We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed with the service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I had booked a Proseco afternoon tea at the Copthone Hotel to have just before the football match. Traffic was very bad and, although I had managed to call the hotel and warn them we were going to be an hour late, we ended up over two hours late! We were so late the hotel was now serving dinners!

When we arrived we thought hopefully we could at least have our bottle of Proseco. Well, we could not have been greeted better. We were told the table was all ready for us and they certainly would never let us down by not serving us when we were running late. The service right through was amazing. From being very tense when we arrived we were soon relaxed and ready for our weekend away - a second bottle of Proseco probably helped too!

We cannot thank the staff here enough for their amazing hospitality - the afternoon tea was lovely too (my husband totally raved about the cake, and he has not generally got a sweet tooth).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,070 - 1,076 of 1,626 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

After booking this hotel and then reading the negative views on Trip Advisor, I was extremely worried about my weekend away. I have to say that I found all the negativity totally unfounded. The reception staff were more than accommodating with my request for a quiet room overlooking the Quay and we were allocated a room on the 4th floor towards the end of the block. Yes the carpet was in need of replacement, but the room was clean with all the required facilities. To be honest we do not like air conditioning as it gets too cold in the room, however there was more than adequate fresh air from the 4 windows in the room. What needs to be taken into consideration is the cost of the room and the included amenities such as toiletries, tea & coffee facilities in the room, car parking and breakfast. All of these would have been extra at any of the nearby hotels. The breakfast was excellent and all the hotel staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. I would not hesitate in going back to this hotel, it was extremely good value. Visited 9/10 August.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mortat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I was there for 5 days of cricket. Billed as a 4 star I would give it 2 1/2 at best. No. air con, very old carpet etc in room, food ok and slow reception. Note that the staff are wonderful, very friendly but it appears there are not enough on duty. If your there for the cricket or soccer it's ok otherwise head somewhere closer to town.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Morgan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The great thing about this hotel is its location - it's a 15 minute walk from either Old Trafford - football or cricket. But don't be drawn in. This is not a very good hotel. We arrived to find a half drunk bottle of wine outside our room and a small flood in the window sill inside. We were quickly moved to an adjacent room (and the guy who did this for us had the sense to remove all the empties from along the passage). The decor in both rooms was tired - carpet worn through to the backing, furniture chipped. But worse it was hot - very hot. There is no air conditioning and the rooms are hinged at the bottom allowing an opening of less than 6 inches. This prevents you falling or jumping out - and also prevents any significant circulation of air from the outside. So for 3 nights we sweltered. Breakfast was adequate, staff were willing. But if the owners don't think it's worth investing in this property, why should we?

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaPaYoYoKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Noisy, small bed and way over priced. The bedroom was like a greenhouse there was no aircon and the windows wouldn't open. We phoned or a fan, waited nearly two hours and gave up. The breakfast was superb, the staff were incredibly friendly but if a hotel wants to market itself as top end then we think it should provide the facilities. £40 or £50, ok, particularly in winter, but not the price we paid and certainly not in summer when the rooms are stifling.

Room Tip: Don't go in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

4 star hotel. Who are you kidding? Great location. I stayed here for the cricket at old Trafford which was only 10 min walk away. Was greeted by a nice lady on reception but overall you look around and think how outdated this hotel is. However, it was clean and the outlook at the back is great, overlooking the quay. But then I arrived at my room. Dated? Tired! In need of a coat of paint and modernisation. Big open windows which people can see into unless you close the heavy curtains. Bathroom was dirty and in desperate need of a refit. And, NO AIR CON. Come on guys. A 4 star hotel with no air con? Are you joking? Being a hot day I opened the window. Very noisy from the traffic outside. So a hot sticky night with constant nose of the traffic and other guests arriving back from a night out. And the price? Well, it's 4 star prices at a 2 star hotel. I will not be staying here again until it gets a refit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

expensive for what you get, lack of info, no welcome pack in the room to show you anything of the hotel or local life only a room service menu, odd despite two restaurants downstairs??? carpet in need of a change and so is the room, outdated, poor considering their reputation....... never again, maybe a nice place if the rooms where updated, there was trays of food left in the corridors, however the staff were nice and friendly ( reception ), view from room good, not like it counts, bed was ok, but had enough come fourth night, overall I would say its ok but not great for a company that prides its self on posh

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asw1asw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
0.1 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Manchester

Address: Clippers Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salford
Price Range: $74 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Salford
Copthorne Hotel Manchester Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing