We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, hotel needs work”

Berkeley Arms Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berkeley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Berkeley Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Berkeley B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding at the Berkeley castle and the location is perfect, less than five minutes walk. The staff in the hotel were also very friendly. However there were some issues. We were in room 13 directly above the hotel function room and when we checked in, the lady showing us to our room immediately apologised that there was a Halloween disco that night, but that it would be finished by midnight latest. No problem, we said. So at half twelve, music still blaring out, was frustrating and then noise of clearing up and people leaving went on to one am. Not ideal. On addition, the velux windows in our room were the dirtiest windows I've ever seen, the pigeons nesting by our room made noises all night, the bathroom was rather grimly carpeted and the speed odd service at breakfast was painfully slow.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skarloc75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 70 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Ideally situated for access to either Bristol or Gloucester - very comfortable rooms and excellent food. Staff are very friendly but at times there is not enough of them to serve drinks, meals and check people in,(there is no reception as such) which is a shame. Overall I was happy with my stay despite the misgivings over staff numbers!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cornwall-blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Had a wedding at the castle. Hotel totally adequate. But not great. Reception in bar. Had sports on TV for locals when we arrived. Bedroom adequate for our short stay. Not great. No shampoo or conditioner in room which I was very disappointed in. Towel very sparse... If you were planning on getting ready for a wedding here ( we came showered - just had to change) you would be very lacking in facilities for the cost - £85. No hairdyer. No shampoo. one towel (for two of us) not great at all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank berkshirejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed at this superb hotel in order to attend a family christening. The staff are welcoming, the christening buffet was superb and the choice of real ales in the bar was outstanding. We stay here at least once a year and the hotel seems to go from strength to strength with each visit. Although the hotel doesn't serve foof on a Sunday evening the staff assured us that it would be no problem to eat a takeaway (locally sourced) in the bar are, it's not everyday that you hear that! The Full English Breakfast is still oustanding and sets you up for the day. Tracy, the owner, is friendly and efficient and has a very good memory for faces.

I highly recommend this hotel for its warm and welcoming ambience and for the friendly and attentive staff!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shipwright1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel old and full of character. On our arrival through the front door there was no Reception desk only a sign on the wall saying Reception this way which points to the Bar. Not a welcoming start.
The room was £85 per night and as a previous reviewer has already stated, not worth the money.
The room size was good but the telephone and hair dryer did not work. There was carpet in the bathroom which is a no no, together with cobwebs. There were wires sticking out of the bathroom wall which were taped up and no bath plug! The beds were comfortable but the bedside table could have done with a small lamp on it.

The restaurant was very good and value for money. The breakfast was also very good. Staff were very friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: If you do choose a room at this hotel ask for one at the front of the hotel as the rooms at the rear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roger c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We returned last weekend when again in the area for a family function. We were not let down, we had huge rooms at the top of the building. Just as we remembered it with friendly helpful staff. The hotel iron could not be found and the staff offered to iron shirts for us on their industrial iron and returned them to our rooms. We had sandwiches in the bar with lovely thick tasty ham. Will be my first choice again if we should return to the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We booked the whole hotel for a wedding party. It was very refreshing to find this done on a handshake and not a huge deposit, allowing guests to pay individually on arrival.
The rooms are of various sizes and all very good value for money. The bar was open late for guests which was also welcome.
The best part for me was the excellent communications over the year we had the hotel booked. The bar manager was very helpful, remembered our names etc and all requests were met with a cheery 'no problem'. All the hotel required was a list of names matched to rooms prior to the event.
I would recommend the berkeley arms to anyone needing to stay in the area

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjwpara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley
3.2 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
4.2 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
42 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
696 reviews
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
444 reviews
6.2 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Arms Hotel

Address: Canonbury Street, Berkeley GL13 9BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Berkeley
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome is assured at this historic coaching inn dating back to the 16th century situated in the heart of the town of Berkeley. With a restaurant, 2 bars a function room and a variety of en-suite bedrooms ranging from family rooms at £125, doubles for £85 and singles for £50, The Berkeley Arms will do whatever it takes to make your stay as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing