We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Village Manchester Hyde Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$75
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Broadoak Hotel(Ashton-under-Lyne)
$116
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Trivelles Mayfair(Stockport)(Great Value!)
$217
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,374)
Filter reviews
1,374 results
Traveler rating
367
388
336
170
113
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
388
336
170
113
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure facilitiespublic housethe vervespa treatmentsswimming poolleisure clubsteam roomgreat facilitiescoffee machinegreat nightlovely hotelwould stay againgood nights sleepgymmanchester
Filter
Updating list...
1,311 - 1,316 of 1,374 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Cigarette burns in net curtains in bedroom, no remote for television did inform reception and was told there would be one provided for us. which there was not! Thankfully it was only a place to put our head down after a family party would not have been too happy otherwise!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandie5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I stayed here recently with my brother and our young children - we were in Manchester going to the football. The receptionist checked us in and immediately arranged travel to and from the game.
On our return to the hotel we realised we had forgotten swimming trunks etc for the pool - the Staff were really helpful making sure both children got a swim!
The food in the main restaurant was exceptional. I had the steak and found the quality of meat top notch. All the food we ate tasted great and the presentation was imaginative.
The hotel rooms are clean and tidy and have everything you need for a comfortable stay. Both children's highlight was the incredible breakfast buffet with so much choice.
For me the defining reason that this hotel works where some don't is simply the quality of staff and the service they provide. It was obvious that they were a well managed happy team. We look forward to returning

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I have stayed in De Vere hotels before, and it has always been a good experience. The leisure facilities at this hotel are the best I've experienced, the double rooms are clean and well presented, although a little compact. What we have noticed about De Vere hotels, is that the rooms are very hot at night. I'm not sure whether this is a ploy to persuade you to pay for an air conditioned room!

At the Hyde hotel, we stayed on a cheap deal with breakfast included. The breakfast buffet was very good offering a small range of food - fried breakfast, cereals, toast and pastries. All staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. Upon arriving at the hotel we were slightly dismayed as the area around the hotel is pretty dreary, it resembles part industrial estate and part council estate. We were a little worried about leaving the car in the car park as there didn't seem to be cctv in all areas of the car park. However, it turned out that the area around the hotel was fairly quiet and seemed fairly safe.

Although it turned out that I enjoyed the stay, because of the dismal location I probably wouldn't stay there again - at least not for a weekend away.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iloveholidays64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

A group of us stayed for a party night at the Village Hyde, we had fun, the staff were friendly and the food was enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 977Jacksprat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

As a family, we had stayed at the Village Hyde around 4 years ago. We remember it being a very nice hotel, friendly staff and well maintained rooms. That was 4 years ago!!

We had been trying to bargain with the central reservations to get a better price for our last minute stay at this hotel and managed to luck out when we phoned the hotel ahead of Central reservations opening. We managed to get a cheaper rate directly with the hotel for a 3 night stay in a Family Room. We also managed to secure a free upgrade to the Junior Suite (which we had stayed in before) which we were really looking forward to.

After our 5 and a half hour trip down from Edinburgh we arrived to be greeted by a cheery face at the reception who welcomed us, took our details and gave us our room key. They failed to inform us of the dinner or breakfast arrangements or anything else. We walked to our room (which was down stairs - no idea if there was a lift or anything else), the corridor leading to our room was dinghy! and smelled a little bit like mouldy socks.

Upon entering our room (Room 32 for info), the memories of 4 years earlier were brought back and we instantly began to pick up on the problems compared to our initial stay. The room hadn't been cleaned properly (cob webs in the corner of rooms), bathroom was unclean (shower head was disgusting), there used to be a TV in the "living" area of the room which was no longer there (although the swivel stand still remained), wallpaper was peeling away and a few other things to moan about. Our TV (the one in the bedroom) had a remote control which barely worked due to lack of battery power (i assume) and most of the channels were seemingly not tuned in correctly or just had bad reception!! The double sofa bed in the living area, which was meant to be for the kids to sleep on, was abit of a hazard. If you don't stuff pillows down the sides then there is a potential risk of someone getting an arm stuck or even worse losing a few fingers due to the mechanisms down there. On top of this the bed sloped in the middle (middle seemed higher than the head or foot of the sofa bed) which made for a very uncomfortable sleep!

We chose to take the kids out to eat with the promise of taking them back for a swim after. Hotel's site showed that kids could swim on a Sunday until 7pm. Kids were really looking forward to this. We rushed our meal and headed back to the hotel, got the kids dressed for swimming and walked through the hotel past the reception to the leisure area. This was when we were told that kids cannot swim after 6pm on a sunday!!! Kids were clearly disappointed and we were both seriously annoyed. Raised our annoyance and looked to speak to a manager. After dealing with one of the duty managers, she called the General Manager who allowed the kids to swim in the pool (by this point well after 7pm and this is the "members" time in the pool - numerous dirty looks as if telling us we shouldn't be anywhere near the pool with children!!.) We had also been informed that there are swimming time cards to show the restricted times... however, this was not part of their welcome pack (they don't actually have a welcome pack by the way!!) and was not in their rooms - so not entirely sure how you're meant to know about these times if they differ from the website - I have to say that we were made to feel a little bit silly for believing their website times!!

Breakfast on morning 1 was also pretty poor. There was rice krispies available for the kids. However, they were hidden in a room so you didn't actually know they were ever there! We only knew as we asked if there was any other kids cereals - no weetabix (although our complaint about this got weetabix bought in specially for the remaining 2 days we were there). Hot food was luke warm, fruit bowl was poorly stocked, Orange Juice was bitter and no yoghurts (other than the natural yoghurt in a bowl for you to spoon into a dish!).

We complained about our room prior to heading to Alton Towers for the day. During our day out we were contacted and offered the "Bridal Suite" which was regarded as their best room and was available for the rest of our stay. We accepted this and were looking forward to our Jacuzzi which we were told was in the room!! Once back at the hotel, we packed up our things (no assistance offered by the hotel staff) and trundled off to our new room (which was down 2 flights of stairs now! without a lift!!). This room was right at the back of the swimming pool - we only knew that as the stench of chlorine was immense. Wallpaper was peeling off the walls in the corridors down the stairs.

We entered the "Bridal Suite" (room 236). Very large room indeed - 1 Double bed, 1 single sofa bed with another single pull out bed below that - ideal for our family of 4. However, this room hadn't been too well cleaned either. There was still some form of confetti stuff under the sofa bed for instance. the Jacuzzi in the room was actually no more than a corner bath tub with jacuzzi functions. Kids loved that though. The Jacuzzi did have a tendancy to turn itself on when nobody was in the bathroom though (ghosts perhaps!). The shower down fell apart upon first touch (I had to put it back together again) and the bath panel was so poorly sealed that it popped open a number of times during our stay. Now when I go for a bath I usually expect to have HOT running water!! If you stay here, don't expect it. Luke Warm was the order of the day and if it wasn't for the kids, nobody would have went into it!! You only got a hot shower when you turned the shower onto Maximum pressure and up to the 45 degree setting!!

During our stay in the room, we contacted reception to ask them if we could have some water for the room. They merely informd us that we could buy bottled water or take a walk to the bar and get a jug of tap water from there!! Hmm... customer service clearly lacking... we then explained that we left our bottled water in our old room by mistake - they did go and get it for us which was nice but I got the feeling when he dropped it off that I had made his walk across hot coals to deliver it!!

Breakfasts on Morning 2 and 3 weren't much better either - did have weetabix though! Day 2 - The lights went out for around 10 minutes in the restaurant area only (except for 1 table) - we were not offered an apology or anything. Day 3 - the breakfast area stank like someone had been sick! No offer to allow us to eat our breakfast in the bar or anything else... we got the impression that we just had to deal with it.

All in all a very disappointing stay and for the money that they like to charge for the bigger rooms they really should be making more of an effort.

We have officially ruled this as the worst hotel we have ever stayed at and will not be venturing back.

Room Tip: Book another hotel!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews