We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good three day break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Decided to have a break when we got email 2days get 3rd free .Chose this hotel as it was only a couple of hours drive away. We had a great time Hotel was very good ,food was excellent as were the staff ,room was good ,and entertainment first class.There was plenty to see in the area ,we had a lovely day in Gloucester and another in Bath,and on the way home we visited Bourton on the Water and Stow on the Wold. Would definitely go again.

Room Tip: We asked for low floor as there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marilyn020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

A lovely review - Thankyou, we look forward to seeing you again.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 441 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

We took my two sisters for a long weekend at the end of September, the rooms and food were very good (we heard no traffic) as usual and chef was wonderful as I have a problem with some food, she cooked me some lovely meals.

The entertainment was easily the best we have ever had at a Shearings and we have had some good entertainers in the past, our compliments to the two great entertainers.

The only down side was that it was very cold in the rooms, we were not the only ones to complain, when we mentioned it we were told we were the third people that evening. however we were told the controls are handled by head office and nothing could be done about it, the manager did however offer a small heater though it barely took the cold off of the room, when will hotels for seniors realise that we do have a problem with the cold.
The heat did not go on in the morning either and my 82 year old sister was extremely cold.

The staff were quite friendly though my husband did hear the manager shout at one of the bar staff one evening(not really appropriate in front of paying guests maybe he had an off day)

All in all quite a nice few days.but please heat it up a bit.

Room Tip: try to get a room overlooking the gardens, a lovely view and quiet as well. Also if you feel the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thankyou for your review, I am so glad you had a good holiday and were well looked after by the head chef and staff and enjoyed the excellent entertainment. Its a shame you had a problem with the temperature in your room, it is always difficult at this time of year becasue the weather varies so much and although the heating is timed it can be over-ridden if needed, unfortunately the staff may not always realise this because they are moving around a lot so do tend to rely on our guests telling them, everyone is different and whilst some people feel the cold others do not so we try to accommodate everyone which is why we provide extra portable heaters if required.
(Could I please point out that the member of staff your husband overheard was not myself, not only am I female but I would never shout at any staff nor would I approve of any of my heads of department doing so, as you quite rightly say it is not appropriate whatever kind of day he was having and whatever the problem was it should be handled differently. I can only apologise that you witnessed it)

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Prince of Wales Hotel twice this year - once in Spring and once in Autumn. The Hotel is somewhat remote and unless you are with a coach party, a car is essential. We use the hotel as a base for walking in the Cotswolds, where excellent walks are to be found a mere half hours drive away.
We have found the hotel comfortable, clean and the catering is of a very acceptable quality with service of a good standard.The management is efficient and friendly .
For anyone seeking to enjoy this beautiful part of Gloucestershire, we regard the Prince of Wales as a very pleasant hotel from which to explore the area.

Room Tip: Shearings ask travellers to indicate their requrements when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank-you for your review, I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found plenty of places to explore whilst you were here. Its great that you have, once again used the Prince of Wales Hotel as your base for touring this beautiful part of the Cotswolds and we look forward to seeing you both in the not too distant future.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Spent a few days in September.the weather was wonderful. we asked for a ground floor room owing to my wifes disablity. had she been unable to walk at all the room would not have been suitable because of the steps leading up to it. The toilet was a shocker. It need to be flushed 5 times and even then it did,nt empty . I asked reception twice to have it repaired but to no avail {room number 1}
On the plus side the food was ok, the staff in the dining room were very attentive.
The main artist never turned up on the last night and many of the guests were not very happy. The price of drinks at the bar were way over the top and overhaul not the best shearings hotel and I have stayed at quite a few .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 908colin908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for taking time out to post a review, I'm sorry you had problems with the flush in your bathroom but as you can imagine these things occasionally occur and it is not always possible to carry out repairs immediately due to either the complexity of the problem or obtaining replacement parts. With reference to the artist not appearing on the last evening this was not something that we are able to foresee and apologies were made on behalf of the entertainment agency. Bar prices are standard within the company but do compare favourably to other hotels and public houses in the locality.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel is situated on the very busy A38 main road, we were allocated Room 28 which overlooks the garden and also the A38, you can here the traffic noise in the room 24 hours, you have to have the windows open for fresh air, which makes the noise worse, you cannot even here the television unless you have the volume up high,better noise reduction is required, there was a lack of drawer space to put clothes in, the bathroom required refurbishing/cleaning,overall the facilities in the bedroom was good. We found the food very good with plenty of choice every day. This hotel is well placed for visiting the surrounding area and alright for a short break.

Room Tip: rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter if avaiable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank graham n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank-you for your review, I would like to point out that room 28 does not actually overlook the A38 as it is separated by gardens, other parts of the building and high trees and is well away from the road, some noise may ocasionally be heard from the traffic depending on volume, some days are busyier than others but it does n't generally create a problem to guests, it may be more noticeable if you live in a very quiet area and used to no noise at all at night. Im glad you enjoyed other aspects of your holiday and was able to get out and about to visit the surrounding area.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Once again spent a lovely holiday here at this hotel. All the staff as usual were excellent as was the food. My Husband was poorly towards end of holiday and they could not have been kinder. The luggage was put in car for me and when we got home they rang to check we had arrived back safely as i had to drive home to Solihull.
Saturday and Sunday was marred by some idiot who obviously would not be happy with any kind of service given, his behaviour was witnessed by 8 other couples. Hope we do not meet him again in the future!
Once again Melanie and all staff Thankyou for a wonderful holiday and we will see you at Christmas. Margaret & Ken.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

As always its a pleasure to see you both, by the number of times you ve stayed here we know you enjoy your holidays but its still nice that you still take time to post a review and its a lovely way to show you appreciate everything we do. We do our best to give all our guests a good experience and hopefully we achieve that most of the time. All of us look forward to seeing you again at Christmas and hope your feeling better very soon.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We came here for a family get together, it served the purpose but we reduced the average age of the clientele by about 40 years :-)
Breakfast was good, fresh and quick, dinner was shockingly bad. Waiters were very good, bar staff friendly but not very knowledgeable.
All in all, perfect if you are of a certain age!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boohockeybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you for your review, our hotels are aimed primarily at the 50+ age bracket although we welcome guests of any age whether 'young or old' as im sure all the members of your party will acknowledge. Im sorry you felt the menu was n,t to your taste but im sure you realise we all have different tastes and requirements and it is impossible to please everyone although we do try. My bar manager is currently on holiday so we have had younger less experienced staff covering and although not as knowledgeable are hopefully 'polite, friendly and helpful'.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley
5.0 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
40 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
5.6 mi away
Travelodge Stonehouse
Travelodge Stonehouse
#2 of 2 in Stonehouse
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
444 reviews
5.9 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
696 reviews
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South M5, Jct 12
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Prince of Wales Hotel

Address: Berkeley Rd, Berkeley GL13 9HD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range: $90 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outskirts of the historic town of Berkeley, on the edge of the Cotswolds, the Prince of Wales Hotel is a former public house built 150 years ago. Full of character and maintaining some original features, this hotel is south of Gloucester and just a short drive to the small local towns of Dursley and Stroud. The hotel has a pleasant restaurant opening onto pretty gardens and a patio area. The Prince’s Bar and reception were recently refurbished creating a warm and welcoming environment. You can enjoy the extensive bar menu at lunchtimes and evenings as well as wonderful local ales. The Prince of Wales Hotel is the perfect base for exploring the Cotswolds and the many other attractions that this part of the country has to offer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing