We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Staying for one night room was £54 so reasonably priced.

Room is rather dated and could do with renovation especially the toilet and the cupboard door was a bit wonky.

Hotels.com rates this as a four star, but I think that's rather generous.

Location is ok - Trafford centre is near by.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarlawuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim C, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel.
Your comments about the hotel room needing renovation are well made and I am pleased to confirm that over the next 12 months the hotel is to receive significant capital investment in both the rooms and public areas.
I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel again.

Kind regards

Tim Cadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    412
    472
    261
    165
See reviews for
134
551
72
409
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We spent 3 nights in the Copthorne last week - checked in on a Thursday and out on Sunday for a mix of business and pleasure - Had a fantastic stay. Room was clean and well appointed with a fantastic view of Salford Quays. The staff were excellent and very helpful and there was ample parking (even on a Friday night)

The hotel is close to local restaurants and a 3 minute walk from 2 metro stations. Have already rebooked for our next trip to Manchester.

My only slight criticism is that the restaurant menu is a bit limited. It's based on a "chophouse/carvery" type idea, I would prefer a hotel restaurant to be more about general "good food" rather than themed.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the quays
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinnor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Good hotel for visiting Manchester with a large free car park and the tram stop very close. All staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was fine with a decent bed. However, we stayed 2 nights and the room wasn't serviced for the second night. The staff responded well to that with a complimentary drink in the bar whilst they did it. The bar is very poor, no atmosphere with poor décor and seating, but the staff are good.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the dock for peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malc1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Good sized, clean rooms with comfy beds. However, the decor is pretty old fashioned (was peach and blue ever in vogue?!) and some things weren't working. For instance, only 2 channels on the TV worked, the curtains barely closed and the lack of temperature controls meant an open window and some traffic noise overnight. Just okay for me, didn't quite make the 'very good' category.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim C, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel on Trip Advisor.

I have made a note about the TV channels not working and the issues with the temperature conrols and I will ensure that these are looked into as a matter of urgency.

With regards to the decor, I appreciate that it is tired however I am pleased to confirm that over the next twelve months the hotel is going to see significant investment in both bedrooms and public areas.

Thanks again for your comments.

Regards

Tim Cadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

When we arrived at the hotel we were pleased to find the large, free, carpark. We checked in and the staff were very friendly.

Our room was nice and all the facilities you would expect, we're available. It was very clean and the bed was comfortable.
As other people have said, the decor in the rooms is very dated. But, I was impressed with the cleanliness so the actual decor didn't bother me very much.
The tv system was a little confusing as the remote control was very used and the wording on the buttons had been rubbed off! We weren't there to watch tv anyway, so it really wasn't worth complaining about!
The location is fantastic, a metro link stop is across the road, in nicer weather you could walk to the lowry or media city. The tram was less than £2 per person (return) to mediacity.

We booked the hotel through a third party and the booking hadn't included breakfast. When we checked in, we asked about breakfast and we're told it would be £11 but "buy one, get one free" if we booked that evening. £11 each if we decided in the morning. So we booked and we weren't disappointed!
The breakfast was fantastic. Everything you would expect and the extras (pastries, croissants, fresh fruit, cheese and meats, and all delicious. Breakfast was buffet style (a chef freshly frying eggs) with hot drinks served at the table.

We paid approx £60 for a standard, double room.
We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pinkmilkchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Efficient check in by friendly staff. Good location in a quiet part of the quays, so had a good nights sleep in a comfy bed. Just a short walk to the amenities. Hotel was clean and room was a good size overlooking the quays. Shower was invigorating and nice toiletries.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a room overlooking the quays, it's a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaymate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Lovely Hotel inside out.

Receptionists were very polite. The room was great with a fantastic view. Sky sports 1/2/3 on the TV!

Bed is heavenly, and an armchair with leg rest is just what the doctor ordered. A cot, ready for my baby son to hit the hay.

The location is perfect and within a nice environment just minutes away from Trafford Centre, City Centre, Wilmslow Road etc.

Booked in short notice and at a good price!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SyedKazimHussain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
0.1 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
0.4 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Manchester

Property: Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Address: Clippers Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3SN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Salford
Copthorne Hotel Manchester Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing