We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Trafford Sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2012

thoroughly enjoyed our night here, close by both the football and cricket grounds, and a short walk to shops beside the harbor. Very clean and tidy, with friendly staff, in a beautiful waterside location

Room Tip: Higher get better views
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faberge36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your recent comments concerning our Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays.

Our Guest Services Team strives to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable stay and from your comments I can see our team excelled in making you feel welcome and comfortable and I will pass on your comments to all of the Team.

May I thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Manchester.

Kind Regards,
Mark Thompson
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,076)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

787 - 793 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

Was a bit apprehensive about staying after reading bad reviews, but there was no need to worry! Travelled down to do a bungee jump which was helpfully located right outside the hotel. Room was clean and tidy with a nice view of the quays. Breakfast was good with a good selection and staff were efficient at cleaning up! Only small criticism is cleanliness of cutlery. The air con in the hotel went off on our last night and staff called out an engineer late at night to sort it. We were given complimentary drinks for the trouble, very impressed as it would be unlikely to find this level of customer service elsewhere! Special mention to mark and James who made us feel very welcome. Service was made personal and the extra effort they made was very much appreciated! This is a budget hotel that goes the extra.mile to make you feel welcome. Totally worth the money, ignore the bad reviews. Lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank explorer200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your recent comments concerning our Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays.

Our Guest Services Team strives to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable stay and from your comments I can see our team excelled in making you feel welcome and comfortable and I will pass on your comments to all of the Team.

May I thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Manchester.

Kind Regards,
Mark Thompson
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

not the the most luxurious hotel but does its job well at a low price. If you need to be near Media City or the Lowry Centre, 5 mins walk. Nothing much else nearby. Choice of restaurants near is limited to very mediocre chain ones

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your recent comments concerning our Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays.

Our Guest Services Team strives to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable stay and from your comments I can see our team excelled in making you feel welcome and comfortable and I will pass on your comments to all of the Team.

May I thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Manchester.

Kind Regards,
Mark Thompson
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

A fresh and airy hotel. Its clean and tidy and great value hotel ideal for business stop overs or indeed leisure trips to the area. The Salford Quays area is a lovely little spot in the heart of Manchester.
Didnt eat in hotel other than breakfast. Breakfast was Ok - ie continental and limited hot food ( scrambled eggs, sausage and toast) but fine and a good selection of cerials, pastries etc. Bar drinks were reasonably priced as well. Staff were also friendly and helpful.

Rooms were well equiped with air con, and power shower etc.

Only downside was parking at £3 a day - some other hotels dont charge this!

Room Tip: No wi fi in rooms - but is is available in bar area
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hornet75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your recent comments concerning our Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays.

Our Guest Services Team strives to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable stay and from your comments I can see our team excelled in making you feel welcome and comfortable and I will pass on your comments to all of the Team.

With regards to the recently introduced car parking charge of £3.00 per 24 hours, we thank you for your comments, however we are one of the last hotels to start to charge for car parking. Most hotels in the area (including Manchester) charge in the region of £8.00 - £25.00 per 24 hours.

May I thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Manchester.

Kind Regards,
Mark Thompson
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed here before the olympic match at old trafford and the hotel seemed totally unprepared for the volume of guests which they knew they were expecting !! There was clearly a problem with the amount of staff they had on during the evening leading to long queues at the bar and lack of food available. The next days breakfast service was chaotic - with no direction from the staff as they were totally overwhelmed. The breakfast queue was ridiculous and badly organised.he quality was also poor. I felt very sorry for the staff who tried their best to cope . As we paid 150 for a basic room , the overall experience was disapointing,although the location was excellent. .

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wishwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for providing us with a review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays.

I would like to comment concerning your stay with us as I feel that your expectations on this occasion have not been met to the standard that you would expect from the Holiday Inn Express Group and Hotels.

As a limited service hotel, we do not have a full restaurant within the hotel; however there are numerous restaurants close to the hotel which members of the Guest Services Team would be able to recommend to you as guests to the hotel. Within the hotel the only options that we have for food is either a Vending Snack Area or recently introduced Pizza Options where we have 4 different styles and flavours of pizzas.

Breakfast as you can appreciate can sometimes be hectic however this is something that cannot be controlled as we operate a self-service breakfast time and style. It is impossible for us to know when our guests will attend breakfast however we do advise all guests of the busy times on check in when we know that the hotel is full or that many of the guests are attending any events in the area, on this occasion things like the Olympic Football at Old Trafford Football Stadium.

I would like to thank you for providing your review, and I would like to assure you that your comments have been noted and passed onto the team that deal with reviews of the breakfast area within the hotel. Without feedback from our guests either Positive or Negative we cannot ensure that our customer service levels are maintained to the highest possible and for this we thank you.
We do hope that you will choose to return to the hotel on a future date and if you would like to contact me directly quoting reference TRIP109 then I will be able to ensure that a preferential rate is given to you for being a past reviewer of the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Mark Thompson
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed the night before the Olympis Football at Old Trafford. Our room had a view of the stadium. The hotel was very busy but we expected this as several others in the area were fully booked. Our experience was excellent right from the very beginning at check in. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. It was nice to see the same staff on duty and feel that you got to know them abit. Breakfast on the Sunday morning was very busy (to be expected) but all the staff worked very hard to ensure everyone had what they needed. I would stay at this hotel again and would recommend it. Location is excellent too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindyloo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your recent comments concerning our Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays.

Our Guest Services Team strives to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable stay and from your comments I can see our team excelled in making you feel welcome and comfortable and I will pass on your comments to all of the Team.

May I thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Manchester.

Kind Regards,
Mark Thompson
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We spent three nights here. The stff were exceptionally friendly and courteous. The rooms are standard Holiday Inn but none the worse for that being comfortable, reasonably spacious and quiet. I agree with another reviewer that the breakfast wasn't great but there are other places to eat near by and and excellent food store (Booths) across the road for picnic eating if the weather is fine. All in all I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel if you want to stay at The Quays.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SashaPasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your recent comments concerning our Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays.

Our Guest Services Team strives to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable stay and from your comments I can see our team excelled in making you feel welcome and comfortable and I will pass on your comments to all of the Team.

May I thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Manchester.

Kind Regards,
Mark Thompson
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
0.3 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays

Address: Waterfront Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3XW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Price Range: $64 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays. This Manchester hotel is located in thriving Salford Quays, surrounded by the water & history of the Manchester Ship Canal & within 1 mile of Manchester United Football Club (Old Trafford), the Lowry Theatre & the Imperial War Museum. This superb location ensures that Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays is the perfect choice whether travelling on business or pleasure. Manchester city centre is easily accessible and offers a wealth of entertainment venues and shopping including the MEN Arena and Printworks. Our hotel in Manchester is designed to provide consistent value for money & our rates are inclusive of a tasty continental and hot breakfast which is served in the comfort of our Great Room lounge where you can also enjoy free WiFi. In addition, guests also benefit from secure car parking (£4.00 per night/per car). Our air conditioned guestrooms feature an en suite power shower, 32-inch TVs with Freeview, free Wi-Fi, & tea/coffee facilities. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults & 2 children under 12. Additional hotel facilities include a fully licensed bar, meeting facilities & a 24-hour Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Hotel Manchester
Holiday Inn Manchester
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing