We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than last year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have just returned from another visit to The Bay Prince of Wales. This was our second New Year break and surpassed last year. Some of the staff had changed but the warm welcome and excellant party mood was of the highest quality. We were lucky enough to have the same rooms as before and immediately felt at home.My wife being a celiac presented no problems for the chef who checked daily to make sure the food was ok.Thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants value for money.

Room Tip: From what I saw all rooms are of the same quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for your review, its important to me to know that despite some staff changes you still received the same warm welcome you had on previous visits and that it was even better than last year, a great achievment for all of us here at the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 455 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

What a fantastic way to see in the new year! This was our 4th visit to this hotel. As always a very warm welcome from the manager Melanie and all of her fabulous team, Hotel is very cosy and warm, excellent variety of food, and great entertainment hosted by Clive Cope. We have already booked again for next New Year.


Annette and Karl Stringfellow
Somerset

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stringfellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, as always its great to see you both and its fantastic to know that once again you thoroughly enjoyed your new year break with us and have re-booked for next year. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Before my visit I read some of the reviews which had been left by other visitors to the hotel.. I had prepared myself for a cold room, with no heating... MISTAKE my room was in fact very cosy and warm. The Hotel was clean, my only advise would be to update it a little but apart from that its great.
The staff were very helpful and friendly, I would stay at this Hotel again if in the area.

Room Tip: If you want internet rom 42 is the one for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review - we look forward to welcoming you again when you are in the area.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Had a lovely stay with family and friends from 30th nov - 3rd Dec, with national holidays, the staff were very good and always helpful, the only complaint i have is the entertainment room was quite cold and after been out all day in cold weather i didnt want to be sat in a cold room all night, on the saturday i left the room and went to my bedroom to have a hot drink, the bar area is also quite cool unless you are sat at the end were the log fire is and it was always the same people sat there blocking off the heat from the rest of the room All in all i enjoyed my stay, but maybe turn heating up in the bar and entertainment room

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ade58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to send in a review, Im pleased you had a lovely stay and just sorry you found it a bit chilly in the evenings, the entertainment room is quite large and if empty all day it can take a while to warm up, We are always looking to improve things and appreciate feedback but I would advise any guest to please let a member of staff know if there is something you are not happy with so we have the opportunity to put it right wherever possible, we want everyone to have a great holiday and enjoy all of their time here.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The old adage of 'you get what you pay for' is certainly true in this instance. My husband and I found Bay Hotels on the internet and decided to try one of the five day breaks ofered. I must admit it was cheap as hotel prices go, so perhaps we should not have expected too much.

The information book in our room stated that there was free wi-fi, but this was impossible to use. After trying four different times and in different downstairs areas over two days, one of the reception staff told us that if the live-in staff had their i-phones on, or were using their laptops, this was why we could not get a signal. What a waste of time.

We arrived late on Monday afternoon and spent the Tuesday out and about. On the Wednesday the weather was atrocious and so we decided to stay in the hotel until after lunch. After about three hours of sitting in the cold - it seemed there was no heating anywhere we could find in the hotel, including our room - we decided we could not stay any longer. As far as we could see the heating came on for a short period of time in the morning and then again in the evening. I can understand that cutbacks have to be made in these difficult times, but we found this completely unacceptable with the temperatures dropping toward the end of November. At this point we decided to cut our losses and leave, not wanting to face another two days staying in a cold, uncomfortable hotel out of choice.

The evening meal was, although quite tasty, very sparce and many people around us could be heard to complain because the 'chef's special' had all gone when they arrived in the dining room, even after coming early because the same thing had happened the previous evening.

Two of the hotel staff (the Scottish bar man and one of the Receptionists. I don't know her name but she also called the bingo numbers in the evening) were really pleasant and most helpful, a real asset to the hotel, but unfortunately this did not make up for a dismal stay.

The evening entertainment, although we were only there for two evenings, was very enjoyable.

I don't think we will be staying at a Bay Hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank retired35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thankyou for sending in your comments, like you I am also disappointed, it is such a shame that you didnt report these things to myself whilst at the hotel as they could so easily have been rectified. I was working on the reception desk on the day you left and the impression you gave was that you were fed up with the weather (a large area around the hotel was flooded and people were having difficulties getting around that day) and not the heating. It is timed but as most of our guests go out during the day there is not normally an issue, it can be over ridden if needed and we will happily do this if asked to.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

we stayed here for 2 nights, we had a family wedding in the area so this was very convenient. meals were nice not big, no wifi in the rooms and no freeview in our room, the others in our party did thought, staff very friendly. pleasant enough place. not very lively in the evening but as we were at a wedding the second night that was fine. we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigsutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Im glad you had a good stay and hope you enjoyed the wedding, thank you for taking the time to post a review as its good to get feedback from all our guests whether on holiday or visiting for a family occasion as yourselves.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We drove ourselves and met our friends who we have known for almost 50 years and now live at the other side of the country.
When we arrived on Friday afternoon we were welcomed by very friendly staff who made us feel we had known them before, the Manager was on duty and sat in the bar so she could hear new arrivals first impressions and improve if necessary, though our comments were all positive. We were very lucky as I think our room was upgraded but all the rooms were pretty good I believe, although a little 'tired' very clean and tidied and vacuumed daily ( my only criticism was that the net curtains needed a freshen up!).
The food was great for us, we found that three courses which were on offer were plenty for our appetites and if extra toast or anything else was requested we got it!
I hope we can go to Shearings Hotels again and will consider the Prince of Wales again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you so much for your review - wonderful value for money is a great heading along with your recommendation for other guests to visit us. We look forward to welcoming you again and the net curtains are being dealt with as I write.
(I was actually off duty when you arrived but what better way is there to reccommend our food than to eat it myself and yes it is a great way to get feed back when incognito!!)

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley
5.6 mi away
Travelodge Stonehouse
Travelodge Stonehouse
#2 of 2 in Stonehouse
192 reviews
5.9 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
715 reviews
5 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
454 reviews
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South M5, Jct 12
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Prince of Wales Hotel

Address: Berkeley Rd, Berkeley GL13 9HD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range: $90 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outskirts of the historic town of Berkeley, on the edge of the Cotswolds, the Prince of Wales Hotel is a former public house built 150 years ago. Full of character and maintaining some original features, this hotel is south of Gloucester and just a short drive to the small local towns of Dursley and Stroud. The hotel has a pleasant restaurant opening onto pretty gardens and a patio area. The Prince’s Bar and reception were recently refurbished creating a warm and welcoming environment. You can enjoy the extensive bar menu at lunchtimes and evenings as well as wonderful local ales. The Prince of Wales Hotel is the perfect base for exploring the Cotswolds and the many other attractions that this part of the country has to offer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing