We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staff make this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2014

myself and my mother stayed here recently for a united game ! this is our second time stayin here as we found the hotel percect! perfect location, perfect staff, perfect room, perfect perfect!! i think that front desk lady stephanie deserves a mention as she couldnt do enough to assist us! breakfast staff were frindly and efficient too

Room Tip: try not to get near the lift but that goes withour saying
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomadchicklet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Salford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Nomadchicklet,

Wow, thank you very much for your review!

I was overjoyed to read that you had a fantastic stay with us, and that you mentioned our staff, in particular Stephanie. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the team, as I know they will be over the moon with your feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Many Thanks

David
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,077)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

564 - 570 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

No restaurant so had to buy an overpriced sandwich from snack area. Take away menus available but a lot when staying alone. No bath in room only shower which is a massive disappointment for me. Very comfortable bed though and got a decent nights sleep. Staff friendly. Expensive for what you get!

Room Tip: All the same apparently
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KDZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Salford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear KDZ,

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay, and sharing with us your thoughts.

Unfortunately we do not have a restaurant on site, as there are numerous restaurants within a short walk from the hotel, and therefore unfortunately there has always been a lack of demand to offer this facility. We have however managed to put agreements in place with several local restaurants who offer our residents between 10-20% off their food bills.

I am pleased that you found our beds to be comfortable and the staff to be friendly, and I will certainly share your feedback with the rest of the team.

Many Thanks

David
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed here for one (Friday) night in January to attend the Lowry Theatre. It is the nearest hotel to the Lowry Theatre, just across a bridge over the quays and through the shopping mall.
On check-in, the receptionist was very helpful and friendly. The room was very nice, clean and roomy. There was a double bed, settee, desk/dressing table, kettle etc. I could complain that there was not enough tea bags/coffee/milk but I always take extra with me!
I had requested a waterfront view which we got. Our room was at the end of the corridor away from the lift so was nice and quiet also.
Breakfast was a little disappointing. The hot selection was sausage, baked beans and rubbery scrambled eggs. The fresh fruit platter consisted of one lonely Satsuma. It was never replenished while we were there. There were however, plenty of alternatives to fill up on: bread rolls, croissants, toast, yoghurts. I know you get what you pay for but in my opinion, a cooked breakfast is NOT complete without bacon!!
Having said that, we would stay again, the hotel was well placed, well priced and fairly easy to find even though the sat nav took us to an office block at the other side of the quays. Luckily I had a rough idea of where it was so managed to find it.
There was plenty of parking outside, £3 for over 24 hours. We asked the following day if we needed to move the car after we checked out but were able to leave it there while we went off to explore the Imperial War Museum North and Media City.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Salford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Nicola D,

Thank you very much for sharing with us the experience you had during your recent stay.

I was pleased to read, that you found our location to be perfect for your weekend away at the Lowry Theatre, and that you also highlighted the friendliness of our staff.

I was disappointed to read of your breakfast experience, and I will of course raise the points that you have brought up with the team, to ensure that items such as the fruit are replensihed quickly, and that the hot items stay fresh.

I do hope that should you come back to the area, we are able to serve you once again.

Many Thanks

David
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My father and I stayed here for one night while on business in Manchester. Firstly the hotel is conveniently located in Salford Quays and close to some nice restaurants and the Imperial War Museum.

The check in staff were uber efficient and very friendly. The rooms were of a high standard, very clean and kitted out with all sorts of tech.

The bed was comfortable and I had a great sleep. However the noise at the car park part of hotel was really loud in the early morning. Bin lorries, other annoying things to wake you up. Room was also very warm and I had to keep adjusting aircon.

Breakfast was pretty good, with a nice range of hot and cold food, yogurts, fruits and cereals. Tea, coffee and OJ also very good.

Overall a very comfortable stay and great value for money.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank Ruggedadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Salford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Kinlay F,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to see that you highlighted the friendliness of our staff and our breakfast. I will pass this on to the rest of the team, as they always appreciate feedback from our guests.

I do hope that should you come back to the area, we are able to serve you once more.

Many Thanks

David
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I'd been booked into the Holiday Inn Express as it was convenient to Media City where I had spent the day.

The hotel was clean and comfortable. Room was good - air-con was a bit noisy though (managed to find the 'Off' button).

Free Wifi was very good

Nice breakfast the following morning with a selection of hot and cold items.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Salford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Paul E

Thank you very much for sharing with us your feedback from your recent stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to be able to share such positive feedback with the rest of the team.

Many Thanks

David
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Only stayed here for one night whilst on location for work. It's a great hotel for a great price. You're only a short walk from the tram stop or Media City.
Rooms were small however clean and fine for sleeping in.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smclewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Salford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Smclewis

I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I will certainly share your feedback with the team, as I know they take delight in receiving feedback from our guests.

I do hope that should you return to the Salford area, you do not hesitate in staying with us again.

Many Thanks

David
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel is ideally situated for the Lowry Theatre (8 minutes walk) and the Outlet shopping centre opposite the theatre. There are a number of bars and restaurants on the Quay.
On site parking is £3, payable at reception and valid until midnight the following day. The reception staff were welcoming, helpful and friendly. We found an excellent advance rate for our double room and were pleased to find it clean, warm and comfortable. There was a choice of pillows on the bed, firm or soft which was a nice touch. The mattress was rather too firm for us but would suit some people. The bathroom was spotless and equipped with soap and shampoo from a dispenser. The air conditioner/heater is operated via a wall mounted control. I would have given this hotel five stars except - as with many corporate hotels (why IS this!) - there is no mirror above the dressing table and only one socket there, which is already in use for the kettle. It makes getting ready to go out very awkward. However there is a full length mirror which is a plus. There is a bar within the hotel which was very welcome after our evening at the Lowry. Breakfast, which was included in the rate, was very acceptable with a choice of either continental or cooked (sausages, beans and scrambled eggs). Free newspapers are available on reception.
All in all this was a very pleasant stay and it would always be our choice of hotel when visiting Salford.

Room Tip: Our top floor, end of corridor room was extremely quiet and peaceful.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Critchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Salford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Critchen,

Thank you so much for your indepth review of your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will personally share your feedback with the rest of the team.

I hope that should you come to the Manchester area again, we are able to accomodate you once again.

Many Thanks

David
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
0.3 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays

Address: Waterfront Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3XW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Price Range: $64 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays. This Manchester hotel is located in thriving Salford Quays, surrounded by the water & history of the Manchester Ship Canal & within 1 mile of Manchester United Football Club (Old Trafford), the Lowry Theatre & the Imperial War Museum. This superb location ensures that Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays is the perfect choice whether travelling on business or pleasure. Manchester city centre is easily accessible and offers a wealth of entertainment venues and shopping including the MEN Arena and Printworks. Our hotel in Manchester is designed to provide consistent value for money & our rates are inclusive of a tasty continental and hot breakfast which is served in the comfort of our Great Room lounge where you can also enjoy free WiFi. In addition, guests also benefit from secure car parking (£4.00 per night/per car). Our air conditioned guestrooms feature an en suite power shower, 32-inch TVs with Freeview, free Wi-Fi, & tea/coffee facilities. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults & 2 children under 12. Additional hotel facilities include a fully licensed bar, meeting facilities & a 24-hour Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, IHG, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Hotel Manchester
Holiday Inn Manchester
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing