We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“medieval brillance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berkeley Castle

Berkeley Castle
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This intriguing castle has been the home of the Berkeley family for more than 850 years. It has been used a filming location for many period dramas, including the BBC's Wolf Hall, Galavant and The White Princess. It was the last place of residence of King Edward II, who was imprisoned in the castle and murdered within its walls. The Castle is open from Easter until the end of October, from Sunday until Wednesday each week. The Butterfly House is open from the beginning of May until the end of September from Sunday to Wednesday, walk amongst the stunning butterflies and tropical plants. A visit to the Yurt Tearoom is also a must! Please check our website for details open days and hours - we are always closed on Thursday, Friday and Saturday.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“medieval brillance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

History unsurpassed, butterfly house, they hold a medieval show once a year, certainly worth more than one visit

Helpful?
1 Thank carrieemz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    129
    22
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
240 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“worth a visit if you are touring in this area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We took a very good guided tour of the castle (at no extra charge) though you could also walk through at your own pace as well as there were information boards in every room. As is was early November the butterfly house in the grounds was closed it was also a bit wet to walk on the lawned areas of the garden but there are very nice terraced borders by the castle. The village of Berkeley is also worth walking round. Probably best to visit in the main season May - Sept to appreciate the garden and its best.
Parts of the castle are very old and the family still live in part of it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jlynch841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Small Castle great guides, stunning History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a very small Castle, but highly educational for me and my children.

It is truly necessary to climb several flights of stairs to see as much as possible on different levels, which I was quite concerned about, being partially disabled. I was exhausted from my condition, but would not have missed it.

The guides (I have visited three times with different friends and family) are exceptional, really bringing to life the story of this one family who have served at the right hand of many kings, in battle, through many hundreds of years. Superb oil paintings show many of the family, and events. For me, the first highlight was the world's first bible to be made in English, casually left lying around "until it rots", in the former chapel as one of the Lords Berkeley was not at all religious, or even caring for the value of this unique book to British History. You will also see the area where King Edward II was murdered.

Do examine the website carefully, as there are some worthwhile events held each year.

There is a small bookshop but with a very good selection of books (I bought several).

The tea shop is very basic.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Full of Interesting facts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was a bit apprehensive about this visit as I'm not really too into history. I very quickly changed my mind. Our guide, Mary was very knowledgable and made the 90 minute tour most interesting. The castle was a real eyeopener and so, so packed with interesting facts and events. The grounds were well kept but sadly it was not the best weather to wander around for too long. I don't think I would have been bored if the tour had been 3 hours. Thank you Mary

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ringolumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No Butterflies in October”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Although we enjoyed the castle, we do think there should have been a reduction in the price when the butterfly centre is closed. We took my 3 yr old today n had checked the main website before going. We wrongly assumed that - as you have to pay entrance for the Butterfly centre n Castle collectively, that that would mean they would both be open - WRONG! You can usually just pay to visit the Butterfly centre, so it is reasonable to expect a reduced price for the Castle when this facility is closed.

Having rechecked their website it did say the B Centre was closed under a different heading - still miffed at paying full wack but not getting full admission.

The place is generally expensive for the number of rooms open.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berkeley Castle also viewed

Castle Combe, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 

Been to Berkeley Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing