We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really liked the Copthorne, Manchester” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel Manchester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Hampshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Really liked the Copthorne, Manchester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2007

Very nice location at Salford Quays - we had pleasant room overlooking waterfront. Hotel is near to tram stop with quick, cheap and convenient service into centre of Manchester. Parking was free for hotel guests, good buffet breakfast available.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Fifi_banana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    403
    464
    254
    155
See reviews for
131
541
71
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2007

I had a delightful stay at this hotel, nothing special, but everything you would expect. The hotel was clean, the staff were friendly.

It provides an ideal location if you are attending a football game at Old Trafford, otherwise it's a 10 minute tram ride into town. It's located next to Salford Quays and does provide a charming waterside retreat.

  • Liked — Waterside Location
  • Disliked — Does nothing extra to really deserve its 4* status
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Taffy_the_Welsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2007

We arrived before 09.00am, tired from an early flight from Dublin, and we were pleasantly surprised to be offered a room straight away. The room was bright and clean.
After leaving our bags in the room, we decided to see where Old Trafford was as we were going to a match the next day. The stadium is literally around the corner from the hotel.
If you walk two minutes in the opposite direction there is a small selection of restaurants, all offering lunch specials.
The hotel bar is small and is very quiet. However, the bar staff were very friendly and polite. Room service was expensive, as it is all over the world.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay at The Copthorne Hotel and I would strongly recommend this hotel if you are going to see a Manchester United football match.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DublinEmzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2007

Got a good deal at this hotel as a stopover between Belfast and the U.S. (were visiting friends in Liverpool at the end of our vacation). Nice, clean business-class hotel that was very convenient to the airport. Highly recommend it for the business traveler who has a limited expense account. Not really a vacation spot, but if you want a modern place to stay that is reasonably priced, this was a good bet.

  • Liked — Convienent and reasonably priced
  • Disliked — Just a basic hotel
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank We_like_vacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2006

I stayed at the Copthorne this weekend Friday to Saturday. I booked via the website about 4 months ago to ensure we had somewhere to stay for our annual Christmas shopping trip. Two nights in a twin room was £83 b&b. That price was still available 2 weeks before our stay.

The hotel is easy to find off the motorway and sign posted as you get closer, big carpark and arriving at 5pm on a Friday night found plenty of spaces. Our inital concern was that it was across the road from a building site so I asked for a quay view room. The receptionist said they only had a double quay room and as we wanted a twin stayed with what we had. The noise may have bothered some people, it started around 9am Saturday morning but my friend slept through it and I use earplugs whenever I'm in any hotel. The room was one of the newer decorated rooms in creams and browns, very nice, but it was let down by the 80's decor of the bathroom but it was big enough and clean enough for it not to bother us. A big plus for me where the towels, bath towels are never big enough for a size 16 gal like me but the ones here went round me twice and were lovely and soft, same goes for the head towel, plenty big enough.

As a rule we always turn down the heat in the room wherever we stay. There must be something in the hotel bible that says "thout shall always be too hot too sleep". We liked the fact that you could open all 4 windows to the room inwards so it was cool and fresh all night through. I was told on arrival that the hotel was fully booked but we never heard another soul all night. We had dinner in the hotel on Friday night and were the only people in there for quite a while. Price wise we paid £30 for two 3 course meals which isnt bad for hotel prices. Clippers Bar prices were the same as another other hotel i.e. bloomin expensive 2 bottles of Magners for £8 but we've learnt that if we want a drink we take our own bottles of wine with us and have a drink in our room. It still amazes me that people complain about hotel bar prices but show me a hotel that doesn't charge the earth. Unlike a previous reviewer we had hot chocolate (lol) and all the usual complimentary tea and coffee. I totally disagree regarding breakfast. The amount of food available and the variety was amazing, everything was fresh and the cooked breakfast was superb. Even my friend commented that hotel breakfasts are usually awful but this was delicious, piping hot and grease free. If our rate wasn't b&b then I wouldn't have paid £15 for breakfast, which sane person would, its not like they force you to pay any reasonable person would get brekkie elsewhere like the Trafford Centre etc.

Staff were helpful, explained where and how to get the tram into the city centre and even told us what tram we should be on in order to get back. We only ever saw the maids on the floor as we were leaving, they didn't enter our room once in our two night stay unlike previous reviewers.

Overall no where near as bad as some say, i agree not 4 star but not a bad place to stay.

  • Liked — Proximity from motorway and distance to shops
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Take you own wine/beer and don't pay extra for breakfast
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrummieMoneypenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.1 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Quays Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Manchester

Property: Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Address: Clippers Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3SN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Salford
Copthorne Hotel Manchester Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing