We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine meal before a show”
Review of The Lowry Restaurant - CLOSED

The Lowry Restaurant
Price range: $24 - $49
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Lowry Restaurant is located within the stylish surroundings of The Lowry, Salford Quays. Perfect for a relaxed lunch with friends, business meeting or pre-theatre meal, The Lowry Restaurant offers friendly and relaxed service whilst the highest quality ingredients ensure delicious Modern British dishes with style. The stunning waterside views are offered by the floor to ceiling windows of The Lowry Restaurant. In the evening unwind and enjoy the unique, striking architecture of The Quays as the sunsets and the area lights up.
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We pre-booked a meal before a show £22.95 for 3 courses. Cheese £2 extra! Normally I am nervous that we won't mage the gig in time, but the staff provided very efficient, relaxed and friendly service - no rushing, just bang on! The food was very good - moderate portions, so we added a bowl of chunky chips between us whicb made it right for one hungry man! (Bread could be added to the avocado prawn starter.) Fine wine and - handy hint! - we had another bottle waiting on our table for the interval. Sure beats the bar queues and no seats. Recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WiltshirePhilippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLowrySalford, Manager at The Lowry Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for your review Philippa. We pride ourselves on managing your time so you don’t have to, ensuring you always reach your theatre seat on time. We take on board your comments regarding bread for the prawn cocktail starter, and if this dish features again, it’s certainly something we will consider.

We’re glad you enjoyed the interval service; next time why not have a dessert or a cheeseboard with that interval wine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 152 of 192 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

Booked to eat before seeing a show on Sunday and had a really nice meal. Cheese soufflé was nice but could have been cheesier. My wife had the lamb which was excellent and I had sea bass which was cooked well, nicely presented too. We had the mixture of deserts which were awesome ! The staff were really nice and the service was excellent.

Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLowrySalford, Manager at The Lowry Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review The Lowry Restaurant. We’re glad to hear that our food and service lived up to your expectations. We will pass the comments regarding the soufflé to our kitchen team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lowry Restaurant again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I booked a pre theatre meal as a special birthday treat for my wife but overall we were disappointed.

Firstly the ambience was gloomy and cafeteria style furnishings - almost like being in the bar. We opted for the 2 courses at £19.95 each but by the end of the meal (with wine, service charge, etc) we paid a total of £75 which I think is expensive. Very penny pinching to charge extra £2 if you choose the cheese board as one of your courses.

The food, on the whole was tasty but the portions were very small and left us feeling rather hungry.

Not terrible but certainly not a place we would recommend.

Finally - why don't the management listen to Trip Advisor comments on the sneaky service charge? People are generally happy to leave a tip but don't like it included in the bill.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank J2J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLowrySalford, Manager at The Lowry Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The Lowry Restaurant. The supplement which is added to the menu price for the cheeseboard or the dessert plate is reflective of the quality of ingredients we use, and is in line with many other restaurant serving a set two and three course menu option. We’re sorry to hear that you left us feeling hungry, portion sizes are something that we monitor frequently to ensure that our customers receive great value for money.

We appreciate feedback, both bad and good; with regards to our service charge, the policy is outline on all of our menus so that our customers are fully informed. Not only does it state that a service charge will be added, it also explains what that money is used for. In response to customer feedback, our staff now explain the service charge policy to customers so that they can make an informed decision.

We do hope you will chose to dine with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We came in on spec on a Wednesday, a day when there was no matineé in the theatre. The restaurant is attractively designed and must have at least 100 covers but the place was empty save for one gent who was on his way out.
But the lunch was absolutely superb - chefism at its highest level -and such a contrast to the chain restaurants thereabouts. At the price we paid, £20 each for two courses it was wonderful value for money.
Apparently the place gets booked up on matineé days and for pre theatre supper. It was strange to have the place to ourselves. The service was friendly and attentive.
Certainly going again when around Manchester at luchtime

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SammyDevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLowrySalford, Manager at The Lowry Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Many thanks for the fantastic review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lowry Restaurant again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Beautiful food, with a two course a la carte meal for a reasonable £19.95*. Service was also very good and surroundings pleasant, with a nice view of Salford Quays.

*I would have given 5 stars but for the 'sneaky', obligatory 10% service charge that was a levied without prior warning. Such charges are generally an underhand way of boosting profits rather than benefiting waiting staff and I by far prefer to reward good service based on my own experience of it.

All in all I would like to say I'd visit again, though the issue of service charges might put me off. Nevertheless, it is genuinely a good restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Callum M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLowrySalford, Manager at The Lowry Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your review of The Lowry Restaurant. We’re pleased to see you enjoyed the food and service we offer.

Our service charge is discretionary and we often get requests to remove this by a variety of customers, this will always be done so obligingly. We state on all of our menus, online and in print, that this 10% discretionary service charge will be added to all bills. From our service charge 60% contributes towards the cost of free meals for all staff within our catering department, with the remaining 40% to be split between Supervisors, Restaurant and Kitchen staff, paid pro-rata based on the number of hours worked. This money is paid to employees through our payroll system. The Lowry does not take a percentage of the service charge to cover handling costs and payroll processes. Our procedure for tips and service charge is in line with the British Hospitality Association Codes of Practice.

We do hope you will choose to return to The Lowry Restaurant in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lowry Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing