We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic New year!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Somerton, somerset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic New year!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from another fantastic new year break at the Prince of Wales hotel. This is the third year we have celebrated New Year there and each year just gets better. The food this year has been outstanding, complements to the chief as well as Melanie and all her staff for there hard work looking after everyone. Entertainment every night by varied artist, especially enjoyed Ian Lockyer on New Year's Day, a great musician and all hosted by the fantastic Clive Cope as MC and assisted by his lovely wife, Bernie, who kept us all entertained from the first evening till the close of play.
We enjoyed it so much we have rebooked for New Year 2014. We are self drive and find it an excellent base for visiting Gloucester, the Cotswolds and Bristol.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stringfellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you both for your 'fantastic' review I will pass on your kind words to all the staff especially the Chefs who are so often hidden behind the scenes. As you know all play a part including the entertainment team lead by Clive and Bernie and its wonderful to be appreciated. We enjoy seeing 'old & new' faces and look forward to seeing you again in 2014.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    146
    56
    19
    5
See reviews for
47
260
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
in Walkden
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Just returned from a Shearing Turkey an Tinsel and not what we expected. Reception staff not always very helpful. Food could have been better. Plates always hot but variety poor, especially the Xmas dinner. Our young waiter was very pleasant. Toast at breakfast was always cold and I think they just popped in toastr and took out straight away. Asked about bingo on first night and was told it would be played if enough people wanted to play but none of the staff enquired if people wanted to play so it was just on the last night.First night entertainment was not announced and the artists was singing to about 4 people till people realised where the entertainment room was. We had quite a nice room but very cold as the wind blew in from the windows and th window ledge was always wet. Will not be going on anymore trips to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you do not mind being miles from nearest village on a main road-great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank winnieinWalkden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay, we try to give as much information as possible when you arrive, there is also a hotel notice board plus bedroom information pack and as we are a very small hotel with public areas ie bar, restaurant and entertainment room all leading from the main reception area on the ground floor I am not sure how the entertainment could be missed, we cannot force guests to attend either the entertainment provided or make them play bingo so if anything is under attended I am afraid there is very little we can do.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Small and welcoming, homely feel with its real log fire. Best Shearings hotel to date. In the middle of nowhere, so don't bank on any walks out .Nicely decorated,large rooms, if a little chilly initially but ask for the heating controls to be overrided and things warm up.
Drinks are a bit pricey but a good selection and nice coffee selection . The food was of a good standard and vegetables fresh not the usual frozen offerings. Andy was very pleasant and efficient.
Would recommend as one of the better value for money Shearings hotels.My only gripe is Shearings pricing policy . Business, I know but it doesn't' make for my repeat business when they reward loyal returning customers by charging them 25% more then fellow passengers on the exact same holiday , and for that reason Shearings, and your careless disregard for customer retention ........I'm out.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and thank you for your praise concerning the hotel.
I am very sorry that you feel this way regarding pricing, it is normal practice for any holiday company to sell last minute holidays at reduced prices but it is not something we like to do. As a business we constantly review procedures and never disregard customer feedback. We always try to reward loyal customers and despite your comments I do hope you have a re-think and it does not stop you booking with us again.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We have just returned from a turkey and tinsel break with Shearings, we found the hotel to be of high quailty ,nice and quaint just a tad remote however that is not really an issue as the holiday includes excursions and if the weather is fine then there is a nice walk to Berkeley, The Hotel staff and management are all very friendly,effient and proffesional,Our room (30) was very clean,comfy with a nice view of the gardens, The food was excelent with a superb choice to suit all tastes, We had entertainment every evening which finished at 10.30, Our only very small gripe was that the bar drinks were a tad expensive. hence only a few people using the bar facility. Overall we would highly recomenned this hotel for a very nice relaxing friendly break. Many thanks

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
'Perfect' Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so pleased you had a nice relaxing break and it is great that you are happy to recommend us to others.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Just back last Friday 13th from this Hotel with Shearings. Hotel in the middle of nowhere. No footpaths. No shops or anything nearby - 3 mile walk to nearest village or £16 return taxi.
Food started off Monday night ok but by Thursday night poor. Christmas Day dinner ok - no alternative offered to red wine offered at Christmas Meal. No Christmas tea on Thursday just cup of tea and mince pie.. Singers only entertainment on each evening. Christmas Spirit not in evidence . Driver on Friday took us off to Cirencester for a couple of hours and then on to a very quick drop off at Mowbrey (5 mins to drop of passengers) and then all we had was a 20 minute break at Reading and then on to Gateway -not ideal return journey.

Room Tip: Hotel suitable for stop overs and for those having their own transport
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carol b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
We do our best in the hope that everyone has a good time here at the hotel but unfortunately we are not always able to achieve this, location is not something we can change, nor do we have control over the coach journeys but we pride ourselves in providing good food, clean accommodation, friendly staff and great entertainment, I am sorry in this instance you felt you did not receive this.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Well what lovely place to stay ,, upon our arrival we were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist who booked us in and directed us to our room and a very comfortable room it was .. Lovely bed and furniture ... Very nice bathroom with shower over bath ... Meals were excellent and served by very polite staff ,,, which brings me to two very helpful and profession bar staff those being Zoe and Sam but may I say that other bar staff were very good too but I failed to get their names.
Anyone that has stayed at the Bay Prince of Wales and writes of poor findings are obviously on the scrounge (professional and habitual complainers) - plenty of people that set out to do this.

Room Tip: If physically challenged then ask for a ground floor room when booking as wasn't aware of a lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CliveT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your weekend with us, it is lovely for the staff to get such praise and even more so to get a special mention, they all work very hard and are a great little team.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We went with Shearings by coach on a Turkey and Tinsel 5 day break, there were outings everyday. This was essential as there was no foot path from hotel to walk or any town nearby. I thought this may be a problem, but it turned out to be the opposite, we were entertained all day and evening. The best quality evening entertainment and prime places to visit daily. The food was of very high standard and could not fault the service from Hotel and coach driver, Alan. Everything and everyone was excellent including the other fellow passengers. Thank you everyone for a most enjoyable time, not forgetting our other coach drivers who tok us to and from Clacton. Merry Christmas!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hildagronk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for your 'excellent' review I will ensure your comments are passed on to all concerned as it is lovely to receive your praise.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
394 reviews
5.0 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
5.9 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel
21.4 mi away
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Malt House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Prince of Wales Hotel

Property: Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
Address: Berkeley Rd, Berkeley GL13 9HD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outskirts of the historic town of Berkeley, on the edge of the Cotswolds, the Prince of Wales Hotel is a former public house built 150 years ago. Full of character and maintaining some original features, this hotel is south of Gloucester and just a short drive to the small local towns of Dursley and Stroud. The hotel has a pleasant restaurant opening onto pretty gardens and a patio area. The Prince’s Bar and reception were recently refurbished creating a warm and welcoming environment. You can enjoy the extensive bar menu at lunchtimes and evenings as well as wonderful local ales. The Prince of Wales Hotel is the perfect base for exploring the Cotswolds and the many other attractions that this part of the country has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing