We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much for too little”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Manchester Hyde
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hyde
Ajax, Canada
1 review
“Too much for too little”
Reviewed October 20, 2010

We were booked in this hotel by a friend who was having a wedding in the area. When we checked in and asked what the rate was they told us only the cheaper of the two rates we would be paying over four nights. So to say the bill was a surprise when we checked out was an understatement.The room was tiny, the bed took most of the space and the bathroom door barely opened before it hit the tub. There are no safes, temperature controls or fridges in the rooms and though the hotel has WiFi they do not have computers available for those that don't have their own with them. Also if you need to charge anything by USB you have to hand it over to reception since there are no outlets in the rooms. The room was run down with bad patches to holes in the walls (not even painted over), the radiator and door chain had clearly both been torn/ripped off at some point and put back on with little care. The roof our non smoking room faced was littered in cigarette butts and empty bottles. We were told by reception that other Village Hotels are newer and in better condition but because this one still makes money they won't update it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindz7622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    295
    252
    141
    84
See reviews for
199
367
30
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

I write this review from my bed at the hotel. It's 11:10pm on Saturday 2nd October and we're staying in room 114 - which just happens to be right above a function room. Unfortunately there is a function going on right at this very minute, and the noise is unbelievable! We were not advised of the fact that there was a function on when we booked, and on ringing down to reception, have been advised that all rooms are let, and they have tried to book all the function guests in the affected rooms. However, this does not seem to include room 114. The function is due to finish at 1:00am on Sunday morning at which point I shall look forward to getting some sleep.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Axel5171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hyde hotels

Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

This hotel cost £79 for 2 adult B&B and could not fault. The room was comfy and clean and had everything we required for our one nights stay. The leisure facilities in the hotel are great and at no extra charge - what more could you ask for. We ate in the grill and our meal was great....the waiting staff were very helpful and friendly. After our meal we went through to the bar where there was a disco and karaoke and the atmosphere was great. Breakfast the next morning could not be faulted either. Easy to find and easy access out to get back onto the motorway. For the price this hotel is great value and I would put it on par with any holiday inn that I've stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divajules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

great nights sleep after a family wedding with a great breakfast the following day all for £55 pound. we asked for an early checkin and managed to get it which was brilliant. the pool looked lovely although we didnt partake. the rooms were a little tired althouth the bed was lovely and comfy. the bathroom was small but fine with a few black mouldy bits on the tiles.... all in all a great night stop over.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicnic03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We stayed 2 nights, and there was a wedding disco one night, and some sort of function the next night. We complained to the receptionist in the morning, was told there were no free rooms, and the problem we get when booking through the internet and getting a "cheap deal" results in us having whatever room is set aside at the time. This room was Immediately above the disco, and it was LOUD! She did admit they often had complaints regards noise when there is a function on. Breakfast was fairly good, a bit greasy but well laid out. Was understaffed in the breakfast room, and it showed. Overall considering the cost, due to the poor sleep quality, and the indiffference of the staff, would not use again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

I've stayed here on 2 occasions now and always found the hotel of good quality.
Breakfast is fair to Good, however much better than Jury's so good value for money.
The hotel rooms are practical but well turned out.
All staff have been helpful including extending my stay with no issues.

I will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Really enjoyed weeked overall, good facilities included (pool abit cold!), it can get quite busy in the pool and gym at certain times with public swimming lessons and general public use of facilities but there always seemed to be enough room. rooms clean with all essentials (additional pillows, sky tv channels etc) but if im being picky it can get quite hot at night and sometimes hear people walking past.rooms are nicely decorated with large comfy beds, the bathroom ensuite was also clean and well furnished. breakfast good with flexible timing although in the evening the choices arent great as The Verve Restaurant is very expsensive for what it is and the other option is quite a rowdy pub environment although it was a five minute train journey to manchester city centre as that meant you can choose to eat out if you want.
overall a great weekend, we would definitely reccomend, dont be put off by the area when driving up to hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodieNorthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde
1.8 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
#1 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
1,573 reviews
7.4 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle
11.6 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Bury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Barton Villa
Barton Villa
#1 of 1 in Dukinfield
102 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Ashton Under Lyne
Travelodge Ashton Under Lyne
#2 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
245 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Manchester Hyde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Manchester Hyde

Property: Village Hotel Manchester Hyde
Address: Hotel Manchester Hyde Captain Clarke Road, Hyde SK14 4QG, England (Formerly De Vere Village Hotel Manchester Hyde)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Hyde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hyde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Manchester Hyde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Manchester Hyde is well positioned for both exploring and shopping and just 7 miles from Manchester City Centre. The picturesque Peak District is close by, as is the shopaholic's dream location. With Manchester United (25 minute drive) and Manchester City Centre (15 minute drive) Football Clubs not far away, why not combine a visit to one of these sporting giant or visit Europe's biggest indoor shopping mall at the Trafford Centre. Village Hotel Manchester Hyde has 89 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Village Hotel Manchester Hyde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel Leisure East Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing