We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value - Average Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Manchester Hyde Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hyde
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have stayed at several De Vere Village Hotels in the past but this one really does need its rooms refreshing to say the least. The only saving grace this hotel has to offer is its pool, restaurant and bar which are all very good. The staff in the restaurant were also very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. The rooms were small in need of painting and the bathroom was grubby. The tiles need re-grouting and in general everything needs up-dating. Had recommended Village hotels to friends but would be hesitant to recommend this one. All in all enjoyed our two night break but will not be returning to this hotel - not up to the usual village standard.

Room Tip: Choose a different village hotel
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetLS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,148)
There are newer reviews for Village Manchester Hyde Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

934 - 940 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

Some things were average and some excellent. The staff were first rate especially in the bar and restaurant. The food was excellent. We had the early diner meal deal and there was good choice and all came tasty and hot. Breakfast was good, but could have had slightly more fruit and cereal options, plus some fresh rolls. Hot breakfast was very good and seemed fresh. Swimming pool was a good size, but very busy. The rooms were a decent size, but seemed a little tired. Soap dispenser needed replacing and a few hooks were missing. Overall, good value for money. Location handy for Manchester and motorways, but not much to do near the hotel. Suggest you arrive and leave by car or train (Hyde North).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hisimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

total cost of £56.00 per month and all the equipment is broken and old and dated, the changing facilities are very poor broken wall and floor tiles, broken shower heads, locker get broken into and personnel property stolen on a weekly basis, the staff are all unhappy and unhelpful, as for the pool area the steam room is often broken and the pool in often cold and dirty, all the changing areas are dirty and in need of modernisation, you would be lucky to find something that is working, DO NOT JOIN I AM NOW LEAVING AFTER MY CONTRACT I AM WRITING THIS TO SAVE YOU THE TIME AND MONEY, DON'T JOIN.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
34  Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip and arrived late in the evening. The receptionist was quite busy taking calls and it took a while to get her attention. First impressions were that it looks like a flashback from the 1980s and not the usual Village standard. They obviously do good business from tribute nights and hen nights and that seems the focus of the marketing.

It has a Starbucks, pub and Italian restaurant on site but I didn't use them, however there didn't seem much else around the locality, so it is good that all of these facilities are on site. There is also free parking.

I used the gym, pool and sauna/jacuzzi and they are of a really good size and specification for a hotel, albeit the gym looks a little tired, but has good equipment.

The general decor is dated as are the rooms and the wifi is laboriously slow and nowhere near fast enough to stream live tv, which I tend to do as I have a tv anywhere package.

Breakfast is ok, but not of the standard of hotels I usually stay at, which pretty much sums up the hotel.

Good gym, excellent swimming pool and decent spa facilities (but nothing to write home about). Rooms are functional but I'd never dream of taking the wife here for a weekend break.

It is distinctly average and kind of cheap looking and the reality is very different to the marketing photos. Having said that the hotel provides quite a lot of services and if you pay less than £70 for a double room, you will probably consider it reasonable value. Anything more and you may consider it over priced.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave_Wolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We enjoyed a good deal that included Bed, Breakfast and Evening Meal, Excellent Leisure facilities,Room ok, could have done with more thorough hovering, decent staff and parking .Looking forward to next visit.

Room Tip: First stay, we were happy as a deal secured via Internet
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

got a deal off groupon £60 for dinner bed and breakfast with tribute party night and use of the leisure facillitys for two. Really great offer. The rooms where neat and tidy possibly could have done with a little spruce up but thats just my opinion and we really wasnt in the room that long to bother us. The 80s floor fillers night was good although it seemed to have been taken over by hen parties (be warned if blow up willies and feather bowers are not your thing) we went with another couple but the boys were really out numbered. The three course meal we were served was beautiful we had a small menus to choose from so it wasnt 'get what your given' and it was very nice. The Victory bar also had a offer on on bottles of prosecco £15 instead of £28 my friend and I were very happy!!!
Had a great nights sleep in the very comfy bed and went for breakfast around 8am. Breakfast was buffet style and just lovely.
The pool and spa area was very nice and just what we needed :)
all in all it was a great stay and a total bargain! thank you Village x

Room Tip: our friends were allocated a room behind Starbucks and it was huge compared to ours more like a suit...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natalie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend away with my husband. Rooms were comfortable with the usual a TV tea and coffee facilities. We stayed bed and breakfast hide away breaks, breakfast was a buffet service and plentiful although they brought either a teapot with tea in or pot with coffee in to you table. Did not eat in the restaurant this time we ate in the victory pub which we ordered the chilli beef nachos there was plenty to feed 2 people without ordering 2 separate meals. We enjoyed the break away and would visit this hotel again. We did not use the spa and lesuire facilities although on our way to the life you could see the pool area there was quite a lot of people using the pool. The staff are friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank june40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde
1.8 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
#1 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
1,726 reviews
7.4 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle
1.1 mi away
Barton Villa
Barton Villa
#1 of 1 in Dukinfield
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Bury
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Ashton Under Lyne
Travelodge Ashton Under Lyne
#2 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
260 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Manchester Hyde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Manchester Hyde Hotel

Address: Captain Clarke Road, Hyde SK14 4QG, England (Formerly De Vere Village Hotel Manchester Hyde)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Hyde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hyde
Price Range: $57 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Manchester Hyde Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Manchester Hyde is well positioned for both exploring and shopping and just 7 miles from Manchester City Centre. The picturesque Peak District is close by, as is the shopaholic's dream location. With Manchester United (25 minute drive) and Manchester City Centre (15 minute drive) Football Clubs not far away, why not combine a visit to one of these sporting giant or visit Europe's biggest indoor shopping mall at the Trafford Centre. Village Hotel Manchester Hyde has 89 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Village Manchester Hyde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel Leisure East Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing