restaurantbars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
2,092 - 2,097 of 2,889 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was my first visit to Manchester, which I found a fantastic city with beautiful architecture and friendly people. The Lowry Hotel is well placed for the city centre, which is just moments away. The design of the building is spacious and relaxing, with wide corridors and curved walls. The liberal use of original art on the walls, some of which is for sale, was especially pleasing. I stayed in a deluxe room. The decor was beautiful, though the much-vaunted city view includes the car park in the foreground! The more expensive other side of the building has a prettier view over the river and converted warehouse flats. The staff were eager to help and welcoming. The only niggle was the overpricing: expensive parking when there's a cheap NCP site next door; WiFii for £6 ph, rising to £75 pw; £34 for 2 cocktails and coffees in the bar (no tea-making facilities in the room; you had to ask). Save your money if you want a drink and go to The Alchemist in the Spinningfields area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QueenieBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterKienast, General Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay at The Lowry Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your trip up North to visit our beautiful city. The art work in The Gallery changes monthly and we pride ourselves on being the only 24 hour Art Gallery in the city. Unfortunately we do not own the land that our car park is situated on and therefore have to charge a daily rate. We appreciate your feedback and are looking to make changes in regards to our internet in the future. Please do visit again soon.
Kind Regards, Peter Kienast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Setting pretty good, overlooking a river walk.
Welcome pretty good, lots of people to unload your luggage and park your car.
Room pretty good, big bed, space and sophisticated furniture.
Dinner? Well they explain what you have on your plate just in case you cannot remember what you have ordered.
Breakfast? BUFFET!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! What a bringdown. You can order what sort of egg you want, but you cannot mix and match from the side with the continental breakfast, and the side with the "English" breakfast.
Do not drink from the bar in your room, get a second home in Cornwall instead..

Room Tip: Have a room overlooking the river, lots of interesting action to see.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlazeandBritney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the Lowry, the rooms are a very decent size and are very light and spacious. The staff are excellent and you cant really ask for more from them, anything you need they are there! Only a few negatives hence why not given 5 stars... They seem to have taken the irons / ironing boards out the room so you have to now ring housekeeping to get one which I found pointless, what's wrong with leaving it in the room!? I thought this on my first stay and its still the same.... no plug sockets anywhere near the bed!! the only sockets are on the table at the other side of the room, not good at all! Also this time there was no turn down service for our room... not sure why as I was out all evening and came back expecting it to be ready for me however it wasn't so not sure what happened there. I would return to the lowry without a doubt next time i am in Manchester.

Room Tip: If you're not bothered about looking at dirty water don't pay for a river view room!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Lowry has now been open for some time and after my last visit i can honestly say
the standard is still as good as it has been from the first opening if not better!

Great Hotel, looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HCR77142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here on business, having had meetings through the day in the bar where we were truly made to feel welcome and very well looked after.

The service was simply impeccable, genuine and friendly. My room was fantastic and I had a great nights stay.

Every single member of staff I encountered were accommodating, friendly and very happy in their jobs, I would simply recommend that other establishments send their staff here to learn how to do it right.

When you stay at a hotel like this you do expect it to be good, but it was much, much, better than that. The management of this establishment should be very proud of their team.

Well done and keep up the great work.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ENTOURAGE_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews