We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plopthorne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

My husband booked this for him and I. And we expected for a 4* that it would be quite decent! However apart from the nice entrance everything else was appalling. Firstly my card got declined and they looked at me as if I had no funds when in fact it was their machine not working (as I tried my card elsewhere and it was fine!). Then when we got to our room we found we were in a twin room instead of a double as we had booked! My husband requested for a change and they said they were fully booked and we may be able to change the next day! The bathroom was standard, even a 3* has better! And it had a distinct smell. The mattress was so hard that I didn't sleep very well that night at all. The next day we were given an upgrade to a double room. We were so excited and hoping the experience would improve there! However when we got there the toilet had a plop of poo in it and it was smeared round the toilet! It was sickening! There was a distinct urine smell in the bathroom, clearly not cleaned very well! We didn't want to complain so we stayed there! The mattress was much better though!

Would I stay there again? No!
Would I recommend it? No!

The only good thing was the location, I will be looking for something closely there but never there! Awful experience. It was a good thing we didn't stay in the hotel much as it would have put a downer on our weekend away!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Salma123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

854 - 860 of 1,537 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

This hotel is conveniently situated for the Salford Quays, the Lowry Theatre and Outlet Mall
as well as Manchester United. There is a large free car park and a Metro stop nearby so access to Central Manchester is easy. Media City is a fifteen minute walk away as is the Imperial War Museum. Quay View rooms are very nice and we found the only sounds waking us were the geese on the canals.
Breakfast was excellent and he staff very friendly. We've stayed before and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Try for a Quay View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne4900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

My usual hotel while working in Manchester. Staff are lovely and great customer service. Tonight Shane brought room service and often Lynn, both lovely ! Nothing is too much trouble! Makes staying away from home and arrival at a hotel after a long hard day much more enjoyable. Well done all !

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank Ali J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

had a lovely couple of nights at the copthorne hotel Manchester. The room was airey and bright with a lovely view of the quay. Staff were friendly and the breakfast was a real treat. All in all for a 4star hotel and the price we paid we were very pleasantly pleased and will defo be paying another vist in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Just as reviews on this page regarding the hotel looking "tired"--however the staff were good/friendly and helpful, however this is the the fourth time we have stayed here and we enjoy the area.Would be nice next time to see some improvements without a large price hike!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JG242014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Although a little dated in it's decor, the room was very spacious, free parking directly outside, so could see car from window.
Nice and clean, big comfy bed and nice bathroom.
Other than a bit old fashioned looking. I would return and use again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Bedroom could do with a makeover, carpet was threadbare and bathroom tired looking. Staff were pleasant and location was good, excellent transport links. We were woken through the night on second night by an alarm going off but reception knew nothing about it.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a double overlooking the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 335Jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
0.1 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.3 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Manchester

Address: Clippers Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3SN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salford
Price Range: $76 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Salford
Copthorne Hotel Manchester Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing