We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bay Prince of Wales Sunday Carvery”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bay Prince of Wales Sunday Carvery”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Superb Food from Marie and Kerry, Great Service from Sam and Jess, welcoming reception from Louise. No better value traditional Sunday Lunch in the UK. Homely atmosphere.Hence why we've been going there regularly for 15 years. Nothing too much trouble and an assurance of being well looked after.Have no fears when taking family and friends, all have enjoyed their lunch and come back for more

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to send in such a lovely review, all the staff mentioned will be pleased to know they are so appreciated, we also value your loyalty to us and as always its a pleasure to see you both, we look forward to looking after you for the next 15years.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    156
    57
    19
    5
See reviews for
52
265
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mold, Flintshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at the Prince of Wales at the end of March on a Shearings break.
In terms of value for money the hotel cannot be faulted. The room was warm, spacious and comfortable. The food was excellent - there may not be a massive choice, but the quality was extremely good. The staff were friendly and helpful - special mention of Steve our waiter. The entire hotel is spotlessly clean.
The only downside is that the hotel stands on its own and public transport is very limited - there is only one bus passing the hotel between Berkeley and Dursley very occasionally. However, if you have your own transport the location is good for a variety of places to visit. With that in mind we have booked to return for a week in June - under our own steam. Looking forward to it!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for you review 'Excellent Value' is exactly what we aim for. (You mention the slight downside due to location so to compensate we do put on carefully planned daily coach trips which hopefully cater for most). Look forward to seeing you again in June and hopefully you will bring the sunshine with you!!

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The food was nice, like home cooked meals. there was even entertainment in the evenings too. The rooms were very clean and staff very friendly too. Was good value for money and would return again. Nice places to visit in the surrounding area like Bath and Bristol and Gloucester

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BedfordJuliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your review, I will pass it on to the relevant departments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grimsby
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Just back from a 4 night break at the "Prince of Wales". Our room number 8 was situated on the ground floor and looked out on a grass meadow at the rear of the hotel. The room was functional comfortable and clean with a good sized bathroom. We had two small niggles, a very small wardrobe and a faulty shaving light (reported but not fixed) but for the price paid insignificant.
Public rooms were fine but the entertainment lounge lacked atmosphere and we spent most evenings in the comfortable bar area. Reception and Restaurant staff were friendly and helpful and our young waiter "Migel" tried very hard to keep everyone happy. Migel was obviously new and struggled a little with the language but was a most pleasant young man who deserves to prosper. Likewise Samantha (who I think was in charge) helped without undermining his confidence. There was a decent selection of food to choose from, tasty soups, starters, and main courses to suit all tastes and some first rate puddings.
Thursday nights bar man could have done with some training, he gave the impression that he would prefer to be elsewhere, and when I returned three glasses to the bar and asked for another two drinks ,he poured them into two of the dirty glasses (not even asking which required refilling) . However a small blip which did not spoil what was a very enjoyable stay. Would I recommend to friends? Have already done so.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ragrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send in your review, I will ensure the staff involved receive your praise. I apologise for the issue with the shaver point - due to health and safety policy electrical work must be carried out by a qualified electrician so unfortunately we are not always able to do immmediate repairs. I take on board your comments regarding the bar and will make sure the person concerned does indeed receive more training, even 'small blips' need to be addressed.
Im glad you had an enjoyable stay and that you feel able to recommend us to your friends.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have just returned from a very pleasant stay in the Prince of Wales Hotel where the room we had was unexpectedly a suite, the food was good and varied and all but one of the staff were excellent. I was really diappointed that there was no real ale until the Thursday (we arrived on Monday) as this had been one of the selling points in deciding which holiday to choose. I was even more disappointed when I tasted the beer on Thursday and found out how lovely it was!
One gripe: now I am not a devotee of Bingo but on Wednesday, several people wanted to play so my Mother and I said we would join in. One of the receptioninst said if we got ten people, we could play. The onus did seem rather to be on us than on her to rally the troops. However, ten willing participants were found but then, we were told that because another ten didn't want to play, it wasn;t worth it! A few people were a bit put out by this and I was ceratinly put out on the one night that Bingo did occur when I tried to buy five tickets rather than six and was spoken to by the same receptionist who had decided we couldn't play with ten people as if I was mentally deficient. We felt that her manner was inappropriate and she did not seem to subscribe to the view that customers are there to be looked after and treated with respect
This however did not stop us from enjoying our stay and Tracey and Javier in particular were fantastic hosts. Dave Hughes gave us a great night of entertainment on Tuesday although I didn't realise that in this day and age anyone would still make jokes about the Irish being dim.....
All in all a great break and well worth the money

Room Tip: Room 33 is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catlynda60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments and sorry you missed your bingo - it is difficult to get people to take part if they dont want to and sometimes the guests that are keen can be left disappointed if not enough takers. Glad you finally got to taste our superb real ale, I too am disappointed that I wasn't made aware earlier that we had run out as it would have been rectified sooner had I known, as I explained when you were here it was mainly due to keeping stocks low during all-inclusive which we had been running prior your holiday. I will pass on your comments to the relevant staff and am pleased it did not spoil your time here and you had a 'great break'

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

after enjoying many Shearings and Bay Hotel breaks this was the tops All the staff were friendly and Helpful rooms were large and kept clean .There was a varied choice on the menu and it was appetising and well presented Kathy North was the entertainment Saturday and was a last minute replacement would have loved to see the original act as Kathy was brilliant.All in all agreat break and good value

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brandonboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
A lovely review - thank you. I will pass on your comments to Kathy and all the staff.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Well this was not what we have been used to in any of the hotels that we have ever stayed in before.
we were not allowed to have anything to eat in the Resturant we had to have something from the bar I will say that what I had was lovely but what my husband had was most deffenetly not .

Room Tip: Didn't see any other rooms so couldn't comment on them but ours was clean and tidy even thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorraine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for posting your review, I have spoken to the person who gave you the information, she says she explained the restaurant served a set menu for our dinner bed & breakfast guests and that whilst you could eat there most B&B guests chose to eat in the bar. The bar menu is more suited to individual tastes and the times are more flexible enabling you to eat later. You did n,t say what your husband had to eat and I'm sorry he didnt enjoy it but am unable to investigate further without more information.
Toiletries are available free from reception which is listed in the room information pack.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley
4.3 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
5.0 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,549 reviews
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
681 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
155 reviews
5.6 mi away
Travelodge Stonehouse
Travelodge Stonehouse
#2 of 2 in Stonehouse
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Prince of Wales Hotel

Property: Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
Address: Berkeley Rd, Berkeley GL13 9HD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outskirts of the historic town of Berkeley, on the edge of the Cotswolds, the Prince of Wales Hotel is a former public house built 150 years ago. Full of character and maintaining some original features, this hotel is south of Gloucester and just a short drive to the small local towns of Dursley and Stroud. The hotel has a pleasant restaurant opening onto pretty gardens and a patio area. The Prince’s Bar and reception were recently refurbished creating a warm and welcoming environment. You can enjoy the extensive bar menu at lunchtimes and evenings as well as wonderful local ales. The Prince of Wales Hotel is the perfect base for exploring the Cotswolds and the many other attractions that this part of the country has to offer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing