We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel is in a superb location close to the Lowry and the Imperial War Museum. There is ample car parking but beware, the hotel charges. Compared to city centre parking the £3 per day charge is very reasonable but why charge in the first place? Booking in was very fast and efficient. Staff were courteous, friendly and welcoming. Our room was spotlessly clean and provided great views over the Quays. Breakfast was included in the price but was a bit of a “bun fight”, No complaints whatsoever as to what was on offer, but the layout of the buffet leaves much to be desired. I’m sure that with a few adjustments (e.g. moving the toaster) bottlenecks could be eased. For what we paid the hotel provided excellent value for money. We will most definitely use it again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pomfretian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneOmahony, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for taking to time to give you great feed back following on from your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express - Salford Quays Manchester.

It was good to read that the hotel and location met your needs and on behlaf of myself and the team we hope that you will stay with us again if visiting manchester.

Kind regards,

Jane O'Mahony
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

706 - 712 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

We booked two rooms and managed to get in early to one of the rooms. As a Gold member parking is half price so was very reasonable for the two nights we stayed. Very friendly staff on reception and bar area. Clean and tidy around the kitchen. No problems with hearing other guests even though the hotel was full up.
Would stay again as easy to get into the city with the tram service

Room Tip: ask for a view of the quays otherwise its the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneOmahony, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following on from your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express - Manchester Salford Quays.

it was good to read that you had a great stay with us and that the team made you feed welcome during your visit and also that the facilities met your requirements.

The team take great pride in delivering great customer service and are also proude of the hotel and facilities offered.

I do hope that if you visit Manchester again you will choose to stay with us.

Kind regards,

Jane O'Mahony
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was an excellent location for our visit to Manchester as there were good transport links to the city centre only a max 10min ride away. Great things to do & see nearby due to all the refurbishment around the Salford Quay area. Room was clean and bed was very comfy. Breakfast good but they don't serve bacon.

Room Tip: All rooms have views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GADGET3366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneOmahony, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for your feedback following on from your recent stay stay with us at Salford Quays.

I am glad that you had a good stay with us and that the hotel met your requirements.

At the hotel we offer a breakfast selection of cold and hot items, these include - Sausage, Beans and scrambled egg together wilth many branded products such as Muller and Kelloggs.

Many thanks for your feedback and I hope you will choose to stay with us again if you are visiting Manachester.

Regards,

Jane O'Mahony
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed in this hotel by accident. It's a budget hotel, but I found it to be a very good alternative. Trying to rate this with 5 star properties misses the point, but I found the rooms functional and clean. though compact.

The front of house staff were great and really hustled and they seemed to multi task. The lobby was good and I enjoyed working out my jet lag with a book and the 24 hour sandwich shop was really a life saver.

I'll certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg_D_In_Cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneOmahony, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for your recent review following on from your stay at the Holiday inn Express Manchester Salford Quays.

I as pleased to read that the hotel met your requiremetns and the the team were helpful and friendly during your stay.

I hope that when you are next in Manchester you will choose to stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Jane O'Mahony
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have stayed twice at this hotel , first in December and a night on may 5th.
We picked this hotel as it was close to our family we were visiting.
The rooms are comfortable and if basic served the purpose.
The breakfast is a good selection of fruit , croissants , cereal , yoghurts, tea, coffee, fruit juice and Toast .
Staff are helpful and polite, let us park up early even though we couldn't check in until 3 pm. Parking is only £3.00
We have booked again for July and i don't think we would stay any where else when we come to manchester.
You are close to Lowry outlet , Lowry theatre,cinema and near tram stops and restaurants including frankie and bennys, harvester, bella Italian , beef eater, Mexican restaurant .
You can see Manchester United stadium from the hotel too .
Shower is good and tv with built in alarm is a good idea.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stolls69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneOmahony, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following on from your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express - Manchester Salford Quays.

I was pleased to read that you had a good stay with us from start to finish. It was also great to read that the team were helpful and friendly and that you had an enjoyable breakfast experience.

myself and the team pride ourselves on good customer service and I am glad to read that we met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Jane O'Mahony
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you want to know what you are going to get then this is a perfect choice. 2 minutes walk from the tram, 5 minutes from Old Trafford and in the heart of Salford Quays and away from the noise of central Manchester then this is for you. Good basic rooms, comfy beds and a strong shower all for circa £80. Breakfast is not fantastic bit adequate.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDFarnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneOmahony, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Thank you for your review following on from your recent visit to Manchester Salford Quays.

It was good to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that the hotel met your requirements.

Regards,
Jane O'Mahony
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Wanted to make use of Priority Club membership to stay here while visiting Old Trafford, but was hesitant due to the many poor reviews posted, and the lack of professional support in email correspondence prior booking.

Decided to go ahead nonetheless, due to the superb location and we were only staying for a night.

What a relief to be welcomed at the front desk who had our bookings, another relief to see both rooms clean and the extra bed made up in the one of the rooms per our request (as we would be dead beat by the time we got there). Room is spacious, bed is firm and comfortable, had a choice of soft & hard pillows, sheets and linen were clean, no unpleasant smell or anything majorly upsetting.

A couple minor problems in the room:
1) we could hear the howling of wind even when the windows were shut. My husband had a look and fixed it, plus it was dirty hence affecting how tight the window could close.

2) the drainage in the shower was very slow. Any slower, we could easily flood the bathroom floor.

We knew we could have rang the front desk but felt as a hotel guest, we could also choose to be more understanding and forgiving. Anyway, it was only a short one night stay.

For constructive feedback, we would say you could improve your breakfast quality (e.g. OJ tasted more like cordial), and the standard of housekeeping cleaning could be higher. I am sure this will help you position yourself better against a few other competitors around the area.

Even if it has failed terribly in the past, it certainly has come a long way and deserves another chance!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneOmahony, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Thank you for your recent feedback following on from your stay at the Holiday Inn Express - Manchester Salford Quays.

It was very refreshing to read that although you had read previous reviews on the site both positive and negative, you chose to make up your own mind rather than being swayed by other peoples personal experiences.

Myself and the team always welcome feedback both positive and negative as this helps us to strive to improve our product and service.

At the hotel we prepare each guest check in against their booking requirements and can only provide the correct facilities if we are given the correct information at time of booking and it was great to read that we met you expectations and requirements by ensuring your rom was correctly set up with the information you had provided.

Thank you again for your kind feed back and I hope that if you are in Manchester again that you will visit us.

Kind regards,
Jane O'Mahony
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.3 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Quays Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
0.4 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays

Address: Waterfront Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3XW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Price Range: $65 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays. This Manchester hotel is located in thriving Salford Quays, surrounded by the water & history of the Manchester Ship Canal & within 1 mile of Manchester United Football Club (Old Trafford), the Lowry Theatre & the Imperial War Museum. This superb location ensures that Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays is the perfect choice whether travelling on business or pleasure. Manchester city centre is easily accessible and offers a wealth of entertainment venues and shopping including the MEN Arena and Printworks. Our hotel in Manchester is designed to provide consistent value for money & our rates are inclusive of a tasty continental and hot breakfast which is served in the comfort of our Great Room lounge where you can also enjoy free WiFi. In addition, guests also benefit from secure car parking (£4.00 per night/per car). Our air conditioned guestrooms feature an en suite power shower, 32-inch TVs with Freeview, free Wi-Fi, & tea/coffee facilities. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults & 2 children under 12. Additional hotel facilities include a fully licensed bar, meeting facilities & a 24-hour Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Hotel Manchester
Holiday Inn Manchester
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing