We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a dump”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Campanile Manchester
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Hebburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“what a dump”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Absolutely disgrace. £80 to stop in a dump. Notice in room saying sorry if paint on carpet as refurbishing. Room wasn't clean nor hoovered. Furnishings a disgrace. £80 for one night. Avoid this hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Geordienufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    196
    171
    89
    99
See reviews for
71
195
31
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lytham
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the campanile for two nights whilst visiting Manchester. The hotel is located 5 mins taxi ride to Deansgate priced around £6
The hotel is of budget standard but very clean and comfortable. The staff from check in to night porter and breakfast team are all very polite and will help in any way. Breakfast was good value £6 for continental or £8.25 for a full. Would stay again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackpoolmanLytham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Okay so not 5 star but this hotel does offer value for money it is just a few miles from the motorway so really easy to find. For a good value overnight stay cannot find fault. Good welcome on arrival and the rooms clean and tidy. Good restaurant on site opens at 6 pm and bar closes 11 pm the food was well prepared and offered really good value from quick ham,egg and chips to steak with an excellent side salad. Good location especially should you be in the area for football at Old Trafford which is about a 20 minute walk away.

The rooms were clean and tidy toiletries supplied and tea and coffee making facilities in the room. This is a good value hotel the staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: Although on a busy road junction the noise want to bad but rooms at back of the hotel are quieter as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KVS79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Me and my sister went to Manchester for a short break. We only stayed for the one night, however was reasonable and close to the centre.

We arrived well before the due check in time, about 11am, however the lady at the desk let us check in early. We had problems with our room key, as the battery had stopped working in the lock, therfore everytime we wanted to get into our room we had to go to reception first and get someone to escot us to our room and open it for us. This was a bit awkward, however all staff were very kind and appologetic of the issue.

Breakfast was lovely, there was a large selection of continental food for breakfast which was included in the room fee, and a cooked breakfast was avaliable for £2.50 extra. We got shown to our table, which was reserved for us, and helped ourselves to the breakfast buffet. There was fresh fruit, yoghurt, a large variety of cereals, toast, bakery selections: including danish swirls and croissants, baguettes with a selection of cheeses and hams, 2 coffee machines with a great variety of coffee selections to choose from, fresh juices and milk. YUM!!

All staff and servicing was really good. We had the best time in Manchester, and everyone we spoke to were very friendly and helpfull. I would definitly visit this hotel again!!

Room Tip: Good room, a bit of noise from outside, close to shops, very friendly staff and great breakfast sele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Free wifi, free parking, close to city , great price, good rooms, friendly staff.......go for it. Best for price in Manchester. I was there for two weeks and had a comfortable and restful stay. Good for the business man/woman.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerCaymanIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

when we arrived at reception they didnt have our booking, we had booked two rooms for the saturday and one room for the sunday night and they only had the booking for the sunday but they said this wasnt a problem as they had rooms available so we payed for the rooms (£105 for all three rooms) but didnt collect our keys as we were going out,when we returned to reception the assistant manager was very rude to us and said we had to pay another £140 as we had been charged wrong. This wasnt our fault so why should we have to pay extra and i don't know how they can charge £105 for these awful rooms. When we got to our room we only had one towel between two people, the toilet wouldnt flush, the room was very dusty, the bathroom wasnt clean and the bed was covered in what looked like pubic hair, when we told reception the guy was again quite rude but did move us to another room, the second room wasnt much better that the first, this bathroom was also dirty, the walls were covered with big black marks that looked like burns, there were cob webs all over the walls, the light didnt work, the tv remote didnt work and the bed smelt like salt and vinegar crisps. We didnt try the food so i cant comment on that but i wound not recommend this hotel to anyone. Im sure you could find alot better hotels in manchester for alot less that £105 on a saturday night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellerD13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Rooms need a lick of paint but are perfectly adequate for an overnight stay. The service on the other hand was beyond appalling. We waited for 10 minutes to be served, of which we weren't. I went to speak to the person on reception and he assisted after a few minutes. We had upgraded to a full English breakfast and would you believe it, they tried to give us a breakfast that had been cooked for other people. This was within 30 seconds of sitting down, so how could this have been cooked on order (as they said it was) for us?! Either way, they were not going to cook us another breakfast, so we were forced to eat dry, hard cooked food. I then went to get a croissant or something similar and there was nothing at all there to take. I questioned this and was told that if I wanted a croissant I'd have to wait for 25 minutes. What were they doing, bringing them in from France?? It was supposed to be an unlimited supply of continental breakfast but there was nothing other than sliced white bread. I asked to speak to the Manager and was told there wouldn't be a Manager on site for at least two hours. You would have thought that the morning is one of the busiest times in the hotel industry, so for there to be no Manager on duty was poor.
Overall our stay was adequate but the breakfast experience and poor service put us off.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_Slater76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.9 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester-West
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
0.9 mi away
Stay Inn Manchester
Stay Inn Manchester
#16 of 20 in Salford
471 reviews
1.0 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Manchester

Property: Campanile Manchester
Address: 55 Ordsall Lane, Salford M5 4RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Manchester 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you come for business or to watch a football game or visit the Granada Studios, 2-star CAMPANILE HOTEL-RESTAURANT MANCHESTER– Salford has everything • Reception open 24 hours (night porter) • Free outdoor parking • Handicapped facilities • Restaurant capacity: 80 people • 2 conference rooms (Capacity: 50 people) • Conference room equipped with WIFI connection, easel board, video projector (paid rental), TV, DVD player, etc... • Bar • Terrace • Infant cots available, upon request on reservation • Free WIFI access (ask Reception for information) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Campanile Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Manchester Salford, Greater Manchester
Campanile Manchester Hotel Salford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing