We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable country-house hotel, very accessible but quiet.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Best Western Compass Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tormarton
Reviewed April 18, 2010

We stayed here in 2005, and decided to stay again for a few days in September 2009. We were not disappointed. The hotel is small, and set away from the road, but is very close to junction 18 of the M4. It is not as easy to find if one travels down the A46 looking for Tormarton - best to travel as far as the motorway roundabout, then head back on the A46 - the turning off to the right is clearly signposted in about 200 yards!
We were fortunate enough to stay again in the Charlotte Suite - a lovely suite with minibar and comfortable seating as well as a queen size bed. Definitely recommended for a romantic weekend! The restaurant in the vine room has a reasonable choice of courses, but not the range you might have in a four-star city hotel; not that you'd really want that here. Access from the hotel is excellent - we were running up to Worcester and down to Chippenham and found it to be a good and comfortable base. Breakfasts were good and set you up for the day. The only criticism would be that the public rooms need a little updating, which I understand is being undertaken this year (2010). But all in all, a good night's stay - especially in the Charlotte Suite!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tory_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 382 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2009

My wife and I stayed here on the penultimate night of our Cotswolds Way walk. It was lashing it down when we walked in to Tormarton. The hotel proved to be one of the nicest places we stayed at during the walk. The room was nice, we loved the wall heater as it enabled us to dry our clothes out! The bar was good. The guests and locals friendly. The staff were great including a special mention for the owner (see the story later on). We were really impressed with the conservatory restaurant and food (The Orangery). All in all a good stay.

The only recommendation I could make is instructions for walkers on the website. We'd walked 25 miles on the day we arrived here. Our spirits were down as it has rained heavily for a few hours. We trudged round Tormarton trying to find this place and couldn't. We were heading in the right direction. We had crossed words. My wife rang for directions (much to my annoyance - typical bloke! If I can navigate from Chipping camden to Bath finding a hotel should be easy). The owner, concerned at our predicament, did the gentlemanly thing and came and collected us in his car! It's a good job he had leather seats or we'd have soaked it. Very nice of him and a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuxurySeekerNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Well located if walking the Cotswold Way as we were. Nice restaurant with glass roof and indoor plants.

Unfortunatelly our stay was marred by a noisy wedding party guests returning to their rooms at 3.30am. In fact they were mistakenly trying to get into our room then having a shouting match in the hallway. I think we were just unlucky

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

We stumbled upon this hotel when we needed a place to rest. Great food, fantastic wine, service is great. Rooms very nice - shower is a bit dated, but its such a quaint village feel, it really doesn't matter. Would recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2008

We stayed at the compass overnight, really lovely quiet location not really anything else around so may be a bit remote for some although just off the motorway so very convienient.

There was a Wedding reception on the night we stayed so we didnt know until we checked in the main restaurant was closed but not a problem had a meal in the "Bistro" lovely food couldn't fault it only problem being that I ordered Chicken and Mushroom pie and recieved Beef and Mushroom appartly the specials menu had been printed incorrectly unfortunatly none of the waiting staff seemed aware of this but not a big problem as it was delicious!

No complaints about our overall stay most of the staff were very helpfull and friendly except the restuarant staff who kept disappearing we had to try and find them to get our bill considering only one other table occupied very poor service.

Really nice room very comfortable beds lovely shower and recently been refurbished everything in room you could need only one slight problem with room was only bedside lamps and wall lights so quite dark okay unless you wanted to read.

Would definatly recommend and I would stay again if in the area very convieniant for visiting Bath or Bath Racecourse.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dobbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

such a lovely place, went to my best freinds wedding at the compass inn, it was a excellent experience the staff were superb and coped with the wedding remarkably, our overnight stay was a plearsurable experience in a lovely room overlooking the large expanse of gardens, breakfast again was good and the best sausages i have ever tasted, watch out compass i will be back (maybe for my own weddings if shell marry me).

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jkcl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

I have stayed at the Compass Inn on many occassions over the years. The reason? I always receive a warm welcome and am made to feel quite at home.
I have always found the food to be delicious and have enjoyed many an evening meal in the lovely setting of the Orangery Restaurant with its beautiful grape vines. The annual Wine Weekends are a must in my social calender and I would recommended them to any other wine lover.
Overall I would say this is a lovely hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Spacecable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tormarton
5.2 mi away
Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel
9.6 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
105 reviews
8.9 mi away
Stanton Manor Hotel
Stanton Manor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Chippenham
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,199 reviews
7.9 mi away
Travelodge Chippenham Leigh Delamere Eastbound
9.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Compass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Compass Inn

Address: Tormarton, Tormarton GL9 1JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Tormarton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tormarton
Price Range: $59 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Compass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Compass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Compass Hotel Tormarton
Tormarton Best Western
Best Western Tormarton
Best Western Compass Inn Tormarton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing