We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but not 4 star” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel Manchester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Newcastle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good location but not 4 star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2010

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night. Got a decent rate over the internet and very glad I didn't pay the rates they were advertising in the reception (£200+ per night)
The reception area and the main bedroom were nice enough but the bathroom was extremely dated and in need of a full refurbishment. We didnt have any toilet paper in the room when we arrived either. Breakfast wasn't included in our deal but there was no mention of it at check-in, in terms of how we could get some if we'd wanted to, so we decided to go elsewhere.
On the plus side, the location on Salford Quays is good and the tram stop to get into the city centre (a 7-10min) ride away is just over the road.
Overall a decent 3 star hotel - not the 4 star as advertised - and could be much improved with refurbishment and some staff training.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesH066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copthorne_Manchester, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, June 2, 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us.
Your comments will indeed be taken on board, particularly in regard to any planned future refurbishments as feedback such as your own always plays an integral part in projects that may be undertaken.

It is disappointing to note your comments in regard to your in room amenities and these will be certainly followed up with our Housekeeping Department.

On check-in we do have procedures in place for our breakfast deals within the hotel and we truly apologise that this information was not communicated to you at the time. Again please be assured that this matter will be followed up accordingly.

Our location is indeed a great feature as you have highlighted and we do sincerely hope that you may consider staying with us again in the not too distant future.

Thank you once again on behalf of the Copthorne Hotel Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    402
    463
    254
    152
See reviews for
131
540
69
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Teesside
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

Stayed for 1 night at this hotel. Advertised as a 4 star but wouldn’t rate this anymore than a 3 star at best. We stayed in a double classic room on the ground floor. Not sure what other rooms were like but this one was in badly need of refurbishment. Old style TV and telephone, no air conditioning – with windows only opening fractionally at the top. Black mould on some tiles in the bathroom. No in-room safe. Even white trunking of electric cables running down the doorway in the bathroom – whats all that about? Beware, don’t expect 4 star service. Check in was quick but no offer of wake up call or newspaper or even told what time breakfast is – this is standard service I would expect in a 4 star hotel. On checkout wasn’t even asked how my stay was. Staff not interested! Very disappointed and would not return and do not recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cron1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copthorne_Manchester, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, June 2, 2010
Dear Guest

On behalf of the Copthorne Hotel Manchester we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review on the hotel following your recent stay with us.

All guest feedback is invaluable to ensuring we are monitoring and maintaining our service standards and hospitality at all times, however it is evident that on this occasion this could not be said for some specific areas of the hotel and in particular your check-in and check-out experience. Please be assured that these matters will certainly be followed up with the Front Office Manager and the team and immediate re-training put into place.

However, we would like to re-assure you that this is certainly not indicative of the usual high standards we pride ourselves in and we do sincerely apologise for the less than satisfactory feeling you have been left with.

Your comments in relation to our hotel product are too most invaluable and will certainly be bourne in mind for any future planned refurbishments that may take place. However, there can be no excuses for the cleaning standards of your bathroom, a matter which we can assure you will be duly addressed by our Housekeeping Manager accordingly.

We do sincerely hope that you may reconsider visiting the hotel again and indeed we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back should such an occasion arise.

Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salford hotels

London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

Having travelled for 3 weeks at various hotels up and down the country this hotel is a real dissapointment.

It took 5 attempts to call room service for a menu that wasn't in my room, i ended up going down to sort it.

The rooms need updating - not being picky but square teles shouldn't be in 4 star rooms. This dated appliance only served to highlight how old the other furniture and appliances are.

Look elsewhere, its booked by companies for coach loads.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ghawkins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copthorne_Manchester, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, May 20, 2010
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review on the hotel following your recent stay with us.

It is of course most disappointing to note that your experience of the hotel has left you with a less than favourable impression and for this we would ask you to please accept our sincere apologies.

The service issues that you experienced are certainly not acceptable and we can assure you that this matter will be actioned accordingly within the hotel.

We thank you for your constructive feedback in regard to the in room facilities / decor and for future refurbishment programmes these are certainly areas that can and will be considered for change where feasible.

Once again thank you on behalf of the Copthorne Hotel Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2010

Me and my fiance stayed over on a thursday night to see peter kay and were very impressed. The room was spacious and clean, the bed was the comfiest i have ever slept in, (where do they get them i want one lol?) the bathroom was lovely and clean with a huge spacious bath. Overall i fetl i would have no hesitation in staying there again the only thing i can say as a possible bad point is the menu appeared on the pricey side but as we did not eat there i could not say that the food wasnt worth the price. Also the room was to warm but that was sorted by opening windows:-)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank po77er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copthorne_Manchester, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, May 16, 2010
Dear Guest

On behalf of the Copthorne Hotel Manchester, we would very much like to thank you for writing your review on the hotel following your recent stay with us.

Your comments are indeed very pleasing to note and they will be shared with the management and staff alike within the hotel.

We do sincerely hope that you will have an opportunity to stay with us again in the near future and indeed we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Once again thank you on behalf of the Copthorne Hotel Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2010

Reasonable price, convenient location, plenty of free parking, comfortable room (free upgrade with waterfront view), brekky cooked to order, but dozy receptionist insisted on swiping my credit card on arrival (I agreed under protest) then she charged the room to my credit card, even though my employer had prepaid. Also, chambermaid woke me at about 7:30am and receptionist unable to facilitate what was advertised as free wifi in lobby/bar area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copthorne_Manchester, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, May 16, 2010
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable guest feedback following your recent stay with us.

Whilst there are some very positive comments, for which we thank you, it is also clear there are some re-training issues that need to be rectified within our Front Office and Housekeeping Departments, and we can assure you that these matters will be actioned accordingly.

We do sincerely hope that you will have an opportunity to stay with us again soon and indeed we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Once again thank you on behalf of the Copthorne Hotel Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jundiai, SP
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2010

well lets start with the room that is spacious but with a very short and small bed, it looks old with stains everywhere, there are some loose tiles in the bathroom and the shower is ok if you are fast enough to go out before get boiled when the water temperature changes suddenly. The location was perfect to us to attend to a congress helded in the Lowry convention center, the Manchester United Stadium is also quit near. If you have business in Manchester city center it could be a little far for you. The service is polite but not very effective, we had a problem with the room key that takes 30 minutes and three tours to the front desk to be solved. They dont have free internet in the room, one have to pay 20 pounds per day to get it. In the end I think you can find better opitions near by.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lontramil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copthorne_Manchester, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, May 16, 2010
Dear Guest

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write your review on the hotel following your recent stay with us.

It is evident from your stay that your visit has left with you a less than favourable impression of our hotel and for this we would ask you to please accept our sincere apologies. From your comments it is clear there are some Housekeeping and Maintenance issues that need to be addressed immediately and we can assure you that these will be actioned accordingly.

In regard to the service that you received there is an evident requirement for some immediate re-training and this will be put into place within the relevant areas of the hotel by our Departmental Managers.

In regard to the problems you encountered with your key, we will be liaising with our contractors to have this problem resolved accordingly.

We will also take on board your comments regarding the internet and this is certainly something that can be considered for change in the foreseeable future.

It is disappointing that your visit has been spoilt and we truly hope that you will reconsider staying with us at some time in the not too distant future in order that we may have the opportunity to restore your faith in the hotel together with the service and hospitality that we do pride ourselves in.

Once again thank on behalf of the Copthorne Hotel Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2010

We arrived at the hotel and showed the male receptionist our hotel voucher from our travel agent. He looked at us blankly and asked who we booked the hotel with. We told him the name of our travel agent and he didn't know them....obviouslt seeing as we were Irish.
He could not find the booking as our name had been put in wrong on the system. When I asked what was wrong he just shook his head and said nothing. We were left confused because he never said what was wrong. While he was looking on the screen for the booking my husband could see it from outside the desk and when he pointed it out to the receptionist the receptionist just shrugged and handed out the form to sign. It seemed to be an awful lot of hassle just to check in.

When we asked what the arrangements were for dinner that night in the restaurant we were told it was carvery at a reasonable price. We said did we need top book and the girl told us we didn't. When we went for dinner we were told we had to book it. We didnt have to wait that long so we didn't mind.
Dinner was adequate but then we were charged £60 for it which was far from reasonable. The price we were told was set due to non- residents coming in for the match that night. This bill really put a dampner on our night.

There was very little room in the bar that seated approx 25. Bar staff were pleasant enough for the most part.
We enquired about Old Trafford and a lovely girl said if we went to see her in the morning she would sort us out. We didnt see her the next morning. There seemed to be more hassle for other people checking in so we had to wait for ages. When I did get to the desk a very rude woman said she didn't know anything about Old Trafford and that we could just walk over and sort it out ourselves. Now this really took the biscuit altogether as we were probably one of a few hotels closest to the grounds.
We got poor directions from her and walked over.

As for other help they were slow to help out. There was no local information in the room as to how we should get to the city centre or the well advertised shopping centres in Manchester. It was a case of fending for ourselves more or less.

Cleanliness was debatable. The bathroom was clean in the hotel as far as we could see and the shower was good quality. The valance sheet on the bed was stained and the furniture was of a poor quality. Menus were limited as you could get similar in the bar and at a lower price.

THe curtains in the breakfast area were covered in dust.

Overall the bed was comfortable and the shower worked but these were the two highlights of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copthorne_Manchester, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, May 5, 2010
Dear Guest

On behalf of the Copthorne Hotel Manchester we wanted to thank you for taking the time to write your review on the hotel following your recent visit with us, and in the first instance we would ask you to accept our sincere apologies for the unsatisfactory experience you quite obviously had.

From the commencement of your check-in it is evident that there is a re-training issue required in this area and we can assure you that this will be addressed accordingly. There can be no excuses made for the manner in which your further enquiries were dealt with and we can assure you none will be accepted, except to say that this is certainly not indicative of the high standards of service and hospitality that we do pride ourselves in.

Additionally, there are indeed some Housekeeping issues that further need to be addressed, and again these matters will be actioned accordingly within the hotel.

We are truly disappointed that your stay with us has left you with a less than favourable memory of your visit and we do sincerely hope that you will reconsider visiting us again in the not too distant future, at which time we may have the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel and the services we provide.

Once again our sincere apologies and thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.1 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Quays Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
0.3 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Old Trafford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Manchester

Property: Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Address: Clippers Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3SN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Salford
Copthorne Hotel Manchester Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing