We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant midweek break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just returned from five wonderful davs at The Prince of Wales Hotel, Looked after like Royalty by Melanie and her lovely staff, nothing was too much trouble for them, rooms were clean warm and very comfortable, there was a patio door looking out across fields, we were given a ground floor room as I use a walking frame. The three course meals were always well presented and plates were always hot We were .enterained on three evenings ,which was very profesional. We went on a coach with Shearings the driver Steve was really helpful and a good crowd of passengers all went to make the trip special, Would highly recomend this Hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: The Hotel has only two floors no lift so if you have a mobility problem ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review, it gives us all such a boost to know that we are appreciated and it was a pleasure looking after you. I will pass your comments on to all the staff including Steve (the driver) who although fairly new to the tour and hotel is definately an asset.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 451 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

Having had a knee replacement, we were looking for somewhere near to home for me to get back on my feet. The hotel does not really cater for disabled, but nothing was too much trouble for the staff. An extra chair to go in the bathroom to enable me to transfer to the bath seat they provided, was just one of the helpful suggestions reception offered. Good food, hot and varied menus, happy cheerful staff and a lovely sunny room (no.5) overlooking the fields at the back, made our 10 days stay a joy. We are going back again for a weekend in March. If you find fault with this hotel, you are just too fussy!!!!

Room Tip: rooms 3 to 8 overlook the rear, therefor quieter (some train noise - not late at night tho') Sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAH1266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review, we look forward to seeing you both again in March and hope your knees better - next visit we expect to see you up and dancing !!

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Were booked for two weeks earlier. Deep snow made travelling then impossible. Head office very understanding and re-booked for later. Nothing too much trouble for the staff.
Not luxury- but was ok for us to visit friends who live in the area.
A few more parking places designated for disabled would be beneficial.
There are only three at present!
Would stay again.

Room Tip: No lift! If limited mobility ask for ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NannaHolywell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for your comments I will pass them on to all the staff. I appreciate your ideas about disabled parking but as the car park is directly in front of the hotel entrance, quite large and flat we feel this is adequate, if you dedicate more disabled spaces they can then only be used by blue badge holders therefore preventing other guests who although not necessarily registered as disabled may need to park close to the hotel also. Any guests may park directly outside the entrance to unload and we are always happy to assist with luggage etc if needed.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Just returned from a 5 day Shearings trip to this hotel with another couple. Had a brilliant week. Hotel was clean warm and comfortable. Having seen some reviews about it being cold and small portions at mealtime I must comment that we found these not to be correct. Hotel was warm in fact we had to turn our radiators down in bedrooms. Food was very good and one night we did ask for more vegetables and staff were happy to oblige. All staff from cleaners and night porter to the general manager were excellent and very helpful, especially Tracey who took a lot of cheek from our friend in good spirit. Overall excellent value, good trips and fully recommended. Have done quite a few Shearings trips this is one of my favourites.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PattiNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review, I will pass on your comments to all the staff as it is great to know we are appreciated.
We look forward to seeing you all again - even the cheeky one!
Thank you once again.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have just returned from another visit to The Bay Prince of Wales. This was our second New Year break and surpassed last year. Some of the staff had changed but the warm welcome and excellant party mood was of the highest quality. We were lucky enough to have the same rooms as before and immediately felt at home.My wife being a celiac presented no problems for the chef who checked daily to make sure the food was ok.Thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants value for money.

Room Tip: From what I saw all rooms are of the same quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for your review, its important to me to know that despite some staff changes you still received the same warm welcome you had on previous visits and that it was even better than last year, a great achievment for all of us here at the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

What a fantastic way to see in the new year! This was our 4th visit to this hotel. As always a very warm welcome from the manager Melanie and all of her fabulous team, Hotel is very cosy and warm, excellent variety of food, and great entertainment hosted by Clive Cope. We have already booked again for next New Year.


Annette and Karl Stringfellow
Somerset

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stringfellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, as always its great to see you both and its fantastic to know that once again you thoroughly enjoyed your new year break with us and have re-booked for next year. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Before my visit I read some of the reviews which had been left by other visitors to the hotel.. I had prepared myself for a cold room, with no heating... MISTAKE my room was in fact very cosy and warm. The Hotel was clean, my only advise would be to update it a little but apart from that its great.
The staff were very helpful and friendly, I would stay at this Hotel again if in the area.

Room Tip: If you want internet rom 42 is the one for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review - we look forward to welcoming you again when you are in the area.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley
5.6 mi away
Travelodge Stonehouse
Travelodge Stonehouse
#2 of 2 in Stonehouse
186 reviews
5.0 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
93 reviews
5.9 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South M5, Jct 12
19.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Prince of Wales Hotel

Address: Berkeley Rd, Berkeley GL13 9HD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range: $77 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outskirts of the historic town of Berkeley, on the edge of the Cotswolds, the Prince of Wales Hotel is a former public house built 150 years ago. Full of character and maintaining some original features, this hotel is south of Gloucester and just a short drive to the small local towns of Dursley and Stroud. The hotel has a pleasant restaurant opening onto pretty gardens and a patio area. The Prince’s Bar and reception were recently refurbished creating a warm and welcoming environment. You can enjoy the extensive bar menu at lunchtimes and evenings as well as wonderful local ales. The Prince of Wales Hotel is the perfect base for exploring the Cotswolds and the many other attractions that this part of the country has to offer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing