We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard to fault - excellent pre theatre dinner.”
Review of The Lowry Restaurant - CLOSED

The Lowry Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $45
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Lowry Restaurant is located within the stylish surroundings of The Lowry, Salford Quays. Perfect for a relaxed lunch with friends, business meeting or pre-theatre meal, The Lowry Restaurant offers friendly and relaxed service whilst the highest quality ingredients ensure delicious Modern British dishes with style. The stunning waterside views are offered by the floor to ceiling windows of The Lowry Restaurant. In the evening unwind and enjoy the unique, striking architecture of The Quays as the sunsets and the area lights up.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hard to fault - excellent pre theatre dinner.”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Don't give 5 stars very often but we all (including our fussy 19 year old) were very impressed with the food, portion, presentation and the service. I also believe our 3 courses were good value probably closer to excellent value when we compared to one course in the restaurant/pub connected to our Lenny hotel. The taster deserts were lovely (£2 extra)
Only tip is don't drink so much wine before going to watch Shakespeare ..... it made the plot harder to follow. What a great theatre but lots of empty seats which is never the case when Propeller play the N.East.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colonel-Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLowrySalford, Manager at The Lowry Restaurant, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your excellent feedback. We're pleased to hear you all enjoyed your experience and hope to welcome you back to The Lowry Restaurant soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    62
    23
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just right”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lovely lunch sitting outside, overlooking Salford Quays on an April sunny afternoon. Unfortunately first choice, goat's cheese tart, not available but Caesar Salad made a great substitute.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank altyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLowrySalford, Manager at The Lowry Restaurant, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We’re glad you enjoyed our dining outside on our Terrace Bar on a rare sunny spring afternoon. We’re sorry you were unable to order your first choice from our menu, but pleased that you enjoyed our Caesar Salad. We hope you’ll visit us again soon; we hear this weekend is going to be very sunny!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly efficient service”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

15 of us enjoyed a pre-theatre dinner with excellent food, served by friendly, attentive and efficient staff. A great restaurant to enjoy a pre-show meal whether you are a large or small party.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladygolfer31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLowrySalford, Manager at The Lowry Restaurant, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback; we’re pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable time at The Lowry Restaurant. We can accommodate large or small groups and always aim to provide excellent customer service along with delicious food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice but little”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Nice food - good vegetarian choice - however - the portions are small little apologies. The meaty options were quite sizable. Others in my group got to enjoy nice portions of handcut chips. I felt their Sweet potato Croquet was lacking in size and substance, even though it was a nice snack. Some side portion of veg maybe guys?
Their Sponge puddings were nice and I really enjoyed the Sticky Toffee Pudding.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lenvdb64_xyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLowrySalford, Manager at The Lowry Restaurant, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed the dishes you tried; we do try to make our vegetarian alternatives different and appealing. I’m sorry that you weren’t so satisfied with the size of the dish, it’s a new addition to the menu and this hasn’t been brought to our attention before now. We offer a range of vegetables and our thick cut chips as side orders that can be added to your meal. The sponge puddings are from our bar menu, sourced locally from a small company so we’re glad you liked this end to your meal. We love getting your constructive feedback as we look to improve what we do in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Attentive and personal as always”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We love coming to The Lowry Restaurant and have been dining here for years! The staff are always extremely friendly and go above and beyond to make sure we have a great night! A top tip would be to order interval desserts if you can! We always do it and it's such a treat to come back to your table in the interval for coffee and dessert! We even sometime have dessert and then come back for a cheeseboard! My partner is gluten free, we used to phone up in advance to make sure the chef was aware but they have now adapted their menu so that it's very gf friendly and only needs small tweaks to each dish so we've never really had any fuss about this. I've also been to the 'Fine Dining Night' for the past 2 years in a row- I think it tends to be around aug/sept and oh my goodness I can still recall the spiced eccles cake with hot apple cider and lancashire cheese bombs! If they're doing it again this year then I will definitely be going! The Food is great! Oh and ALWAYS order the thick cut chips!!! They are to die for!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BernieJetSetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLowrySalford, Public Relations Manager at The Lowry Restaurant, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and recommendations about The Lowry Restaurant and our staff. We always aim to accommodate dietary needs and take pride in knowing that what we offer is seen as the highest of standards. We also love our thick cut chips!

We will be working with the Salford Food and Drink Festival again this year, so look out for details in the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lowry Restaurant also viewed

Salford, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Salford, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing