We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Really Good HI Express”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is the second HI Express I have frequented in the last month (see review of Kettering). It ranks behind the former, but only just. Consistent standards make this group easy to use and the location of this establishment gives it added attraction. The Quays is on the river and offers a broad range of eating and entertainment options, without being so close as to experience the hustle, bustle and noise that usually accompanies those advantages. It is also a short cab ride from the Piccadilly train station that serves airport commuters. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The bathroom up to standard with good-sized towels and the breakfast is great. I found the staff efficient more than friendly and repeat my dislike of liquid soap dispensers in favour of a solid piece of soap.
There were two glitches of maintenance - a bin whose foot pedal did not open the lid and an ice machine near reception that was out of service, but the ice problem was accommodated with supplies from the bar and I was only there one night so left the bin issue behind on the comment card. As with all the HIE hotels, free WiFi is available throughout.
Convenient and good value are enough reasons to go back. Next time I'm in Manchester, I probably will.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ratfink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGM_Salford, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I’m pleased you had a good stay here and our enjoying the ‘Express Brand’ remember that we offer our best rates on our website.
I’m sorry about the maintenance issues but thank you for bringing them to our attention – both of which have now been resolved.
I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Tom
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,086)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

512 - 518 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2014

Arrived at this beautiful location on the 21st of July after cycling from Holiday Inn Express Stoke-On-Trent.

The location is fantastic and the staff are very friendly. Our bikes were stored in the back office so we had peace of mind that they were in a safe place over night. The rooms are super clean and the breakfast is just what we needed. WIFI is free and local bars and food outlets near by.

will be stopping here again as its a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leewosika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGM_Salford, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for great feedback. I’m pleased you had a good stay. Although I’m surprised you had time to see the local bars and food outlets after cycling from Stoke! I hope you arrived in Leeds safely.
I look forward to seeing you on your next trip/cycle to Manchester!
Kind Regards,

Tom
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We had booked a room for our return from holiday as we live in Scotland and didn't want to drive after a long journey from Thassos . And we were glad we did as we were met with a warm welcome at reception and were quickly in our room, which we found to be more than adequate.

After 2 weeks of trying to sleep on a very hard bed, it was a godsend to find that the bed & pillows were very comfortable. And after a good nights sleep and feeling refreshed we enjoyed a good breakfast with a good selection of hot and cold dishes to choose from.

Throughout our stay we found all the staff to be friendly and helpful and would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a comfortable stay in manchester,

We booked a saver rate at £44 for two adults and a child and think this was very good value.
In fact we shall be booking again for our next trip from Manchester airport.

Well done to all the staff !

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mclairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGM_Salford, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your wonderful comments. It’s great to hear you had an enjoyable stay and took advantage of our ‘Saver Rate’ which like all of our rates at Holiday Inn Express includes our ‘Express Start Breakfast’
Im glad to hear you will be staying again; I look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Tom
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Good value weekend visit, rooms clean as as expected for HIE offering. Problem with air-con was fixed promptly with a free drink to compensate. Good brekkie as always.

Hotel is located in Salford Quays. Options for eating a few minutes walk away at Media City. Great location for War Museum and Old Trafford a stones throw away. Metrolink nearby and 15mins to City Centre.

On check in staff need to ask for IHG rewards number and also be careful not to be overheard chatting. Whilst I overheard a comment about 'fawlty towers' and found this funny, other guests are not going to!

Hotel does exactly what HIE chain sets out to do and good visit.

Ask for a dock view, otherwise it's the car-park (but you can see old Trafford)

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank SthLondonTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGM_Salford, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Thank you for talking the time to leave your comments, Its great to hear that you took full advantage of our very competitive prices and our fantastic location.
Thank you for telling us about the problem with the air-con unit, we will do whatever we can to make any issue right. I'm pleased you were satisfied on how this was handled.
We are defiantly not 'faulty towers' - I will be investigating the 'chatting' in more detail.
Once again thank you for your comments, I look forward to seeing you at the hotel again soon!
Kind Regards,

Tom
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Dear all travellers, families and graduation parties. Please be advised if you have the misfortune to be located on the 6th or top floor you will hear the rooftop mechanical plant / chillers and air handling units all through the night. I am a heavy sleeper and this noise kept me awake all night. Whilst we were relocated at 3am the damage and total loss of sleep had been done. If you have a graduation or function or business mtg to attend stay away from everything to do at level 6. Terrible.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Andrew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGM_Salford, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback and comments.

At Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays it's important that we not only know when things have gone right and a guest has had a good stay, but also when things sadly don’t meet our normally high standards.

I am sorry that you encountered noise issues. Our team have passed on comments in relation to this and we have worked on its resolution.

Thank you once again,

Regards,

Tom
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed for 1 night on Sat 12 July. Check-in was quick & easy & staff friendly. Twin room on 6th floor, small but clean with everything you need. Shower not the best, not very powerful & quite cold. We were out all day, got back about 1.00 am, the bar seemed busy but we went straight to bed. Could not sleep though as lots of noise in the corridor, lots of banging on doors & slamming doors. After half hour of this I phoned down to reception & they sent somebody up to check. Reception then phoned me to say they could not see anybody. After about an hour we finally hog to sleep. At breakfast the reception staff apologised for the noise, although it was not their fault. They said there were 2 hen parties on our floor so a tip, try not to stay on the 6th floor if u want a quiet night. I guess the twin rooms are on 6th floor so u will get same sex groups up there. Could not fault breakfast and staff so will return, but not on 6th floor!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGM_Salford, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Thank you for your comments. I'm pleased that your check-in, bedroom and our breakfast (which is included for all guests) was to your satisfaction.
I'm sorry to hear about the disturbance during the night and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We were talking about this and have a new in place on allocating rooms to hopefully stop this happening in the future.
Thanks again, I look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Manchester.
Kind Regards,

Tom
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed one night whilst on business. Welcome was good on check-in, however, issues with company credit card, sorted by the morning.
Room was good with lovely view of quay - bed and pillows very comfy- good shower facilities.
Breakfast was adequat -cereals, fruit, pastries, yoghurt, however, rubbery scrambled egg and only sausage and beans for a hot breakfast?
Would stay again on business not necessary for pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alwaystravelling03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGM_Salford, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on your recent stay with us. I'm pleased that your room was comfortable.
Breakfast at Holiday Inn Express is included for all guests and is an continental style with 5 types of cereal, grapefruit segments, fresh fruit, 2 types of fruit yogurt, natural yogurt, croissants, brown and white toast, sliced Emmental cheese, jams/marmalade muffins, tea/coffee and hot choice of scrambled eggs, sausage and baked beans so although there's only 3 hot items, there's still plenty of choice!
Once again thank you for your comments.
Kind Regards,

Tom
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
0.3 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
0.4 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays

Address: Waterfront Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3XW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Price Range: $65 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays. This Manchester hotel is located in thriving Salford Quays, surrounded by the water & history of the Manchester Ship Canal & within 1 mile of Manchester United Football Club (Old Trafford), the Lowry Theatre & the Imperial War Museum. This superb location ensures that Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays is the perfect choice whether travelling on business or pleasure. Manchester city centre is easily accessible and offers a wealth of entertainment venues and shopping including the MEN Arena and Printworks. Our hotel in Manchester is designed to provide consistent value for money & our rates are inclusive of a tasty continental and hot breakfast which is served in the comfort of our Great Room lounge where you can also enjoy free WiFi. In addition, guests also benefit from secure car parking (£4.00 per night/per car). Our air conditioned guestrooms feature an en suite power shower, 32-inch TVs with Freeview, free Wi-Fi, & tea/coffee facilities. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults & 2 children under 12. Additional hotel facilities include a fully licensed bar, meeting facilities & a 24-hour Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, IHG, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Hotel Manchester
Holiday Inn Manchester
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing