We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You for making our Anniversary extra special!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Compass Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tormarton
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at the Compass Inn this weekend past and have come away feeling refreshed and elated having spent two nights here, from the moment we stepped into the door, we were made to feel welcome even being able to check in quite a few hours before check in as our room was ready. The wonderful team had upgraded our room to the Bridal Suite without our knowledge which just made our day! We were given plenty of advice of where to go, what to do and the team could not do enough for us. We had a wonderful Anniversary which has been made even more memorable by staying at this perfectly lovely hotel. We cannot thank the staff and management enough and will certainly be returning! Sam and James Norman.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 385 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

Being new to the area we were recommended The Compass Inn at Tormarton.

We were seated in the Orangery, a pleasant conservatory at the rear of the property; we were almost the only diners on a weekday lunchtime.

The table behind me was occupied by two elderly ladies and a gentleman. One lady in a very loud voice then went into overdrive of a conversation about doctors, prescriptions, lost prescriptions, Boots the Chemist, she went on and on barely stopping to draw breath and it was so loud.

When the talker got up I got the distinct impression she was owner or manager of the premises – totally unprofessional conduct to have sat amongst her paying guests and talking so loudly.

Cannot fault the food that was very good and served well.

Whilst still eating a further member of staff came with metal polish to clean the finger panel of the door not 8’ from me, not a smell conducive to eating food.

The final complication came with attempting to settle the bill to find technology had failed them and it took several minutes before another member of staff decided that they could add it up on a manual calculator.

We will not be returning – have no problem with amusing meals but this was just totally unprofessional behaviour orchestrated by the Management.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Clucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at the Compas Inn Hotel for two nights, from start to finish it was a perfect couple of days, The room was very spacious lovely electric shower, food very nice, the staff very helpful, we would defiantly return to this hotel... we would also recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank debster12316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

(I have Disabilities) Couldn't find the Entrance to the Hotel from Car park. Welcome was good. No porter or help, Receptionist carried my bags. Taken to UPSTARES room and to the other end of the Hotel. Asked for a room with a walk in shower (not in bath) Room had bath! Mentioned this to Receptionist when she returned with my bags, and was told as there are no other rooms available until the morning, and its our fault, they would not charge for that room. ( 3 night stay) No shower that night or in the morning. :-( Moved to an appropriate room at 10 in the morning. Not a very good room but at least it had a shower. Meals in my room were great as specific diet. Very accommodating! Sadly décor needs much updating and was very dark in corridor outside my room. (no bulb working) Asked for and received a bulb for that. Can hear everything going on in room above and in corridors. Plastic carrier bag in bin for liner, bin was Very dirty! Shower door almost fell onto me as it had only one clip to keep in on its rollers. Needed to lift and slide it myself. reported this and was fixed but told to be very careful. On checking out, l was given my bill and noticed that they HAD charged me for that first room. Challenged this, and was given correct bill. Paid for by Credit card and left. Two weeks later received Credit card bill,( they had gone back and taken the first nights fee without my knowledge or consent) Contacted owner who flatly denied that I was offered room for no cost. I would NEVER have stayed in that room without a shower on the first floor if l had to pay in full! Would have asked for another (as l did) or an upgrade. This has managed to spoil what was an enjoyable Family Wedding for that weekend. Watch this space .... will not leave this as I will not be called a liar (in so many words!) Would never stay there or advise anyone to stay there again....sadly

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wendy55_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We tried this inn for the first time for a lunchtime meal for four of us on May 14th 2013.

The welcome was friendly and the atmosphere in the conservatory was light, airy and comfortable. Nice place all round.

The service was good and the food plentiful and tasty.

Our friends had pork loin steaks (large) with superb sauce and a large dish of beautifully cooked vegetables, my wife had her favourite lasagne (which she rated very highly) and I had poached salmon. Although the salmon was very tasty and moist It would have been better if the chef had allowed all the water to drain off as there was some floating in the bottom of the dish and the new potatoes were overdone. The asparagus, however, was lovely as was the sauce. All the meals were hot and nicely presented

The pudding for me was superb - small bake well tart that melted in the mouth with ice-cream . Fantastic and beautifully presented.

The local beer (Maiden brewed in Bristol) was good, as was the Merlot enjoyed by the others.

If you cannot handle large portions, go for the starters.

Would I go there again? Yes

Was it expensive? A pound or so more than your standard pub meal, but we thought it was worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

5 days while nipping in and out of Bristol. Staff most helpful in showing us the best way to reach our destination there, interested in us and our activities, ready to offer advice. Some staff apparently under training (but we all have to start somewhere, and they were unfailingly cheerful). Astonishing water heating system for shower - wall-mounted device that sounded like a diesel engine and must have deafened residents in the next room, fan in bathroom likewise; though next door's equipment was unobtrusive, so perhaps soundproofing prevents discomfort.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BPinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This quirky little Best Western was a really good choice if you are moving to and from South West England....just off the motorway, really rooms attached to a pretty decent pub. Room was clean and up to standard and the evening meal was surprisingly good, using local fare where possible. Staff/management really helpful. Will stay again when doing the drive round this area.

Room Tip: Had a room at the back which was a bit of a trek...however pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melmoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tormarton
11 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
461 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel
8.9 mi away
Stanton Manor Hotel
Stanton Manor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Chippenham
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel
7.3 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,217 reviews
9 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Compass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Compass Inn

Address: Tormarton, Tormarton GL9 1JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Tormarton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tormarton
Price Range: $73 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Compass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Compass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Compass Hotel Tormarton
Tormarton Best Western
Best Western Tormarton
Best Western Compass Inn Tormarton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing