We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Campanile Manchester
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$78
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$57
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Manchester West(Worsley)(Great Value!)
$67
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$122
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$65
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (701)
Filter reviews
701 results
Traveler rating
82
217
189
103
110
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
217
189
103
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsretail parkcity centreold traffordrooms are basicfree car parkingwould stay againbed was comfortablemin walkone night stayyogurtmedia citytaxideansgatedryermotorwaygig
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
486 - 491 of 701 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed here the night before going to the cricket at Old Trafford. The location is fine, no complaints there; 15 minute walk to Deansgate and I guess a little bit further to get to the centre of Manchester. The hotel itself is located next to an outdoor shopping centre which has quite a big Sainsbury’s, TK Maxx, Rymans and various other similar things. Across the road is a McDonald’s which is handy for breakfast considering the hotel charge £8 for theirs.

The hotel is quite basic, the rooms are outdated and old but clean, when you are in the corridor you can here people’s conversations they are having in their room. I’d say if you are sharing a room with people there is a distinct lack of plugs; you can’t even unplug the kettle or TV because they are wired into the wall, there are 2 plugs in the whole room and one is just dangling in midair. The hotel boasts free wifi and free parking.

Didn’t use the bar or restaurant, so can’t comment but I did notice all the meals cost the same price of £8.95.

If this were an option again for a visit to Manchester I’d probably try another hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wardms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

FOR
Plenty of free secure parking
Clean rooms and a separate restaurant wing where breakfast (buffet and/or cooked) is served - though we ate elsewhere. The reception is also in this separate wing
Wide shelf in bathroom for possessions
Shortish (15 minutes) walk into central Manchester (see below)
Free wifi, though in our room (on waterside) couldn't log in. Went to reception, logged in, and could then use it in room
Next to a small shopping mall that includes branches of Sainsbury's and T K Maxx

AGAINST
On early arrival, nowhere to leave luggage until we came back to check in later except, as suggested, in our car. If we'd arrived by train, don't know what would have happened
No lift
No hook on back of bathroom door
Only three of TV channels work
Only two towels, though holder has room for five in total
No Kleenex
No notepad or pen
Only one electrical socket on desk for kettle or laptop, though television has separate one
Slightly too far from central Manchester (15 minute walk) compared with Castlefield - our usual choice.
Because of the layout of the grounds, you have to walk out of the car park, and around the security fence, to get to the walk into Manchester, so an additional pedestrian exit on the river side would be better.
The wifi had to be logged into again if iPad screen went dark.
Noisy location with constant 24 hour traffic. We'd been told the waterside rooms were quieter and they were but, because it was a warm night, had to leave the window open.
Only one pillow per bed and no extra ones in wardrobe
Only four coat hangers in wardrobe
The top of the mixer tap on the bathroom sink was loose and lifted off if not careful

Room Tip: Ask for a waterside room
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Malcolm429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We enjoyed great location of this hostel - only 15 minutes walk to train station, city center, MOSI, shopping center and a romantic scenery of Manchester canals. The hotel standard is basic, with dated decoration and furniture. The bathroom facilities were also deteriorated, the shower handle was damaged. The outside of the hotel was a parking place and a lot of small littering in the streets. They serve a simple continental breakfast (one type of ham and cheese!, fruits, yogurt, pastry) and you can order an extra cooked breakfast. There was no air condition, however I understand it, as it does not happen normally to have 30 degrees in MAN.
If you are looking for a budget accomodation, this is definitely the place (though, do not expect a Hilton).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rasto H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Location of the hotel was perfect with only a 15 minute walk into central Manchester!

Standard of the hotel were rather poor with dated decoration and very small rooms. On a hot summers evening we were very disappointed to discover the lack of any air conditioning.

Having stayed 2 nights I was very disappointed to discover that on returning back from our days adventures, staff could not make the bed! Is this normal? I don't think so :-/

We have stayed with this hotel chain before in other locations around the country, which is why we chose to stay here. I would like to think that this hotel is the odd one out compared to others, but it has put us off trying more hotels in the chain!


  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireWalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

i stayed here and had money stolen from my case..purse was well hidden in secret pocket in case so someone has to have a good look through all my stuff to find it.as it was a housekeeper hotel is doing nothing about it. very sneaky as ipod was left on desk..room was awful aswell..truly horrible hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews