We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel I have ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Certificate of Excellence
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best hotel I have ever stayed in!”
Reviewed November 29, 2010

This is definitely a hidden gem. We chose this hotel to stay in when we went to watch Man Utd and it was a fantastic choice. It is walking distance to the stadium and you can even see it from the hotel if you are on the right side. The staff were fantastic, very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
The room and rest of the hotel was immaculate. The bathroom was clean, towels were soft, face cloths were provided. The bed was an actual double instead of two singles pushed together with a hard join in the middle. It was extremely comfortable and warm. We didn't hear a peep all night and had a fantastic stay.
We would like to especially praise the reception staff for being so professional and knowledgeable. We will certainly be going back!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linners13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    391
    97
    34
    25
See reviews for
107
380
40
396
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

I booked this hotel for a night in Manchester just because I liked the idea of staying in a brand new hotel and had recently gained platinum level on the Holiday Inn rewards card and wanted to see if I could get the normal room upgrade then.

Firstly this hotel is well hidden, mainly because it is a new building in a new building site and therefore not yet on any maps. Also the directions on the Holiday Inn website are slightly lacking, they are very good up to the point where they state the hotel is on the left. It is as long as you turn left, go round a roundabout, follow the road and just about spot the green lights of the hotel.

Once in the hotel though I have to say this was one of the best experiences ever, the staff were all very friendly and friendly at all points. Maybe it is because it is a new hotel so they haven't got bored by the whole thing yet, but I hope they can keep it up as it really made a difference.

I got an upgrade to the King Executive up on the 16th floor which was a very nice room. Lovely bed, good work area, nice TV with record option. Plus free quick wi-fi throughout the hotel.

Dinner was great in the evening and breakfast was pretty good in the morning too.

All in all a great hotel and well worth heading back to.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank u9537503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

I travel a lot both work and leisure. I needed a hotel on the west of Manchester to be convenient for work. While the hotel is a little tricky to find a call to reception and the staff there give a new postcode for SatNav to take you straight to the car park.
The front desk staff were really friendly and checked me in quickly.
On the 16th floor the room was brand new and spotless - at first I really didnt think I was in a Holiday Inn - the room was large with a desk and huge bed. The TV allowed for programmes to be recorded.
The breakfast room staff were really friendly as well, very rare for a UK hotel to have such friendly genuine staff.
I'll definately stay here again - maybe not for a city centre visit, Old Trafford is not far so for those going for a match or concert this would be ideal, but there is a tram stop near by so a trip into town wouldnt be too much bother.

High praise to all of the staff at this Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supershearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

This hotel is nearly brand new and is located in the heart of the new media city. You may be surrounded by a building site but dont be fooled the hotel is a notch above the norm for a Holiday Inn. The staff are enthusiastic and attentive and are a credit to the Holiday Inn Chain, they also promote Manchester in a very positive way. The hotel rooms were well appointed and comfortable both the regular rooms and the adapted room(we travel with an electric wheelchair user and his carer). We ate in the hotel restaurant on one night and could not fault either the food,service or price.The breakfast in the morning is also very nice full english or a smaller continental selection.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExeterGemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

The hotel has been open for a few weeks and is spotless, very helpful and kind staff and everything is top quality.

Only negative thing is lack of signs to find the hotel, if you get lost ring the reception as they helped us.

We will be returning.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gareth_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

As a platinum member I have stayed in my fair share of HI's and this hotel, which is brand new has very nice rooms, smart TV's that record programmes for you, free very fast wifi and very approachable staff. There also seems to be alot of managers walking about, which is a sign its brand new.

I was disappointed with the beds though personally and have had better beds in some HIE hotels. Also for what you pay for breakfast you really can get the same for free in the express hotels. I dont really expect to queue up to make my own tea and toast for £12.95 to be honest and wont be doing so again

The one downside is finding the place as the HI website will send you way off course and if you follow the directions about turning left after going over the tram lines then you will be in a shell garage, where you can at least buy a subway. Knowing the area as I do I disregarded the directions. The lad on reception said it was the biggest complaint they receive and te most common call from guests arriving. If this is the case then sort it out. Its not difficult to update a website.

Once you are in the area you will see a car park that says hotel guests. I am assuming this will be the only hotel in Media city once all is completed. HI really do need to make this clearer for guests to be honest. Then you go to the second floor and take the lift to the ground and the hotel entrance is 100 yards over the road

Car parking at the time of this review was £10 for 24 hours and £5 overnight. If you leave the hotel during your stay you need to get your ticket validated and get a new one on your return

The hotel was above average, however not in the 'very good' category so based on tripadvisors rating I have to give it a 3 for the whole experience which includes the website and communication directions

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toffeeman2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tetney
Level Contributor
302 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

The main problem was finding the hotel as it was not on the sat nav - once there it is ideally situated for the Lowry or for Old Trafford and also for the tram. Once in the hotel the service was outstanding in all departments. It was very refreshing to see management helping out in the bar during the course of the evening. Breakfast was lovely and was constantly being refilled. I will definately go back and would strongly recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardpearson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
Dear Kayerich,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your most recent correspondence and your kind words.

It is our intention at all times to ensure that our guests are made to feel welcome whilst staying with us, and I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK.

We look forward to having the pleasure of your company in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

The Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
0.7 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.7 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
2,452 reviews
0.7 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK

Property: Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
Address: Media City, Salford M50 2EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Salford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester - Mediacityuk Hotel Salford
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing