We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here for just one night. This was our first visit to Manchester & to be honest this was much better than I expected. The area has obviously undergone huge investment & improvement over the past few years & is quite impressive.
The hotel is set right next to the water opposite a watersports centre. We stayed on the 6th floor which afforded a good view out over the water. The room was pretty much as you would expect, it was clean, tidy & functional although the bed was a bit small.
The location is quiet yet convenient for most things. It only took about 15-20mins to get here from the M6. The nearest tram stop is about a 5 minute walk & the Lowry outlet mall is also just a short walk away. If you're in Manchester to watch United play this would be a very convenient place to stay as you can see the stadium from the hotel.
We only had breakfast in the hotel which was fine if you get there early. The food selection is pretty good bearing in mind that they only offer a complimentry continental breakfast. The service area is small & can get very congested especially when people are waiting for toast as this leads to queues forming pretty quickly.
All in all this is a clean, tidy & functional hotel in a very convenient location.

Room Tip: Get down for breakfast early before the queues start forming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoPolo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneOmahony, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express - Manchester Salford Quays.

It was good to read that the hotel exceeded your expectations, the room you stayed in met your needs and that you were able to reach all of your locations with no hassle. We are close to the motorway and also tran links in ot teh city centre.

Breakfast consists of the continental offering plus a selection of hot options to choose from. We have incorporated branded items in to the selection such as Muller and Kelloggs and by doing this offering a selection of items to suit all.

Thank you for your feedback.

Regards,

Jane O'Mahony
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    465
    171
    38
    32
See reviews for
241
312
58
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here one night for Robbie Williams concert firstly too far away from Ethiad stadium trying to get a tram there on busy times no hope and took us 2 hours to return back to hotel ...although the staff at tram stations are very good at sorting out the crowds and run
it quite smoothly.The hotel was ok and rooms ok however 3 of us shared a room there was only 2 mugs and 3 teabags so we only could have one drink ! BREAKFAST well if hotel is busy be prepared to queue ! and when you do finally get there not much selection in a small cramped space ! Also they must have been aware how busy they were going to be but only one member of staff trying to top up breakfast , clear tables and deal with people complaining ! Look at your staffing levels at peak periods ! Its a shame really because the hotel is in a nice setting and it was lovely sitting outside having a drink from the bar !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneOmahony, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following on from your recent stay at the hotel.

Following on from attending the Concert in Manchester, it was nice to read that the staff at the tram stops was able to help and assist as at busy events such as this one there can be delays getting to various locations due to the thousands of people descending from the stadium at any one time.

The hotel always prepares itself for peak times such as this and as well as advertising around the hotel and personally informing guest of busy times for breakfast, unfortunately we can't dictate when guests can come down for breakfast so there will be times when the breakfast areas does get busy. The staff are all trained to deal with these busy times and work hard to ensure each guest receives the same high consistency of service.

The hotel is located on the Quays waterfront so when the weather is nice it is a relaxing way to sit and have a drink on the terrace.

Thank you for your feedback.

Regards,

Jane O'Mahony
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Not easy to find but nice location.

The room was ok but bedding didn't smell fresh...in fact it's smelt of food/grease.

£3 to park which wasn't advertised before stay.

Staff very friendly but the fun started at breakfast. Queue trailed into reception area, delays with hot food meant a wait of around 40 minutes . Good job I'm not diabetic.

Poor value, wouldn't return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPUDDDDDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneOmahony, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following on from your recent stay.

Car parking charges are advertised on the booking website, if you could let me have the details of your booking method I will look in to as all channels should have this advertised.

I was sorry to read of your comments referring to your bedroom, if you had of informed one of the team this could have been addressed and rectified for you, again if you can send me details of your room and booking I look in to.

There are times when breakfast does get busy and this why, situated around the hotel - reception desk and outside each lift on each floor we advise of busy and quiet times. The hotel team also communicate this information to guests at busy times. Unfortunately we are not able to stop guests from choosing their time to come down for breakfast. The team work exceptionally hard during these times to ensure all guests are looked after.

Thank you for your feedback, your comments are appreciated.

Regards,

Jane O'Mahony
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Level Contributor
168 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Situated in Salford Quays this is a very pleasant area to stay in. The staff were extremely friendly & helpful. The rooms were clean & comfortable. The added extras such as ice machine, tea and coffee making facilities and free breakfast are a very pleasant surprise. The low car parking cost of £3 per 24hrs is also an added bonus when staying close to Manchester city centre. Would certainly recommend and use again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwaysway51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneOmahony, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following from your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express - Manchester Salford Quays.

It was great to read that you had a great stay with us and that the hotel met your requirements and that the team were helpful and friendly.

It is always encouraging to read positive feedback and the team pride themselves on providing great service.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Jane O'Mahony
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Really unhappy with this hotel group.
I am currently being threatened with court action by Parking Eye, who are acting as agents of the hotel for not paying the £3.00 parking fee for 24 hours for 40 minutes, while checking in. This is despite registration details later being entered when it was actually realised it was necessary to do this and being a guest of the hotel!
I was first subjected to a series of threatening letters demanding £100, rising to £150, before finally a claim form dropped on the door.
While the staff at the actual hotel have been as helpful as they can in trying to help me sort this out, it is apparently out of their hands. Complaints to the MD of IHG have thus far proved fruitless and I am afraid I cannot recommend a Hotel which is part of a group which allows its guests to be treated in this way. The Hotel group has an arrangement with Parking Eye to manage its car parks and thus has to take some responsibility.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
23 Thank sc00ba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear sc00ba,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Your concerns have been forwarded to the management and ownership of the aforementioned property. I know they share our vision of providing the best guest experience possible, and I am confident they will take the necessary steps to continuously improve their product and services. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We and some friends have just come back from a fantastic weekend at this hotel 7-9th June. The staff at the hotel are extremely helpful and friendly, especially the temporary manager Michael who was fantastic.
We all had rooms overlooking the water and the rooms themselves were extremely clean with everything you need. The breakfast is all that you need with a small variety of hot food and also toast, croissants, fruit, yoghurt and cereal.
It is a perfect location with quite a lot to do within walking distance and a good variety of eating establishments. It is within a five minute walk of the tram stop straight into central Manchester and the fare is very reasonable. It is also perfect for Old trafford football stadium.
We all had a perfect weekend here and will definitely be coming back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneOmahony, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us some great feedback following on from you recent visit to the Holiday Inn Express - manchester Salford Quays.

it was so nice to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that every aspect of your stay met your expectations.

Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back on your next visist to Manchester - Salford Quays.

Kind regards,

Jane O'Mahony
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on June 2 when we came to Manchester for a concert.
The staff at the hotel are very friendly, rooms are nice and clean with lovely comfortable beds, the extra thing for me was that they now have free wifi in the rooms.
The breakfast was nice and hot and the breakfast room was nice and clean.
I will return again and would highly recommend it

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the quay if you want it quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chubbleybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneOmahony, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your review following on from your recent stay with us.

I was glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us from start to finish and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Manchester - Salford Quays.

Many thanks & kind regards

Jane O'Mahony
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salford hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
0.2 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Quays Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Address: Waterfront Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3XW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays hotel. This Manchester hotel is located in thriving Salford Quays, surrounded by the water & history of the Manchester Ship Canal & within 1 mile of Manchester United Football Club (Old Trafford), the Lowry Theatre & the Imperial War Museum. This superb location ensures that Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays is the perfect choice whether travelling on business or pleasure. Manchester city centre is easily accessible and offers a wealth of entertainment venues and shopping including the MEN Arena and Printworks. Our hotel in Manchester is designed to provide consistent value for money & our rates are inclusive of free continental and hot breakfast which is served in the comfort of our Great Room lounge where you can also enjoy free WiFi. In addition, guests also benefit from secure car parking (local charge applies £4.00 per night/per car). Our newly refurbished, air conditioned guestrooms can accommodate up to 2 adults & 2 children & feature en suite power shower, satellite TV, free Wi-Fi, & tea/coffee facilities. Additional facilities include a fully licensed bar, meeting facilities & a 24-hour reception. Wi-Fi is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Hotel Manchester
Holiday Inn Manchester
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing