We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, good location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Excellent value, good location and friendly staff”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights for a wedding nearby. Our choice was based on location and price - we basically picked the lowest priced offer in the Salford Quays area. We have not stayed at a Holiday In Express before, and were expecting it to be very basic.

We were pleasantly surprised by the waterside location, very reasonable onsite parking and nice view of the quays and waterfront from the rooms. It is within walking distance of The Lowry, and the stroll there is along a historical quayside.

We had also not realised that breakfast was included, which was a good bonus.

It was quiet and comfy, the aircon worked well and was nice & quiet, shower heated up quickly and had a good flow.

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We would certainly stay here again for the money (£73 for a double room for 2 nights incl. breakfast) which we thought was good value.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgiaExplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneOmahony, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Express - Manchester Salford Quays.

It was great to read that you had a good stay with us and that the hotel and facilities met all of your needs and expectations.

If you are visiting Manchester in the near future I hope that you will chose to stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Jane O'Mahony
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    480
    174
    38
    33
See reviews for
251
325
58
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I booked this hotel through the hospitality package from the official website of Manchester United. I needed to take a tram from the city centre of Manchester to Salford Quays. It takes around 10-15 minutes. The hotel decoration is simple, but you can just get what you need. The room is spacious. It takes around 15 minutes walking from the hotel to Old Trafford Stadium. The area around the hotel is very comfortable and worth take a walk if the weather is good. It's a good choice if you go to Manchester to watch the match of Manchester United.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazysoccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneOmahony, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your recent review following on from your stay at the Holiday Inn Express - Salford Quays Manchester.

I was pleased to read that the hotel met your needs and that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Kind regards,

Jane O'Mahony
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My sisters, Dad & I stayed here for one night in August 2013. It was easy to find (we drove from t'North) with a great car park. Only £3 for 24 hours. All the staff, without exception were friendly. In fact, I'm going to say it was the friendliest hotel I've ever stayed in (& I've been all over the world). The rooms were spotless; yes they are a little dated but so what? They were comfy, well appointed & I liked the hotel shower gel in the little dispenser, it smelled like coconut. Trams run every 10 minutes & the station is only a few minutes walk away; you're in the city in around 5 minutes. Every room has a great view of either the quays or Old Trafford ( best stadium in the world....). There are pubs/bars directly opposite and near the tram station. We ate in the Matchstick Man & it was nice. You can walk to Old Trafford in 15 mins & the Lowery centre in 10 mins. I can recommend both, very interesting & some of Lowery's loveliest work is at the centre, & it's free to get in. The FREE hotel breakfast was great, we all had sausage, egg & beans with lots of tea & toast & it was more than adequate. My sisters & I were highly amused (after a few bevies in the lovely little hotel bar) by the rather depressed sounding lift announcer. "The doors are closing" delivered in a sardonic, almost sarcastic tone was hilarious & reminded us of Holly (the original version) on Red Dwarf.

Room Tip: If you're a Man Utd fan, request a room overlooking the stadium. Rooms overlooking the quays are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneOmahony, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your recent review following on from your stay at the hotel.

I was pleased to read that you had a good stay with us and that the team were helpful and friendly.

The hotel is located in a great location of the Quays with plenty to do both in the day and evening.

It is always refreshing to read positive feedback so thank you for taking the time.

Kind regards,

Jane O'Mahony
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Having just returned from a 2 night stay with our 2 young sons,i felt the need to compliment all the staff.A lovely young man helped us on check in,even going to the trouble of informing me of what offers I qualified for as an IHG member! Later that same day he was of great help with tram and local information...he was real credit to the hotel. Our room 201 was very clean and although small for a family of 4,met our needs.
There a plenty of restaurants and bars that are very family friendly all within a few minutes walking distance.Media city is a great trip out and only a 10 minute walk away too.
All in all a great value family trip away. Could benefit from a price list for the small snack/drink facility near reception. The free breakfast is an added bonus and offers a pretty good selection.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojo19721818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneOmahony, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express - Manchester Salford Quays.

I was delighted to read that you had a great stay and that the team were helpful, friendly and informative.

It was also good to read that the hotel, facilities and location were ideal for your visit.

If you visit Manchester again I hope that you will choose the Holiday Inn Express.

Many thanks & kind regards,

Jane O'Mahony
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the OT test match which we were very conveniently located for. Having never been to Salford Quays before it really is a lovely place especially with such nice weather. A very quiet location and priced very well especially with the test match in town.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_HIEXP, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
I would like to thank you for your recent feedback after your stay at The Holiday Inn Express Salford Quays.

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and enjoyed the Quays.

On behalf of myself and the team we are glad that you had a good stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

With Thanks

Samantha
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I have stayed here a number of times in the past couple of years. My overall impression of this place is that it is a little dated, and that you need to get a good deal for it to be worth the money. Rooms are a little scruffy with basic furniture. The first time I stayed there was an epic stain on the carpet. Breakfast is good. A small choice of hot items, plenty of other bits to fill up on. Perhaps not the highest quality ingredients but certainly edible. Staff very friendly, in particular one lady who attends the dining area at breakfast. She has a big personality and makes you feel very welcome. I probably wouldn't stay again if I had the choice but if it's the only place you can get a room then it's just about acceptable.

Room Tip: Top floor away from the lifts for a quiet night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firegood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_HIEXP, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your recent review following on from your stay with us.

I was sorry to read of your disappointing experience with our rooms however I'm glad the breakfast staff made you feel welcome and I will pass on your comments to the team.

Whether we receive positive / negative reviews, we always use this information to improve our service and product.

With Thanks

Samantha
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The hotel is conveniently sited near Old Trafford football and cricket grounds and in the middle of a large 'quays' development. Very nice for a walk. A few restaurants and pubs are nearby but I never tried any of them, they didn't appeal to me. Instead, a drink and a pizza in the hotel was delivered quickly and was not bad.
The reception personnel were very good and assisted well with various questions etc.The room was airy, comfortable and with a good TV. The free Wi-Fi is brilliant.

Room Tip: The higher the better for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiefRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_HIEXP, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
I would like to thank you for your recent feedback after your stay at The Holiday Inn Express Salford Quays.

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the reception team were helpful and assisted you during your stay. Since the Wi Fi has gone free throughout the hotel we have had a positive response and i'm glad it met your needs.

On behalf of myself and the team we are glad that you had a good stay and look forward to weloming you back in the future.

With Thanks

Samantha
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
0.3 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
0.4 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Address: Waterfront Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3XW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays. This Manchester hotel is located in thriving Salford Quays, surrounded by the water & history of the Manchester Ship Canal & within 1 mile of Manchester United Football Club (Old Trafford), the Lowry Theatre & the Imperial War Museum. This superb location ensures that Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays is the perfect choice whether travelling on business or pleasure. Manchester city centre is easily accessible and offers a wealth of entertainment venues and shopping including the MEN Arena and Printworks. Our hotel in Manchester is designed to provide consistent value for money & our rates are inclusive of a tasty continental and hot breakfast which is served in the comfort of our Great Room lounge where you can also enjoy free WiFi. In addition, guests also benefit from secure car parking (£4.00 per night/per car). Our air conditioned guestrooms feature an en suite power shower, 32-inch TVs with Freeview, free Wi-Fi, & tea/coffee facilities. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults & 2 children under 12. Additional hotel facilities include a fully licensed bar, meeting facilities & a 24-hour Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Hotel Manchester
Holiday Inn Manchester
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing