We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Dr. Jenner”

Dr Jenner's House, Museum and Garden
Ranked #3 of 8 things to do in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Situated in the historic market town of Berkeley, The Chantry is the striking Grade II* listed house where Edward Jenner lived for 38 years until his death in 1823. This is the house from which he pioneered vaccination against smallpox and it is now a museum celebrating his life and legacy. Discover how his work here eventually led to the eradication of smallpox and find out more about his other achievements before relaxing, as Jenner did, in an acre of peaceful gardens.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
London
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you Dr. Jenner”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

An extremely interesting and informative morning with the house and gardens opened specially for our pre-arranged private tour led by an extremely helpful and friendly guide. It was all well laid out, in very good condition and lovely to be able to roam freely and imagine him Dr. Jenner living and working here. The two videos and all the information regarding this dedicated and inspiring gentleman who contributed so greatly to the health and well being of future generations of people worldwide was extremely well presented.
There is also a well stocked shop with many unusual items. The postcards are excellent value.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank GapYearGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJHBerkeley, Manager at Dr Jenner's House, Museum and Garden, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for your many kind comments about the museum and we are pleased that you enjoyed your private visit to Dr Jenner's House & Garden.

Our staff will appreciate your kind words of appreciation and thank you for your visit. We hope to see you and your colleagues again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    42
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Awesome experience”
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We were given an excellent tour of the museum and even paid for the deluxe tour having a guide take us around. We spent a long time taking in the museum, the grounds and links to the Berkeley family. Definitely a worthwhile visit and a top tourist destination for the South West.

Helpful?
Thank ArkiCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJHBerkeley, Manager at Dr Jenner's House, Museum and Garden, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about the museum and we are pleased that you enjoyed your private visit to Dr Jenner's House & Garden.

As heritage managers we are fortunate to be the stewards of this remarkable place and this astonishing legacy which is of world importance and significance.

We are pleased you enjoyed yourselves during your private visit and we hope to see you both again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Absolutely Wonderful”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I was visiting the area and reached out to them, only to find the museum is closed in the winter months. No matter--they offered to open specially for our group and gave us a WONDERFUL private tour of the house, grounds, graveyard, and church, and afterward served a beautiful English Tea. I come from the USA, and this was a quintessentially British tour and day. Dr Jenner is a hugely important figure, and I have a great knowledge about him thanks to the friendly staff there. Absolutely highest marks for a great day out.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank joshuajay1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJHBerkeley, Manager at Dr Jenner's House, Museum and Garden, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your many kind comments about the museum. We are pleased that you and your friends enjoyed your private visit to Dr Jenner's House & Garden and the afternoon tea this winter.

It is wonderful for us to know that you took many happy memories of your time in Berkeley back the USA even though the British winter weather in January dampened the outside parts of your tour a little!

Thank you for your visit. We hope to see you and your friends here again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic day out”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

A fabulous afternoon out for anyone interested in a bit of blood and gore, georgian houses, and beautiful scenery. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and because it was so quiet I had a personal tour of the house, attic and garden! Some excellent displays. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 161Becky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We visited Dr Jenner's House in October 2013 whilst on holiday and did not regret it. Thoroughly entertaining and highly educational, the house was Dr Jenner's former home, saved for the nation by a rich Japanese business man. It is now a museum with video presentations and displays. Outside there is more to see in the gardens too. Well worth a visit. You will come out thinking what we did - that Dr Jenner deserves more recognition and should, at the very least, be posthumously knighted. Don't miss this fantastic museum.

Helpful?
2 Thank Nibbs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dr Jenner's House, Museum and Garden also viewed

 

Been to Dr Jenner's House, Museum and Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing