We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, with a fab breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Salford
UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good hotel, with a fab breakfast”
Reviewed April 1, 2009

I was a little wary after reading some of the reviews on here, but I have to say that I was quite pleasently surprised.

The rooms was not huge, and the view was of a roof....BUT it was clean and warm and I had a week of good sleep.

The bar area/reception is really nice, and is nice to sit and chat in, or to use the complimentry wifi (only during hte afternoon...but if you get a card they last for 24hours anyway).

The best things about it were the location - realy close to the shopping centre, and just a few tramstops into central manchester.

The staff were friendly, courteous and helpful, and the breakfast was great..really nice and varied selection of foods, and you get to see the chef cooking it in front of you too.

I liked it very much.

A bit pricey, but given some of the crappy hotels I have stayed in recently with work, i'd be happy to pay the extra!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank impy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    417
    473
    267
    166
See reviews for
136
556
74
414
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yateley
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Copthorne on Saturday for one night with my Niece and her Fiance. We arrive at 12pm and were allowed to check in. Reception staff were friendly and very helpful. We had a canal view room which was lovely. It is a standard room, nothing special, but it is clean, as is the bathroom (shower was amazing!).
The Tram is a 2 minute walk away, and takes you into the City Centre. Very easy and costs £2.20.
Our only complaint is the bar area. This is fairly small for the size of the hotel, and the staff were pretty useless, with us having to wait around for about 10 minutes to get served. We stayed when there wasn't a match at Old Trafford (this is about a 10 minute walk away), so we don't know if this makes a difference.
There is a couple of restaurants nearby within easy walking distance. We had dinner in Frankie & Bennys which was really nice.
We booked through last minute.com as room only (£67), but we also had breakfast the next morning without being charged so this was a bonus. (They didn't take our room number when we entered the restaurant and weren't asked about it when we checked out).
Overall, we would be happy to go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyHolidayers25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2009

In my opinion there is little not to like about this hotel. Ok it's outside the city centre, but there is a tram stop nearby and the convience of an onsite carpark, (not to mention the cost) compensates for this. The resturant serves good order to table food and the room decor etc is fine. A word to the wise about the views claimed. Banish from your mind all thoughts of a city scape if you take a 'city view' room. What I think they mean is a view in the direction of the city. The actual view is of the hotel carpark an office block and garage. Also be wary of the 'fabulous' Salford Quays view. Yosemite is fabulous, so is the Hong Kong skyline, Salford Quays, is not unagreeable but, well make up your own mind!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philsmith777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

This hotel is quite dated in its decor in the main communal areas and could do with a makeover! However it was directly across the road from a tram stop which took 10mins into the city centre so it made it a cheaper otion than staying really central. It was also a quiet location, but too far (1.8miles) outside of the city to really walk (in heels!!).

The room was quite basic, but the bed was extremely large and comfortable. Staff were helpful and let us check in slightly early which was a bonus.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2009

My mother in law booked this hotel a few weeks before we were due to stay there. Most other central hotels were already booked so we ended up out in Salford. The staff were friendly when we arrived although it did seem to take a while. The room was attractive enough but the bathroom was pretty shocking. Our room overlooked the car park and busy main road. There was glazing but we could still hear it. Take earplugs if you're sensitive to noise!

We paid about £200 for 1 night, 2 people in a double room. And I was completely shocked that that did not include breakfast! This was hugely overpriced. I have stayed in lots of fab hotels across the UK that do not charge anywhere near this amount and would include breakfast as a matter of course.

Its an ok hotel that seemed to be popular with upmarket hen and stag parties but not suitable for a nice getaway or anything and certainly not value for money.

  • Liked — spaciousness of room
  • Disliked — the bathroom - really let the decor down
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank trainergirlK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salford hotels

Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2008

Stayed here with 5 colleagues on a business trip. The hotel is easy to find and has a large car park. The rooms were clean and had the usual fixtures and fittings. However, we did find the rooms very warm and without air con a little uncomfortable. Opening the window didn’t help.

  • Liked — Easy to find
  • Disliked — The heat
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nik2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumbria
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2008

Arrived on a cold November evening. Helpful reception staff and a clean, warm and comfortable room.
Leaving early the next morning, the nearby tram whisked us into the city centre in no time at all.

  • Liked — Friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Noisy heating system
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anagallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
0.1 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Manchester

Property: Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Address: Clippers Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3SN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Salford
Copthorne Hotel Manchester Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing