We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Compass Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tormarton
Reviewed July 31, 2009

We stumbled upon this hotel when we needed a place to rest. Great food, fantastic wine, service is great. Rooms very nice - shower is a bit dated, but its such a quaint village feel, it really doesn't matter. Would recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 382 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2008

We stayed at the compass overnight, really lovely quiet location not really anything else around so may be a bit remote for some although just off the motorway so very convienient.

There was a Wedding reception on the night we stayed so we didnt know until we checked in the main restaurant was closed but not a problem had a meal in the "Bistro" lovely food couldn't fault it only problem being that I ordered Chicken and Mushroom pie and recieved Beef and Mushroom appartly the specials menu had been printed incorrectly unfortunatly none of the waiting staff seemed aware of this but not a big problem as it was delicious!

No complaints about our overall stay most of the staff were very helpfull and friendly except the restuarant staff who kept disappearing we had to try and find them to get our bill considering only one other table occupied very poor service.

Really nice room very comfortable beds lovely shower and recently been refurbished everything in room you could need only one slight problem with room was only bedside lamps and wall lights so quite dark okay unless you wanted to read.

Would definatly recommend and I would stay again if in the area very convieniant for visiting Bath or Bath Racecourse.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dobbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

such a lovely place, went to my best freinds wedding at the compass inn, it was a excellent experience the staff were superb and coped with the wedding remarkably, our overnight stay was a plearsurable experience in a lovely room overlooking the large expanse of gardens, breakfast again was good and the best sausages i have ever tasted, watch out compass i will be back (maybe for my own weddings if shell marry me).

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jkcl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

I have stayed at the Compass Inn on many occassions over the years. The reason? I always receive a warm welcome and am made to feel quite at home.
I have always found the food to be delicious and have enjoyed many an evening meal in the lovely setting of the Orangery Restaurant with its beautiful grape vines. The annual Wine Weekends are a must in my social calender and I would recommended them to any other wine lover.
Overall I would say this is a lovely hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Spacecable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2007

While walking along the Cotswolds Way we came to the village of Tormarton. Tried to stay at the Port Cullis Inn where we were told they had no rooms available (later to find out that they did but the barman wasn't aware of it).

Ended up at the Compass Inn which is as others described it, a mediocre pub with cheaply built rooms attached. We stayed in a very boring, run of the mill, cookie cutter room that could have been anywhere in the world with a queen bed, single and another pull out bed for 115 pounds. We were under the impression that breakfast was included but found out the next day that it wasn't and was an additional 10 pounds each for a full English. We left.

There are, as others have mentioned, several B & B's in the village. Stay at any place but this one!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank BuccaneerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2007

The Compass is basically a very ordinary pub with a load of rooms bolted onto the back as an annexe - its quite clear that the owners added the rooms with the sole intention of bringing in the most possible revenue by expending the least possible cost...it shows!

Rooms were ok in terms of space, but there was no central heating (electric heater on wall). Bathrooms were very, very basic - the type you might find in the most rudimentary of B&B's - all plastic and lino flooring.

Breakfast was at additional cost and could best be described as adequate. No choice of eggs, supermarket "economy" sausages, packets of cereal and made-from-powder orange juice.

The bar isn't even that great. No fire in the pub, and a bar girl that looked like the world was about to end. After a night at The Compass, I think we rather hoped it would.

Its not cheap either at over £80 per night for a double.

If you're in the area...trade up for something really nice (The Manor House in Castle Coombe if budget permits), or look for a local B&B as there were plenty around where you could probably find a much friendlier welcome for half the cost.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2006

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oakie_Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tormarton
5.2 mi away
Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel
9.6 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
105 reviews
8.9 mi away
Stanton Manor Hotel
Stanton Manor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Chippenham
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,199 reviews
7.9 mi away
Travelodge Chippenham Leigh Delamere Eastbound
9.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Compass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Compass Inn

Address: Tormarton, Tormarton GL9 1JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Tormarton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tormarton
Price Range: $59 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Compass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Compass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Compass Hotel Tormarton
Tormarton Best Western
Best Western Tormarton
Best Western Compass Inn Tormarton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing