We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed here 3 nights on business in December, usually I stay at Holiday Inn Media City (which is superb) however no room at the Inn in December! so was offered the Copthorne at Salford Quays.
Big Mistake in accepting this offer.
Read recent reviews and requested views of quays room. Was then told it would cost me extra £25.00 per night to upgrade, decided to do this to club room. This was the first club room I have ever stayed in that had a thread bare carpet all the way enroute to the bathroom.
The room itself was warm and overall clean, but the TV and the room itself was very dated!
I ordered room service on day 2 and it arrived 'uncovered' and the soup was cold after the person who delivered the food made 4 different trips to the room to deliver the forgotten drink and remove the cold soup' I finally put the 'do not disturb' sign on the door as it was 9pm by now. I ordered a room service the next night (but could have done with a hot meal as it was -2 that night!) the food came the chips and meal was cold but I could not be bothered to complain again!
I commented on all of this to the receptionist on duty the next evening and she said I should of complained, however when you are out at 8am and not back till late as working; you are not inclined to comment any further!
Needless to say when I next visit Manchester on business I will ensure I book early and I will not be staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWFUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,124 - 1,130 of 1,538 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

I spent the weekend here with my girlfriend and we got just what we wanted. Nice room, which was very clean and spacious with a good view of the quays. Great location too, very close to the centre of manchester and walking distance from the war museum, cinema, mall and places to drink. I met a few members of staff and all were very friendly, would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnthonyW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Staff lovely. Rooms v dated. Tv remote control so old all print had come off buttons so it was a guessing game for using the huge ancient bulky tv. Furniture v tired & shabby as was the bathroom. Sink leaked, was v old. Got mvd immediately but next room as tired and dated as first. Restaurant menu stated home made burger with relish, cheese and hat cut chips but what came was v dry basic burger, bits of bone in, scrape of relish on dry ciabatta, tiny thin bit of cheese, soggy tomato slice, limp half lettuce leaf. No side salad and the chips were scraps of v v v dry mass produced frozen chips. A disgrace for £12!!!! Booked twin club rm but only one gown, one pair slippers and were told thats all you get!!!! Excellent housekeeper helped out finding more but a disgrace that you have to ask. Do they expect you to share!!! The towels were hard and the gowns weren clicked, old and v rough. No way should this be 4* v v disappointed

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maufant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed here for a night and can highly recommend it from a value for money perspective. Room was clean, large and the bathroom was clean too. Friendly staff and the bar served decent beer. What more do you want?

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
Thank Matthijs K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I suppose that as we just wanted a bed for the night , coming in late and getting. off relatively early , this ticked the boxes . it was efficient , impersonal , clean , bright , no personality whatsoever but never the less for that , it was fine for what we needed . we booked on booking .com and got a great deal so weren't inclined to complain about anything . But disconcerting to be given the disabled room , bells , alarms , grab rails etc everywhere but as my husband kept saying " it's fine , it was 22 quid each plus VAT !" could have been worse !

Room Tip: maybe tell them you not need special rails etc ....fab if you do tho !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank croaghdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

For a 4* hotel on Salford Quays the room was very tired and in need of modernising. On the plus side the staff were friendly and helpful. The bar had a good atmosphere and breakfast was reasonable. The fact that it is so close to Old Trafford makes it a natural choice if travelling up for a match but there are budget hotels nearby that would probably have better accommodation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Like many people staying at this hotel, we did so because if its close proximity to old Trafford stadium. Unfortunately, the lasting memory was of out dated rooms and no free WiFi. Which, for a large chain hotel company is inexcusable.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silver_back16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
0.1 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.3 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Manchester

Address: Clippers Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3SN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salford
Price Range: $76 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Salford
Copthorne Hotel Manchester Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing