We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We live locally and decided to have sunday lunch here rather than go to Thornbury, which has a much better choice of eateries, but is 10 miles away. On entering the hotel, it was ridiculously dark and badly lit, which was not at all welcoming. There was hardly any lighting in the lounge bar area and lobby and the blinds were half drawn on the windows. We had lunch from the calvery which was a choice of beef, pork or turkey for about £10 for a main course. The meat portion was quite small, 3 small slices, but you could help yourself to potatoes and veg. It was ok, very bland and a bit like school dinners. We declined the desserts. Bar staff were a bit distracted. Don't think we will visit again, as it was a bit of a let down and there are better places to eat in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Curlywurly78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for your review, I am very disappointed you did n't enjoy your meal here, we have many Sunday lunch guests who visit us on a regular basis along with new customers every week and we generally receive excellent feedback. Usually lunch guests eat in the restaurant rather than the bar so I am assuming this was either your choice or that we were full on the day. As with any restaurant I am sure you appreciate the need to control wastage and if you had asked for more meat when you were at the carvery the chef would have been happy to oblige.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 451 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

After many years with other self drive companies this was our first time with Shearings ( Bay Hotels ) It will not be the last. Comfort & service were excellent. This was a budget break but didn,t feel like one. We were well looked after by all the staff and the food was excellent ( though portions were rather small ) There were drinks included and weekend enterainment was very good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to send in a review, its great to hear how much you enjoyed your first Bay Hotels self drive break at The Prince of Wales. We look forward to your return.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were on a Sheaings 4 night mid-week holiday. We had a lovely, spacious room (34) with four poster bed and it was very well furnished. It was very warm and comfortable, clean and tidy and the bathroom was entirely satisfactory. The meals, though maybe on the small side for some, were perfectly adequate for us with a good variety most evenings. The restaurant staff were friendly, efficient, pleasant and helpful and it was nice to have the same table allocated throughout our stay. We did not avail ourselves of the entertainment but it was seemingly enjoyed by others in our party. We had no problems accessing the wifi and found a good selection of drinks available in the bar. The bar staff were friendly and hard working. The only complaint we had, one shared by others judging by the reviews, was that the public areas were far too cold to sit in comfortably. Apart from this one drawback we would heartily recommend this holiday for the hotel, the inclusive sightseeing and the professionalism and friendliness of our Shearings coach driver, Steve, aka Spike! A thoroughly enjoyable holiday. Anne and Colin.

Room Tip: Pat a small supplement for a Premier Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank-you for your review (I hope you don't mind me correcting you but for future guests who may wish to request the room it is rm 32) I'm pleased you had a very enjoyable stay but I am also sorry you felt it a bit cold in certain areas of the hotel, it is very difficult with the varying temperatures to get it right on some days and would just urge any guest to inform us if they are too hot or too cold so we can try to adjust it accordingly. I will pass on your praise to the staff and of course to Steve aka 'Spike'

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a Shearings hotel, and we've stayed in quite a few over the last 8 years for short breaks. As always, this was a budget break, but nevertheless, a very nice one. We'd booked 3 nights, Friday through Monday and got a February deal of £84 per person for half-board - excellent value! There is plenty of free parking. We were welcomed to the hotel and our rooms were ready on time. My sister and her husband joined us on this break. We were all given complimentary vouchers for 4 bar drinks each for the Saturday night - a nice little bonus. The hotel was nice and warm in what was a particularly cold spell. The food was very good throughout and the service, in the restaurant and elsewhere, was also very good. Free secure wifi was available and proved useful. They have a small games room with a pool table, which is free. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed an excellent break here that really helped us forget the cold and damp weather! We visited Slimbridge Wetland Centre (very nearby) and Gloucester (around 18 miles). If you go to Gloucester seek out the tearoom at the cathedral itself - excellent value. We had been dithering over where to go for a break in March, but soon sorted that with an excellent deal at another Shearings hotel. We were given 40% off brochure price for booking before you leave your current break. These are not luxury breaks, but they're good and you can afford a lot more of them!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0hn1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for sending in your review, hopefully it gives other guests a good idea of what to expect when they visit us. Im so pleased you had a lovely time at the hotel and were able to get out and about visiting the area. I hope you have a great time on your next Shearings break and as you say excellent value!!

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just returned from five wonderful davs at The Prince of Wales Hotel, Looked after like Royalty by Melanie and her lovely staff, nothing was too much trouble for them, rooms were clean warm and very comfortable, there was a patio door looking out across fields, we were given a ground floor room as I use a walking frame. The three course meals were always well presented and plates were always hot We were .enterained on three evenings ,which was very profesional. We went on a coach with Shearings the driver Steve was really helpful and a good crowd of passengers all went to make the trip special, Would highly recomend this Hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: The Hotel has only two floors no lift so if you have a mobility problem ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review, it gives us all such a boost to know that we are appreciated and it was a pleasure looking after you. I will pass your comments on to all the staff including Steve (the driver) who although fairly new to the tour and hotel is definately an asset.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Having had a knee replacement, we were looking for somewhere near to home for me to get back on my feet. The hotel does not really cater for disabled, but nothing was too much trouble for the staff. An extra chair to go in the bathroom to enable me to transfer to the bath seat they provided, was just one of the helpful suggestions reception offered. Good food, hot and varied menus, happy cheerful staff and a lovely sunny room (no.5) overlooking the fields at the back, made our 10 days stay a joy. We are going back again for a weekend in March. If you find fault with this hotel, you are just too fussy!!!!

Room Tip: rooms 3 to 8 overlook the rear, therefor quieter (some train noise - not late at night tho') Sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAH1266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review, we look forward to seeing you both again in March and hope your knees better - next visit we expect to see you up and dancing !!

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Were booked for two weeks earlier. Deep snow made travelling then impossible. Head office very understanding and re-booked for later. Nothing too much trouble for the staff.
Not luxury- but was ok for us to visit friends who live in the area.
A few more parking places designated for disabled would be beneficial.
There are only three at present!
Would stay again.

Room Tip: No lift! If limited mobility ask for ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NannaHolywell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for your comments I will pass them on to all the staff. I appreciate your ideas about disabled parking but as the car park is directly in front of the hotel entrance, quite large and flat we feel this is adequate, if you dedicate more disabled spaces they can then only be used by blue badge holders therefore preventing other guests who although not necessarily registered as disabled may need to park close to the hotel also. Any guests may park directly outside the entrance to unload and we are always happy to assist with luggage etc if needed.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley
5.6 mi away
Travelodge Stonehouse
Travelodge Stonehouse
#2 of 2 in Stonehouse
187 reviews
5.0 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
95 reviews
5.9 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South M5, Jct 12
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Prince of Wales Hotel

Address: Berkeley Rd, Berkeley GL13 9HD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range: $76 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outskirts of the historic town of Berkeley, on the edge of the Cotswolds, the Prince of Wales Hotel is a former public house built 150 years ago. Full of character and maintaining some original features, this hotel is south of Gloucester and just a short drive to the small local towns of Dursley and Stroud. The hotel has a pleasant restaurant opening onto pretty gardens and a patio area. The Prince’s Bar and reception were recently refurbished creating a warm and welcoming environment. You can enjoy the extensive bar menu at lunchtimes and evenings as well as wonderful local ales. The Prince of Wales Hotel is the perfect base for exploring the Cotswolds and the many other attractions that this part of the country has to offer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing