We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice pub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hare & Hounds Inn

Hare & Hounds Inn
Ranked #14 of 54 Restaurants in Hyde
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Hare & Hounds is situated in the popular country park known as Werneth Low, some 800 feet above sea level with panoramic views overlooking five counties! Outside there is a telescope positioned on the patio for customers to survey the stunning views. Being close to Manchester Airport, planes can be seen banking down almost at eye level! Historically this used to be a farmhouse with two cottages owned and run by a local farmer. At one stage part of the area outside was a racecourse so many locals would come to watch the horses. In the car park there is a WW2 bunker which housed telephone lines and connections to Whitehall. Going even further back in time there is an ancient burial ground in the field next door! Coming back to the present day this destination food house has nooks and crannies, three open fires and a total of 148 covers inside and a further 80 outside for the summer months. Like all Chef & Brewer pubs we employ high quality Chefs who have superb kitchen facilities. The food can be chosen from a main menu or unique Specials from the chalk boards which allow our Chefs to show their flair! You will be served meals which have been prepared from the freshest of ingredients and cooked to order. To complement your meal there is an extensive choice of quality wines or real ales and other drinks are available at the bar. Alongside our dining clientele we welcome many from the local farming community, ramblers and visitors to the park who pop in for just a drink. This helps to make us a relaxed, comfortable all round pub. You can be sure of a quality experience when coming to the Hare & Hounds
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Very nice and friendly pub,,great views all over Manchester,,excellent when weather is nice to sit outside and admire the great views and have a drink,,,food as its ups and downs we go twice a week and some days the food is exellent and then sometimes poor..still we come twice a week,,the staff are so friendly and make you welcome,,the pub does get very busy on sunny days.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    141
    109
    79
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Very good food for a pub, service was good, pub was well decorated and comfortable. There was plenty of car parking which was close to the pub

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Hyde(n)seek”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Almost Hidden away in a May mist we came across this interesting pub restaurant and chanced it without having read any reviews. Reading the reviews later that day I was surprised that it attracted so many negative ones
At 12.45 our choice from a quite extensive menu was taken promptly, and served about 15 mins later. Starter of pate infused with cider sounded interesting, as did the steak and ale pie, both I have to say could have been better, but considering the reasonable price I find that overall it would be harsh to rate it less than average.
Would visit again in the hope that we could enjoy the view from one of the many outside tables that today were all vacant due to the inclement weather.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great service, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Great location and the pub has fantastic views and is oldy worldy inside which is great.

We booked in for our Sunday roast as family had eaten there previously and it came highly recommended. My father in law and wife ordered the taditional roast and I requested a rump steak and pulled pork burger. The service could not be faulted and our waitresses were very attentive and proffesional.
When our roast dinner arrived I was supprised to find the meat were reheated proccesd meats and I was expecting roast potatoes but got what I thaught were boiled potatoes. Further investigations found them to be roast potatoes it seems that the chef forgot to turn the oven on to roast potatoes, they were animic to say the least.
The rump steak and pulled pork burger was again dissapointing as it lacked flavour and I could not taste the pulled pork. It is a shame that this establishment has been taken over by a chain and that goes show in the standard of food.
overall the pub and service were great. More attention to detail on the food is needed, recommend a new chef!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank umeandus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Shhhhh! This is a no fun zone!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

I visited tonight with my girlfriends for a girly drink and something to eat, we were sat in a little room to our selfs and then after waiting 20 minutes for our order to be taken and an extra 45 minutes for our food, we were well and truly into our second bottle of wine (probably a ploy to get us to buy more drinks)

our waitress - Hannah- was amazing she helped my friend (a very fussy eater) find something she liked and she had a laugh and a joke with us. However the manager was very rude, I understand we could have been a little bit rowdy so he came over and asked us to be quite so we did and carried on with our drinks then when we went to pay he was standing over our waitresses shoulder checking that we wasn't causing any trouble, and rolling his eyes at us... We tipped but I wish only our waitress got it as she seems to be the strongest link.

All in all I give it a 6 out of 10, lovely food, reasonable prices drinks, lovely bar guy and waitress shame about the management.

Helpful?
Thank Foodie_lover7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hare & Hounds Inn also viewed

Hyde, Greater Manchester
Hyde, Greater Manchester
 
Hyde, Greater Manchester
Hyde, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Hare & Hounds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing