We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time for a refurb.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Location was great and the view from our room on the 4th floor overlooking the wayter was lovely. The room though was quite sad. The carpet was worn through to the canvas in many places and the furniture was quite elderly and well battered. It was more like 60s DIY - wardrobe doors being sliding, very heavy chipboard.

Food at breakfast was fine for the full english. If you wanted continental though you would be unhappy. Fruit there was, but only 1 meat ( sliced ham), 1 sliced cheese and bread was brown or white supermarket sliced. We asked for the Clippers Brasserie ("British & International", "warm & Inviting decor", "extensive a la carte menu") as advertised on the hotel website as well as on the hotel information displayed on the TV in the room. Staff didn't seem to know what we were talking about and could only point to what presumably had been the Clippers Bar eating area and renamed. Did eventually discover what used to be the Brasserie but now seems to be a meeting room. Didn't dine in. Menu distinctly average and certainly not extensive.

The Hotel served iots purppose as a base for us for a couple of days but it definitely isn't 4 star - more like 2 star. Management needs to get a grip, spruce the place up and re-do its website and information. There was no local information in our room, just a booklet entirely in chinese. Reception had nothing like that in English and there was no rack in reception with local leaflets as found in most hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

939 - 945 of 1,602 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014

Had a conference here last week and the whole event was catered for superbly! The food was incredible, the service was better than anywhere else I have been and the facilities were perfect! I couldn't have wished for a better place to go. Thank you to everyone there on Thursday 23rd.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank Jlk73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I was a bit worried having read some of the reviews but for a one night stop it was fine. Stayed mid Jan in a twin room, location great for the tram and Old Trafford.

We arrived on a Man Utd home game day, so after being 'checked into' the car park as non gate crashers we proceeded into the modern reception area. Surprisingly, we were the only one's in the queue....hooray! However, and despite this good fortune, the Receptionist (small blonde lady) ignored us and continued to chat with a colleague behind the counter for about a minute. She was very abrupt and we were not welcomed to the hotel, or offered a newspaper for the morning or if we would like Wifi in our room. Basic stuff really and I don't like being ignored...I am the customer after all. The person on the front desk is the representative for the hotel and Company, so they should be the best.

That was really the only grumble of our stay. Our twin room was clean but outdated in appearance. Beds very comfy, tea and coffee available. The bar area was busy with Utd fans and beer was around £4 a pint. Breakfast was plentiful and the staff in the restaurant were really nice and friendly, a real credit...maybe they should be Receptionists! Check out was slick and pleasant and we were wished a safe journey...different lady obviously.

Overall a good stay let down by disinterested receptionist on arrival. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B747_Heavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Arrived at the hotel at midday , was offered the room straight away. Room was tired, but i was not expecting much for the money i had paid. Breakfast was a fair selection. Staff were polite and friendly.
Location was good with free parking ,only a short ride on the tram.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 171Joanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

There is a reason a hotel costs £32 a night.... The walls/ceilings are paper thing. I could here the movement of most rooms a round me. I could hear people peeing, showering, and the 6am drilling just about finished me off. I don't mind a retro hotel room, however the noise was rather painful if you are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel if you are a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redandbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Six of us stayed for the weekend at the Copthorne Hotel in Salford Quays and found the hotel located superbly for the Lowry Theatre and Manchester City Centre. We were allocated rooms next to each other which was useful and found them to be comfortable with lots of room. The breakfast was delicious, hot and plentiful. All the staff in the hotel where friendly, professional and extremely helpful.

Room Tip: The quayside rooms offer an excellent view over Clipper Quay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank up0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stayed for 1 night and the hotel was adequate for my requirements. Service by FOH and room service delivery was excellent. Food was good, no complaints. It looks as thoughb the rooms have been kept to a good standard but it does feel dated and it need of some new furniture. I use the Copthorne at Bramall Lane and as it a much newer hotel is far better by comparison. However, I would stay at the Salford hotel again for business.

Room Tip: Ask for acroom dacing the Quays. My view was the hotel car park and a main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChippyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
0.1 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
0.3 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Manchester

Address: Clippers Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salford
Price Range: $64 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Salford
Copthorne Hotel Manchester Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing