We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late lunch early dinner”
Review of Chiquito

Chiquito
Ranked #52 of 326 Restaurants in Salford
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: 'South of the border' passion is always served up at Chiquito. A menu of bold Mexican and Tex-Mex cuisine is prepared however the diner likes it. Burritos, sizzling fajitas and tacos can all be customised for vegetarians or those wanting more spice. A kids menu, games and entertainment add to the family-friendly vibe, and there is a great range of exciting cocktails, mocktails, wines and tequilas.
Westhoughton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Late lunch early dinner”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Called in for a decent meal having not had lunch and going out early so no dinner.
A new menu since I last went and it was very good, great choice although I do wish more would add caloric values.

Service good seemed to be the boss and it was very quiet as the wrong time for most to eat.

Marked the atmosphere as average as there was no one else inside but nice music playing

Outside was good weather and most there and that was very pleasant

Quality of food was very good and the boss was great and giving advice and info on the food choices

Will go back if in the area again

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisajlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    130
    70
    43
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Poor PeriPeri Chicken, great starter”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I went to Chiquitos to celebrate a great day at work. We ordered the Starter platter to share and it was fantastic. Very tasty with alot going on, and it really got our juices going. We were so excited about our main courses...only to be HIGHLY disappointed. I ordered PeriPeri chicken with fries, corn and coleslaw; and my husband had a regular burger with fries.

My meal:
The chicken tasted like they'd bought a plain roasted chicken from Asda and just poured a non-descript sauce on top. The sauce had no taste; chicken had no taste; and was definitely not marinated - no effort was put into it at all. I was extremely disappointed and don't think I want to ever eat there again. For £14 I felt like I'd be scammed. This needs to be improved, as I can't be the only one with shocked taste buds out there as a result of this dish.The corn was a tad dry, and I was given a mouthful of a bowl of coleslaw. I couldn't finish my meal as I felt like I was eating felt material. I took it home, basted it with some Nandos sauce and it then became somwewhat edible.

My husbands meal:
A dry, tasteless burger, on some dry tasteless bread. It was shocking. He just about finished his, but was completely unimpressed and usually has somewhat of a fuss-free palette.

I think for the money you pay, you get rubbish. Yes, they made an effort with the starter, but who goes to restaurants to be impressed by starters only??

It was practically empty when we arrived at about 7pm and, after our meal, we completely understood why.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Feeble F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great choice of food, fantastic cocktails and excellent service”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Went with 2 friends - we had a cocktail, starter & main course each and two extra sides to share; the bill came to £86.
I didn't think I'd like much on the menu as I don't like peppers or chillis but there was loads to choose from and the desserts (although I didn't have one) looked to die for! Lots of melted cheese and deep fried stuff so not the place to come if you're dieting, though you can choose rice as a side rather than chips.
Tasty food with swift, but not rushed , service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NelliePhant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The breakfast is really good!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband had the traditional English breakfast and I had their Mexican breakfast. We both loved our meals. They also have unlimited coffee or tea for 1.95 and that includes specialty coffees. We were very happy with our food and very friendly service. We will be back during our trip,

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DLynnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Spicy :)”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Excellent service, fantastic food, things that are spicy are actually spicy! Great atmosphere and lovely cocktails!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annabelhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiquito also viewed

 
Salford, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Chiquito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing